Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

THE JINN'S CURSE

A Tale of Shadows and Secrets

By Ibrahim ZainabPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
Like

Chapter 1: The Whisper

It all began with a single whisper, barely audible, yet enough to send a shiver down my spine. As a writer fascinated by folklore, I, had always been intrigued by tales of the supernatural. Little did I know that my curiosity would lead me into the heart of an ancient and terrifying mystery.

I had come across an old manuscript in a dusty, forgotten corner of the library. It spoke of a cursed village in the remote desert, abandoned and swallowed by the sands. The manuscript hinted at a powerful jinn that had once terrorized the villagers, a malevolent spirit bound to a mysterious artifact. Intrigued, I decided to investigate.

Chapter 2: The Village

I arrived at the edge of the desert, where I met an old man named Ameer, the last living descendant of the village. His eyes were hollow, filled with a lifetime of fear and sorrow. He warned me against venturing further, recounting chilling stories of those who had disappeared or gone mad after seeking the jinn. Ignoring his warnings, I pressed on, driven by an insatiable need to uncover the truth.

The village, Al-Ruhayla, was a ghostly sight. Ruined buildings and crumbling walls stood as silent witnesses to a forgotten past. The wind howled through the empty streets, carrying with it faint whispers that seemed to call my name. As I explored, I found the artifact described in the manuscript—a tarnished silver lamp buried beneath the sand in the center of the village. As soon as I touched it, the air grew cold, and an eerie silence fell over the ruins.

Chapter 3: The First Night

That night, I camped in one of the abandoned houses. The first sign of the jinn’s presence was a faint, otherworldly whisper, growing louder and more insistent. Shadows danced on the walls, elongating and twisting into grotesque shapes. An oppressive sense of dread filled the room. Suddenly, the whispers turned into a chilling laugh, and I saw it—a dark, swirling figure with eyes like burning coals.

The jinn spoke, its voice like the rustling of dead leaves. It knew my name, my fears, and my deepest secrets. It taunted me, saying I had unleashed it from its prison and now I must pay the price. Terrified, I ran, but the village seemed to twist and shift, trapping me within its labyrinthine streets. Every turn led me back to the center, where the lamp lay, glowing with a malevolent light.

Chapter 4: The Old Man's Stories

Desperate, I remembered the old man’s stories. Ameer had mentioned a ritual to bind the jinn, but it required great courage and an even greater sacrifice. I needed to confront the jinn and show no fear, a task easier said than done when faced with such malevolence.

I returned to Ameer, who reluctantly agreed to help me. He handed me a small, ancient book, its pages filled with cryptic symbols and spells. "You must confront the jinn in its lair," he whispered, "and you must not waver, no matter what horrors it shows you."

Gathering my resolve, I returned to the center of the village. The jinn appeared, more menacing than ever. It summoned visions of my worst nightmares, twisting reality into a hellish landscape. The ground beneath me seemed to writhe with the souls of the damned, their hands clawing at my feet.

Chapter 5: The Binding Ritual

I held the silver lamp tightly, reciting the ancient words Ameer had taught me. The jinn screamed, a sound that seemed to pierce my very soul. The air grew thick with the stench of sulfur, and the shadows around me coalesced into monstrous forms.

As the final words left my lips, the jinn’s form began to waver and shrink, drawn back into the lamp. Its screams echoed through the night, filled with a promise of vengeance. The ground shook violently, and I feared the village would collapse into the sands. But then, the air grew still, and the oppressive weight lifted from my chest. Exhausted and shaken, I buried the lamp deep in the sands, hoping it would never be found again.

Chapter 6: The Aftermath

I returned to Ameer, who welcomed me with a knowing nod. His eyes held a mixture of relief and sorrow. He explained that the jinn could never be truly destroyed, only contained. It was a guardian of the secrets of Al-Ruhayla, and my encounter with it would become part of the village’s cursed history.

Leaving the desert behind, I carried with me a profound respect for the power of the unknown. The whispers of the jinn still haunted my dreams, a reminder of the thin veil between our world and the realms beyond. My story of the jinn of Al-Ruhayla became my most famous work, but I knew that some mysteries are best left untouched, and some whispers are better left unheard.

travelsupernaturalmonsterfiction
Like

About the Creator

Ibrahim Zainab

I'm a master weaver of chilling tales that crawl under your skin and linger long after the last page is turned.I crafts stories that are both captivating and hauntingly real. Inspired by ancient legends and contemporary nightmares.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.