Horror logo

Before I Wake - A Movie Review

'Before I Wake' explores a story with hidden meaning.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Once you understand them, scary things go away.

Dreaming its way into theaters, Before I Wake was released in 2016. A couple adopts a little boy. Realizing that he has a special power to turn his dreams into reality, Jessie takes full advantage of this. It’s not long until nightmares enter their world.

Before I Wake explores a story with hidden meaning. I never realized how this film was a metaphor that we have no control of our lives, but the outcome depends on you. Before I Wake has a startling atmosphere, except it’s a film that makes you think.

Jacob Trembley has grown to be a fine young actor. He always does a remarkable job illustrating childhood innocence. A child’s perspective is intriguing. Afraid of his dream world, Cody’s underlying fear is addressed extremely well. Tremblay was remarkable in his emotional delivery.

Grief impacts us in various ways. Kate Bosworth did an impactful job with the connection to the emotions of her characters. Taking advantage of Cody’s abilities, audiences relate to her behavior. Jess’s growth is genuine. Now I would like to see Bosworth in more films. She was excellent in her character’s journey.

Expect an appearance by Thomas Jane who played the famous role of Elliot in E.T. Aside from his interactions with each character, Jane is mostly there as the voice of reason. That does not stop him from showcasing how he has grown as an actor.

Before I Wake includes a small ensemble. No part is ever too small. Credits include Oleksandr Reshetilov, Annabeth Gish, Dash Mihok, Jay Karnes, Lance E. Nichols, Antoni Evan Romero, and a frightful appearance by Topher Bousquet as the Canker Man.

Each actor had an inclusive approach to their roles. I liked the method of the actor who played the grief counselor. Although it is tough to embrace tough emotions, we are encouraged to understand them.

One character I wish could have been more involved in the story was Annie (Kyla Deaver). I enjoyed the interactions between Cody and Annie. She just disappears in the story after a pivotal moment. She could have been used in the plot more.

I was so excited when I saw that Mike Flanagan was the director for Before I Wake. He has his own directing style, particularly with the horror genre. Flanagan also has a distinguishable form of expressing deep representation of certain topics. He achieved effective camera angles and music cues.

Flanagan administered the best attention to symbolism. Our minds make strange places during difficult times. He did an incredible job administering a foreboding atmosphere with slow camera movements. I was impressed with the way he divulged into the jump scares.

The design for the house was remarkable. I liked the coloring throughout the film as it represented the meaning behind the story. Flanagan created the best design that represented a nightmare in the climax of the film. Metaphorically, it represented how our minds sink into a dark place during difficult times. Sometimes all we have to do is walk away, and move on.

Grief is a major theme in Before I Wake. Connecting to a child’s perspective, I found Cody’s fear relatable. Sometimes scary things go away when you understand them a little. That line touched me and made me think. We cannot let our fears consume us. Invest in them so you can fully understand emotions.

Before I Wake is scary including frightening jump scares. The design and eerie movements of the Canker Man are offputting. Take caution when watching this film. Otherwise, I recommend that you find it on Netflix.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.