Horror logo

The Conjuring - A Movie Review

On the edge of my seat, I had the best time watching 'The Conjuring.'

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Don’t you see it? Someone is looking at us from the doorway.

Based on true events, The Conjuring was released to theaters in 2013. A family moves into a new house. Only, this is no ordinary house. Terrorized by a dark presence, paranormal investigators are hired to hunt down the demons.

I am so glad that my friend talked me into watching The Conjuring. It’s more than just a horror film. Based on the astute direction, the film is a new kind of horror. On the edge of my seat, I had the best time watching The Conjuring.

The cast of The Conjuring’s remarkable abilities was the highlight. Filming sequences must have been a challenge. Selling their family dynamic, actors did an outstanding job authenticating the horrors. The real Parron family from the investigation actually visited the set. Getting into the mindset of the real figures, you are terrified, too.

I have always been a fan of Joey King. She did a fantastic job. As a young actress, she has had many diverse roles issuing distinct personalities in her time as an actress.

In the last year, I have seen Lili Taylor in multiple different roles. Her transformation throughout this film sent chills up my spine. Acting is not easy, but it challenges you. I feel that Roger (Ron Livingston) needed to be involved more in the story. Of course, he is there to be supportive but I felt like he did not have much to do.

As the highlights of the film, Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson did an excellent job. They felt like a real couple. Having an opportunity to perform like the real paranormal experts when the case happened, they did not miss a beat. Farmiga in particular was a powerhouse.

Before filming began, they met with Ed and Lorraine Warran at their home in Connecticut, studying up on the real horrors. I always love when actors do their homework.

James Wan knows how to do horror. He shot this film in sequence so he could capture the genuineness of this frightening story. I am impressed with his direction to the cast, especially during crucial jump scares. When I watched a behind-the-scenes segment, everyone was having a good time on the set.

The way he shot the film made for an otherwordly impression. My favorite camera angles were the slow close-ups on the house. Each time, it becomes more menacing. Wan did an excellent job slowly panning the camera throughout the house. They are definitely not alone.

The horror is unlike any other horror movie I have seen. Audience members recounted how scared they were in the theater. The reason why this film was given an R rating was due to the dark atmosphere alone. It hardly contains sequences with blood, nudity, or any language which surprised me.

The Conjuring is a riveting and frightful film. Odd spectacles happened on the set similar to the events in the film. It’s all about the unexpected. I will never forget jumping back in my chair during one of the best jumps scares I have seen in a long time. The makeup effects are terrifying, particularly in one scene that I did not see coming.

Because of the frightening atmosphere, I was surprised that the film had more moments of comedy. Filmmakers picked the right times to let audiences have a break from the suspense. That was a great idea.

I would only recommend The Conjuring to fans of horror films. I had the best time watching this film. I am looking forward to viewing the third installment in theaters.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.