Horror logo

Abandoned Village

By Emily Gaytan

By Emi’emsPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like
Abandoned Village
Photo by Andrew Brandy on Unsplash

It was a beautiful summer day, I was online searching for a nice place I could travel to and spend a few days in. To my surprise i came across an abandoned village that was automatically recommended to me by best hotels in the area. I was going to ignore it knowing that it was impossible for a place that was abandoned to have a hotel up and running but, curiosity got the best of me.

That same day i booked a flight to that abandoned village and a week at the hotel that was supposedly there. My flight was the next day at nine AM, i went out to buy a few things for my trip, the cashier said “vacation time i see” i smile and say yes i am excited to sleep at a hotel in a abandoned village. The expression on the cashiers face when i told her was scary, she went pale and her eyes widened,she leaned in and said “If you lose your last source of light, follow the stars to the road and run...never look back….never!” i quickly grab my bag and leave the store, i run to my car frightened, the drive home was a bit unpleasant with her words replaying in my head like a broken record.But why is it that her words gave me an uneasy feeling? I know that she said it in a creepy way but it wasn’t that i was getting an uneasy feeling from how seriously she said it. Could it be that it was true? Or was it just another urban legend like all the rest…?

The Arrival

It was nine AM i was on my way to the village. I was so tired i had barely slept just thinking about the possibilities of what she mentioned being a warning to not go there. I know i may sound dumb, but i couldn’t help not going there to investigate further. I arrived around twelve PM exactly,the second i walked on to that dirt trail i knew it was going to be a long week. That uneasy feeling only grew in the pit of my stomach, i just couldn’t shake the feeling that something was watching me but, i was already here there was no going back so i put my sunglasses on and continued up the trail, i walked for what seemed like 3 hours but i see no village. As it starts to get late i start to feel a bit anxious, after all, i was in the middle of nowhere with no service or place to stay the night. As i continue up the trail i see a faint light in the distance,slowly approaching the light i notice a person that is holding a lantern, i quickly run up to them and say “excuse me may you help me find a place to stay for the night..?” The person turned to look at me, i quickly take a step back at the sight of their face..there were scars and dried blood on their arm..the person points at a tall building in the distance, when i turn to thank them they’re gone, all that was left was their lantern which i took to guide my way to the tall building. Soon i was face to face with what may possibly be the hotel i was looking for, but, why was it so hard to find? Why was that person in such bad condition lighting my way here? I take a deep breath and make my way into the building knowing that i may never come out but, it was my only shot at surviving the night, for it seemed that there were no other places for a few more miles. Or at least that’s how they made it seem...the door creaks open, i step inside, the faint smell of mold fills the air. As i take a look around i notice that the building is completely abandoned. Why did that person point me to this location if there wasn’t going to be anyone here. What is this..?

Behind the walls

I slowly make my way up the stairs into a long hallway that was dimly lit,in this hallway there were a total of four rooms. There was a room that automatically caught my attention and that was the very last room. I walked into the fourth room and looked around,found myself surrounded by ancient artifacts, things i only saw in horror or science fiction movies. So many questions were roaming my head but one stood out and that was “What if there are clues to finding out the truth about this mysterious place, in these ancient artifacts?” i took a good look around and noticed a large dusty book on top of a shelf, i dusted it off and opened it, there were a lot of interesting things in the book. One thing that really caught my attention was a story about a man who guarded a village, this village was overcrowded and they started getting rid of people,everyone was treated poorly,this guard stood up to the king of this village and the king disfigured his face with his gold sword. The guard died soon after but with that he ended injustice. The people were now free but what they didn’t know was that the king had cursed their village and sure enough soon after there was a very huge fire, everyone in the village died, the fire caught them all by surprise, no one survived.This village has been abandoned ever since but supposedly whoever comes into this village enters another dimension. I quickly get up and walk out thinking “This can’t be that village from the story right?”

But deep down i had a feeling that the story was in that room with all the other ancient artifacts for a reason, but for now it was late and i needed to rest so i set off to find a comfy room which ended up being room number two. There was a big king sized bed with a beautiful view and a nice fan,cozy blankets, i thought it was where i wanted to live forever it seemed like a dream..wait an illusion..? No this can’t be..Before i can say another word, i fall into a deep sleep.

