Horror logo

The Shelling Ceremony

Chosen word hunt words: Mermaid, Scallop, Seashell

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2023
58
Image Created withe DALL-E

As a scallop, there are fewer more deadly creatures in the sea than the merfolk. Should we escape the clutches of our natural predators and live to the ripe old age of 5, we become susceptible to a new kind of predation.

The Shelling Ceremony.

Image created with AI IMage Generator API software.

The Shelling Ceremony is held once a year on the eve of the summer solstice.

This is the night when all the females of the merfolk gather for their first shelling and re-shelling ceremony.

On this night they will welcome young females into their womanhood by allowing them to select their first set of shells, which is an exciting time for a young mermaid. It signifies their coming of age and welcomes the new generation into the new phase of their life. Womanhood.

After the ceremony of the first shells, the teens will take a turn, followed by the elderly and then the middle-aged. Every mermaid will renew her shells until all have gotten the refresher they needed.

During the shelling ceremony is when mermaids are at their most violent, which is odd to see considering they aren’t known to be particularly cruel. At least not to sea life, humans are a whole different story for another day.

Mermaids will select their scallop victims and dismember us by ripping us apart at our ligaments. Then feed our innards to their fish and sea star friends before adhering our still-warm carcasses to their chests as some kind of trophy. Which they wear as badges of honour while they parade around the sea for another year, before trading them in once more.

At the end of the shelling ceremony, the retired carcasses of our friends will lay in a pile alongside what is left of us. Our numbers having been diminished greatly as few and far between are the mermaids who give up choosing a fresh set of shells rather than collecting from the discard pile and saving a life.

As violent and barbaric as this sounds, scallops are the only creatures that oppose The Shelling Ceremony. It is a highly celebrated event for all sea life, as they will join in on the festivities. Once the mermaids begin feeding them our innards it only increases their appetite. That’s when the true massacre begins. The moment the mermaids have finished their tradition

we will then be ravaged by sea stars, lobster, fish, and any other predator you can think of. Until their bellies are full and we are left to repopulate the best we can before next year.

Now, being that I have seen more than 8 Shelling Ceremonies in total, I am a rather sizeable scallop and find it hard to hide from the likes of these predators. Both mer and non-mer in species.

Often, I will hide below the pile of discarded seashells once the ceremony is done, as non-mer predators do not tend to look there. But during the shelling ceremony, it’s a little trickier, as I am now 12 and my shells are rather sizeable. Meaning I have a lower chance of being chosen since a very specific mermaid of a certain maturity and shape would choose me.

Not to mention that I have taken specific action to appear as unattractive to a mermaid as possible. One year, I covered myself in so much clay that mermaids couldn't see my true design and colouring. Another year I used a discarded seashell and adhered it to my underside so that I appeared to have mismatched shells. But this year I feel that I have outdone myself, I found a way to create a chip at the end of my shell so that I now have two ridges instead of a singular one. Meaning my shape is forever changed which will secure my safety from selection in the Shelling Ceremony for-ever-more, as I should be undesirable now.

Image created with AI IMage Generator API software.

Or so I thought.

This year the Shelling Ceremony went as planned until the last round of selection. A young and shapely mermaid in her mid 20’s approached, scooped me up, and held me close for size.

She had no hope of filling my shell as her species had intended, but as she put me back another mermaid approached.

“Is that one heart-shaped?” She inquired with excitement in her voice.

That sent chills throughout my shell and before I knew what was happening, it was over. Everything, all my hard work had come to an end.

In hindsight, I may have made myself unique and more palatable rather than as unattractive as I had hoped.

Image created with DALL-E software.

A note from the Author:

A month or so ago, I saw this comic on social media and it was part of the inspiration behind this piece! I had touble finding it but Andrei Z. happened to find it.

Here is the inspiring comic:

Also, if you haven't checked out Andrei Z.'s work I highly recommend his page! He has a great sense of humour and enjoys weird twists similar to this comic!

urban legendpop cultureinterviewfiction
58

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for your support and feedback! 💚💙💜

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Cute and disturbing at the same time! Good work. Scallops are pretty delicious though.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Mermaids in a whole new light, brilliant. Both fun and horrifying. I'm shakey on how this poor scallop is still narrating though!

  • Adenubi John9 months ago

    Nice and a wonderful story

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Wonderful story. I may choke the next time I am served a scallop. 😂 Love the art imagery. Your voice is mesmerizing. 🥰

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Okay, I am not the biggest fan of this type of story, but I really liked this tail (sorry, tale). It really hooked me in, and brought me out of my shell... Hey...

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This was a very Captivating story , Donna 🧜‍♀️🧜‍♀️🧜‍♀️

  • You know what they say about the best laid plan … this was great Donna! You’re quickly becoming one of my favorite writers on vocal

  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    This was absolutely wonderful!! I loved the twist at the end! And what a great narrator! I loved every line of this story. 💖

  • very good

  • Ahna Lewis10 months ago

    haha, this was a fun one! Loved how it was told from such an unexpected narrator!

  • Heather N King10 months ago

    Wow! This is some awesome mermaid horror! Love it!

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    A shocking new dynamic is shown from the perspective of a humble scallop!! I love it!!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Congrats on TS, Donna! So glad this story made it! 🥳

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was so good. Imaginative and creative and I like the backstory and build up. Nice take on the challenge with the chosen words, Donna! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Stop the slaughter! Free the tatas! LOL Great job, Donna! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Chantae Harding10 months ago

    This was a great look at a different type of mermaid than we see in mainstream. Very well done.

  • Carol Townend10 months ago

    This is amazingly told, and good luck with the challenge!

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Ingenious. Well done and congratulations! ❤

  • Roy Stevens10 months ago

    There it is! Congratulations on this (had to be a) Top Story, Donna. The whole package is just so beautiful, funny and perfect even if it's a scallop horror!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats Donna! 🥂 I really loved this one, and just knew I’d see it in Top Stories.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Well done on your Top Story!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Charming and a good message in this one, Congratulations on Top Story - I enjoyed the art pieces as well!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Great take on the challenge. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Congrats!!! 😁❤️👏 this was a great entry!! And omg that comic at the end 🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.