Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

A Devil in the Making

Content Warning: This story contains scenes involving child birth and devil worship. Reader discretion is advised. For those of you who have been following Sabrina, this is another of her adventures.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
Created with DALL-E software.

Content Warning: This story contains scenes involving child birth and devil worship. Reader discretion is advised.

This is an excerpt from the life of Sabrina the witch. If you have not read her story yet, this may be confusing. Her previous stories are The Witch of Strasbourg and A Trade.

Enjoy!

_____________________________________________

When I last left you, I was helping Sam with the creation of the Devil’s tango.

In the 13 days that followed I journeyed northbound. Meanwhile, my once taut figure stretched beyond belief, leaving me no choice but to vacate the meat suit.

By some miracle, I was able to keep the girl, whom I named Mara, alive after the swap. The poor thing had no recollection before I possessed her or of how she received her swollen belly. All she knows is what I’ve told her. Which is that the scumbag father ran off with another woman and we are here to start over. She thinks I am her beloved childhood friend, who came along to support her.

But my real purpose is to keep my surrogate and future child alive. It was brought to our attention, what a disgrace Mara’s life choice is to the people of Pine Barrens. A child out of wedlock was simply unthinkable to them. We were shunned by all except a woman named Mrs. Leed. Also known as Mother Leed because she was the best midwife this little town had to offer. Having successfully delivered 12 babies prior, our baby would be the 13th.

How convenient. 

The day of the birth was riveting, I was ever so grateful for the body swap the moment Mara went into labour. She screamed and cried for hours.

Pathetic.

Occasionally I would see imprints of hoove-like appendages that would press against the inside of Mara’s stomach.

As the child was crowning, Mrs. Leed exclaimed, “Lest it be the Devil’s son.”

Ironic.

It was hard not to smile with delight when the infant relinquished itself from Mara’s lifeless body. The creature clawed its way out and fell to the floor with a flop. Revealing its fur-covered body that resembled something horse-like, bearing the horns of a goat it lifted its head to reveal black soul-less eyes. Before stretching its bat-like wings and flying out of the open window. It released a blood-curdling scream as I watched its long pointed tail disappear behind the window sill. Followed by the sound of it galloping into the distant woods, outside the home.

This was the last I saw of Sam’s child, whom the locals have dubbed with the title The Jersey Devil. Also nicknamed Leeds Devil, as she was the one to confirm its existence.

_________________________________________________

A note from the Author:

This story came to me when another author Thavien Yliaster and I were discussing cryptozoology (the study of mythical creatures and legends), we decided to challenge each other to write a flash fiction in 400 words or less about a creature of the others choosing. I was given a few options and chose the Jersey Devil, it just so happened ot go with a story I was forming in my head involving Sabrina. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the story and would appreciate you stopping by to check out Thavien's work, they are a real pro at cryptozoology inspired work!

Thavien Yliaster

His stories for our challenge to each other are the following:

urban legendsupernaturalmonsterfiction

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

I have two novellas available on Amazon if you are interested:

A Tale of Thieves and A Tale of An Enchanted Forest.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    Haha, I KNEW it was the Jersey Devil as soon as you mentioned the Pine Barrens! (Sorry, I’m a little excited because my limited knowledge of cryptozoology rarely comes into use outside of watching some show on Travel Channel/Discovery.) Anyway, great story. I loved it. Great use of Mother Leeds without making her the actual mother of the monster. This definitely makes me want to go back and read the other Sabrina pieces. Well done.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is excellent, a little creepy, and also fascinating. Never heard of the Jersey devil before. Weirdly, I feel like I read this before, but didn't heart of comment. Well done and congrats on the Ts.

  • I missed this one too! Glad I stumbled across these two Sabrina stories. I've read a few of Thavien's stories before. Haven't in a while I'll have to put him on my reading list. Sabrina really is such an awesome character!

  • I kept wondering why you didn't reply to this one so I came back here. Looks like my comment has disappeared. Thank god I copied that comment. Here it is:

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    Wow, Donna, I don't know how I missed this one. I always try to read all your stories. What an ungrateful little devil. He couldn't hang around long enough to say thanks to its protector. Some devils have no class!

  • Manish Uabout a year ago

    Good work https://vocal.media/horror/the-ghosty-car-ghost-story

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    Ooooh, this was so spooky! I love how it told the origins of the Jersey Devil! The description of the hooves pressing out of the belly made me squirm - along with Sabrina's complete lack of empathy for her poor ex-skin-suit! Well Done on this Donna - A very well-deserved Top Story!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Glad you found someone fun to collaborate with Donna. This was unpleasant as horror should be. Happy to see you doing so well my dear. Keep up the great writing.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a fantastic story! I love micro fiction, but easily you left me wanting for more. Reminds of of a series on Apple TV (Evil) Happily subscribed

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Very well done, your descriptions were perfect. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    You had me at devil worship, lol. Well done!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Zoiks! This is super creepy! There are some fab lines in this. Great stuff!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!! Impressive and creative, the ending was amazing!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I'm intrigued and will be reading Sabrina's stories. Well done and congratulations on Top Story! [whispering] Check your spelling on "pervious" in the intro.

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a year ago

    Well. That was unsettling. I loved the description of the monstrous form pushing against the unfortunate mother’s skin! Beastly, might be the best word to describe Sabrina and the ‘child’ here 😂 Very cool that you and Thavien challenged each other and this is certainly a chilling piece. Well done!

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    So Sabrina possessed the body of Mara, but once Mara's pregnancy became too much she was forcibly expunged, yet still held a firm grasp on controlling her as Mara had no memories prior beforehand. Thus disillusioning Mara into believing they were friends, yet killing her in the birth of the beast due to the unnaturalness that occurred with her child labor. Mrs. Leeds reminds me of the Black woman from Salem Witch trials for some unexplainable reason. Maybe it's because the midwife from there too also came from a culture in which witchcraft, or what one would call witchcraft, was a practiced religion. I've always heard of possession stories being done from beings with abstract forms done unto those with concrete forms. This is a first in which one of concrete form possess another being of concrete form. For a moment I thought Mara was impregnated with Sabrina, and that Sabrina was controlling Mara through being a fetus. I can only see her having been expelled as the soul created either during conception/gestation became powerful enough to naturally displace Sabrina as its own body formed. Well done, Donna. Well done.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    — I think this is probably not one for me to read but I just want to say thank you soooo much for the content warning!! ❤️❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    Wow fantastic writing. Bit hard to read as I was concerned for the young girl. Gripping

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Wow. Your voice compelled me to not stop. Is there a spell embedded here? I want more like a newborn addict clamors for a new fix. Help me! 🥰

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.