Horror logo

Why i can see that?

I felt strange with myself, why could I see something like that

By Dela TazkiyaPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Why i can see that?
Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash

Behind the creaking old gate, a long-buried mystery lay hidden. The Victorian mansion had been abandoned for years, shrouded in thick fog and an aura of loneliness. Only the rustle of the wind and the hooting of owls accompanied the silence.

I, a young journalist named Riana, had always been fascinated by mystery stories. When I heard about the old house, my curiosity was immediately piqued. I was determined to uncover the secrets hidden behind its cracked walls.

One night, under the dim moonlight, I stepped into the courtyard of the old house. The air was cold and damp, and I felt a strange shiver down my spine. It was as if unseen eyes were watching me.

I opened the creaking front door, and the smell of dust and decay hit my nostrils. The interior of the house was pitch black, illuminated only by moonlight streaming through the dusty windows. I turned on my flashlight and began exploring room by room.

In the living room, I found an old, torn sofa and a coffee table covered in stains. Above the fireplace mantel hung a portrait of a seemingly happy family. However, there was something strange about their smiles - they seemed cold and empty.

I continued to explore the house, and my curiosity grew. In each room, I found strange and puzzling objects - cracked porcelain dolls, old books filled with mysterious scribbles, and a mirror that reflected a distorted image of myself.

In the master bedroom, I found an old locked box. Carefully, I opened it and discovered a worn diary. I began to read, and the words made my hair stand on end.

The diary belonged to a girl named Elizabeth, who had lived in the house with her family decades ago. Elizabeth recounted the strange occurrences she had experienced in the house - whispering voices, moving shadows, and a constant feeling of being watched.

The more I read, the more convinced I became that Elizabeth had seen what I was seeing - something unnatural and sinister. Fear gnawed at me, but I wanted to know more. I wanted to unravel the secrets of the old house and find the answer to the question that haunted me: "Why I can see that?"

Suddenly, I heard a strange noise behind the wall. It was as if someone was whispering, calling my name. I turned off my flashlight and hid behind the sofa, my heart pounding.

I waited in fear, but the sound did not come again. I gathered my courage and emerged from my hiding place, continuing my exploration.

In the basement, I found a secret room hidden behind a sturdy wooden door. With trembling hands, I opened the door and stepped inside.

The room was pitch black, but I could feel the presence of something evil. I turned on my flashlight and saw an old altar in the center of the room. On top of the altar stood a strange statue made of black stone.

As I looked at the statue, I felt a chill run down my spine. It was as if the statue was staring at me with eyes full of hatred. I wanted to run away, but my legs felt like they were glued to the spot.

Suddenly, the room was filled with bright light and a terrifying sound of laughter. I saw strange shadows swirling around me, and I felt an overwhelming sense of panic.

I ran out of the secret room and up the stairs. I ran as hard as I could, trying to escape the old house. I never wanted to see the strange statue again or feel the evil presence that was there.

When I finally emerged from the old house, I collapsed on the ground, panting and terrified. I didn't know what I had experienced, but I was sure I had seen something horrifying.

Since then, I have never returned to the old house. But the curiosity and fear still haunt my thoughts. I still wonder what I saw and why I could see it. "Why I can see that?" - the question still lingers in my mind, and I'm not sure if I'll ever find the answer.

22/05/2024

halloweenvintagesupernaturalfiction

About the Creator

Dela Tazkiya

Hello I'm Dela, this my first experience in the world of story writing. I hope you like the story I created

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dela TazkiyaWritten by Dela Tazkiya

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.