The awakening

It was around eight AM i had woken up to a delicious smell of tea and freshly made blueberry muffins. I grabbed two muffins and shoved them in my mouth washing them down with a few sips of tea, i was so happy that i completely forgot the mystery behind why these muffins were here and how they got here...Something was off and i was going to find out what it was at all cost,after my delicious breakfast i got up and looked out the window, everything seemed like a normal sunny day, the view of the fountain with the colorful flowers surrounding it was simply beautiful. It was like the awakening of a queen only that everything about this place gave me the creeps, today i had decided to focus on finding a way out or possibly even another village or town, at this point anything. On my way out i grabbed a muffin, filled up a bottle of tea and made my way out onto a long dirt road,i walked for what seemed like thirty minutes and found a jeep, something told me to run and take it so i took a quick look around and jumped into the jeep,as i started up the car i noticed a figure move in the side mirror, that’s when i saw it.

Chased Out

The figure got closer and i stepped on the gas leaving behind a cloud of smoke, in between the dust i could see a four foot five dark figure standing there as if it wanted me to leave and had left that there for me to just get out, at that point i didn’t know but one thing was for certain i had been chased out. On my way out of that village the car mysteriously stopped, it didn’t show signs of it breaking down or anything the car simply stopped. I got out of the car and made my way over to the front and pulled up the hood to check for any possible damage but i found absolutely nothing, suddenly the sounds of footsteps on gravel was heard, i closed the hood and looked around.There it was, the figure looking back at me and in a blink of an eye it was gone,I quickly ran up the dirt road and started yelling for help but no one was there, i remembered what the cashier had told me and i followed the stars, i felt extremely drained and frustrated because i had ran so much yet it felt like i hadn’t gotten very far, the farther i went the more trees i saw which made me feel as if i was going the wrong way but soon i noticed smoke rising up in the distance which was a great sight for sore eyes, it could either mean people camping or a house nearby..i didn’t care i just needed to reach that location before it got darker, i ran towards the smoke and once i got close enough i started asking for help but, then i found myself alone in the middle of the forest with no sign of humanity or smoke, i had been trapped. Quickly running back,looking around hoping to see the dirt road i didn’t notice a broken off branch on the ground and i tripped causing me to end up with my face covered in dirt, as i got up and dusted myself off i noticed a Victorian style house in front of me, which seemed abandoned but the lights on inside gave a bit of hope to someone living there, that could help me get out of here because yes it was my first day here but, i was already being driven crazy by everything going on, it’s true i do love solving mysteries..curiosity is what brought me here, all i want more than anything right now is to get home, for now this house in front of me was my only hope.

Anyone home?

There i stood face to face with the old Victorian house, as i slowly made my way to the door, i couldn’t help the feeling of being watched, i turned around and took a quick look around the trees before i took a step further which ended up in the door mysteriously opening, i quickly stepped back but bumped into an eerie old woman in the process...she looked at me and angrily grumbled at me saying “Who are you and what are you doing on my property?”

I nervously nodded and explained to her best i could that i needed help getting out of this place and that all i needed was a place to stay for the night as well as a map of the forest if possible, so that i could find my way out but she simply laughed and said

“silly child, no one ever leaves this place” i knew she may be telling the truth but i was determined to find my way out. There was no going back now, she was creepy but, she was also the only human i had interacted with in miles, days.

The old woman allowed me to stay for the night,she prepared a delicious meal for us both. We talked about the forest and about the legends told about the place. There was even a legend about her being a witch,that night i tossed and turned trying to assimilate everything that she had told me and hoping that her being a witch wasn’t true. But at this point all that mattered was finding a way out, after putting so much thought into the situation i slowly drifted off into a deep sleep with the thought of being able to escape from this place in the morning. I wish i could’ve been sure that it was going to be possible to escape but all i was left with was a little hope that soon i would be home.

