Horror logo

Being stuck in a nightmare that you can't wake up from

I'm about to tell you a story about a nightmare I had, and now I'm scared that it might come true.

By Alain SaamegoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Being stuck in a nightmare that you can't wake up from
Photo by David Spiers on Unsplash

It's the middle of the night, and you can't sleep. You've been tossing and turning for hours, and you're growing more and more frustrated with each minute that ticks by. Suddenly, you feel a cold sweat on your forehead and a sense of panic start to well up inside of you. You close your eyes and try to take a deep breath, but it feels like someone is sitting on your chest. You can't get the nightmare out of your head, and you can't make it stop. You feel trapped, like you're stuck in a nightmare that you can't wake up from.

For some people, nightmares are a rare occurrence. But for others, they're a regular part of their lives. Nightmares can be caused by a variety of things, such as stress, anxiety, and trauma. They can also be a sign that something is wrong in your life, such as a mental health issue or a problem that you're struggling with.

If you're having nightmares on a regular basis, it's important to talk to someone about them. A therapist can help you figure out why you're having nightmares and what you can do to stop them. There are also some self-help techniques that you can try, such as relaxation exercises and journaling.

If you're stuck in a nightmare that you can't wake up from, there are a few things that you can do to try to get yourself out of it. First, try to focus on your breathing. Take deep breaths and try to relax your body. You also can try to remind yourself that it's just a dream. Repeat to yourself, "It's just a dream. I'm not really stuck here. I can wake up any time I want." If you're feeling really panicked, you can try to imagine yourself waking up from the dream. Picture yourself opening your eyes and seeing your bedroom or living room.

By Tahiro Achoub on Unsplash

If you're still having trouble getting out of the dream, try to take action. If you're in a dangerous situation, try to get yourself out of it. If you're being chased by a monster, for example, try to run away from it. If you can't get yourself out of the dream, try to wake up your partner or a family member. Wake them up by shaking them or calling their name. They may not be able to help you get out of the dream, but they can at least help you calm down.

The most important thing is to stay calm and avoid getting too upset. The more upset you become, the harder it will be to get out of the dream. Try to stay positive and focus on getting yourself out of the nightmare.

I'm about to tell you a story about a nightmare I had, and now I'm scared that it might come true.

I was stuck in a nightmare that I couldn't wake up from. It felt like I was trapped in an endless cycle of darkness and terror.Every time I would think I was about to wake up, the nightmare would start over again. I didn't know what was happening or why it was happening to me.All I could do was scream and cry for help, but nobody ever came.

The darkness was so engulfing, I couldn't see anything. I was terrified of what might be lurking in the shadows, waiting to attack me.Every noise I heard made my heart race and sent shivers down my spine. I was convinced that something was going to kill me, that I was going to die in that nightmare.

I felt so alone and helpless. I wished desperately that somebody would come and rescue me, but nobody ever did. I kept praying for it to end, but it just kept going on and on. I thought I was going crazy and that I would be stuck in that nightmare forever.

By parsa az on Unsplash

But then, finally, I woke up. I was relieved to be out of that nightmare, but I couldn't help but feel a little bit shaken up. I didn't know what had happened or why that nightmare had been so real. I was tempted to go back to sleep in case it happened again, but I was also afraid of what might happen if I did.

I wasn't sure if I wanted to go back to sleep or not, but I eventually did. And I was glad that I was able to overcome that nightmare and wake up. But I know that it's always going to be in the back of my mind, and it's something that I'll never forget.

The nightmare still haunts me to this day, and I'm not sure if I'll ever be able to forget it.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Alain Saamego

Software engineer , Writer and Content Strategist at Selfgrow.co.uk

I'm a technology enthusiast, and I love learning about upcoming technologies. I also enjoy teaching and answering questions about new technologies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.