The next morning

I awoke in the snowy atmosphere, half numb, with the sound of footsteps approaching, i looked around and noticed my belongings scattered a few inches away from me, as the sound of footsteps grew nearer i crawled over to my belongings and just as i grabbed my bag, i passed out, after losing track of time for awhile, i slowly opened my eyes and looked around, all seemed blurry for a few seconds but as my vision focused i noticed that i was in a cottage, beside me was a fireplace and on the other side of the room there was a small stove and on a small round table was a basket of freshly baked bread. I got up and slowly made my way to the table, grabbed a piece of bread and helped myself to some tea from a kettle that was left on the stove. After noticing that no one was home i decided to try and find out who brought me here but, nothing in the cottage gave a clue to who it was or how. Suddenly the sound of footsteps were heard, i hid under the table. After a few minutes a person with black snow boots and black pants walked into the kitchen and stopped, turned around and said “ if you think that hiding will keep you from getting hurt, you are wrong and you know it” once the person left i awaited nightfall just to play it safe, quickly but quietly made my way out of the cottage and into the dark cold night, as i continued on the dimly lit path i came across a hospital, with the last bit of strength i had i walked in and sat down on a puffy chair where i must have fallen asleep since i was so drained.I awoke in one of the hospital rooms to a women in like her 20’s yelling at me and shaking me, telling me to save myself before they come back, doctors came running in and pulled her off of me, injecting her with a blue serum. My eyes widened as a doctor walked in pushing a wheel chair. Coming closer to me with an evil look on their face, i quickly got up and jumped out of bed, making a run towards the door, but just as i took a step out, i felt a sharp pain in my back as i fell to the ground and felt my eyes grow heavier by the second, last thing i see is myself getting dragged as my eyes close and everything goes blank.

The Escape

I am awoken by a scream coming from the next room. As i try to get up, noticing straps on my arms and legs, thankfully after a bit of struggling i was able to slip myself out and off the operation table but once i did, i felt something warm sliding down my stomach and leg. As i look down i noticed a few small incisions on the side of my stomach and leg, they were all sewed except the one on the far right which was left half sewed with the piece of thread and the needle attached to it still hanging from the incision, my guess was that this was recent, the person that screamed had attracted their attention. I grabbed a few gauze and disinfectant solution as i quietly limped out of that room as quickly as it was possible. Once i got to the basement of the hospital which i though was safe, i sat down on the cold cement floor as i finished sewing the last bit of the incision. I disinfected it and patched myself up, as i was about to get up, the basement door opens and a doctor comes running down towards me yelling “you will not escape me!”, i quickly get up and run into a dark pathway, their loud footsteps are heard behind me as i feel a sharp pain in my ankle as i fall to the ground in pain, i crawl as fast as i can until i see a dimly lit room and go in, slamming the door behind me, a few seconds later the person who was following me starts banging on the door trying to break in. I look around and in the corner i see boxes stacked up, in the very top there was a little door that i could squeeze through, it was risky, i did not know where it led to but, it was my only way out. I climbed up enough to reach the latch and opened the little door, pushing myself up i poked my head out and pulled myself up, just as i did i felt a sharp pain on my leg but i did not quit i slid my legs up and out of there, closed the little door and crawled away far enough to know i was at a safe distance. I then took the time to look around and noticed that i was not only out of the hospital. I was badly wounded but i was now in what seemed to be a city, i curled up in a corner shivering,losing quiet a bit of blood, hoping that i soon would see a car, waiting and waiting for what seemed like hours. Until finally i see a women park in front of me, she runs over and kneels down beside me, with the little bit of strength i had left i told her all that happened, as she helped me up i noticed a figure moving in the distance, when i turned i saw the doctor, i told her quick! We need to leave now! he is here! She did not respond, he grabbed her as i limped to the car, got in and locked the doors, he gave up trying to get me and walked away dragging her along with him, i quickly drove off to find help, as i looked in the mirror to see if he was actually gone, i noticed a baby in the back seat sleeping, my heart dropped, i promised myself i would protect it, after what seemed like an hour i started recognizing buildings and that is when i knew i was home and this baby’s mother was from here as well, i drove to the police station and reported all that happened, i had my scars to prove it, but what i came across was not close to what i had expected. The officer laughed and said that place did not exist and that it was all a myth, i would have stayed to prove it was but i was not going to get myself locked up, i had to protect that child. So i left, drove to the store to get formula, diapers and got us home, being there was such a relief, i changed the baby’s diaper and held it in my arms as i looked out into the cold starry night. But something seemed a bit off, that is when i noticed, a man standing by the street lamp looking up at me...i quickly ducked and held the baby closer.

Suddenly the sound of loud thumps coming up the stairs are heard as a man says “ Ma’am you forgot to check out”

The door is forced open. My eyes closed, rocking myself with the baby held tightly against my chest as a whisper is suddenly heard saying “ no more waking up ” Suddenly all goes blank.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Emi’ems

Poetry is a way of life for me, a form of expression, i look forward to sharing my poetry with the world. Thank you for your support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.