History logo

The Esteemed Scientist

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 12 days ago 5 min read
Like
The Esteemed Scientist
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

Back in those days, you stood in your place. You did not cause any trouble. You stood in your place. You didn't make no mob angry. You stood in your place. I had troubled with that. I had troubled with society. It was just simply racist. It was just pure racist. To think just because you are Black that you cannot be accomplished. That you cannot be something. That you cannot change people's lives. That you cannot be a great inventor. Working at Time University, first cleaning as a janitor then winning scholarships after scholarships from charities and churches. I worked my way up. I knew everything that was to know. I was directing students to finding their classes. I was listening and listening. There were things I did not know but the students taught me. They would love explaining what they learned. And they would even invite me into their classrooms after class. They would re-act the professor. And they would teach me what they learned. I would just listen and guess. Listen and think and I wanted to graduate. I wanted to go to college. I wanted to achieve educational opportunities and dreams. And it happened that I got my chance being passed middle age and being married for sometime. That I figured out a way to go to Time University, admissions was grueling. I practiced and practiced and practiced. And after thoroughly being examined I was called Mr. Carver you would make an excellent first choice to this university. You have shown hard work and diligence. And I was shocked and I did not say a word except thank you. And when I got home, I celebrated with my wife of many years Belinda. Belinda was a smart and kind woman in fact I believe she was smarter than me and the backbone of the marriage. Her meals were amazing and she heard from her bosses about news and inside stuff that could help me after school. We were good together. We were amazing together. We could not have children yet because we could not afford them. Housekeeping and being a janitor only got us enough money to just pay the bills but I promised my wife Belinda that I would get her pregnant as soon as I come up with a rich idea. Belinda would laugh slightly and say When will that be Carver when I turned 60. And I knew she was just kidding. Just in my first semester, the professor was hard on me being the only Black student in the class. They expect perfection but humility and humbleness and smarts won them over. I would do my homework early and ask thousands of questions. As time went by at Time University, I got my big break. I thought I did something wrong after class because the professor said he would like to see me after class. And he waited till everyone left and pull me into his office. He said Carver your ideas are brilliant. You are smart. Don't compete. Just be yourself. I see greatness in you. And I smiled but I doubted and said But you know you know my color is what keeps me from being like everyone else. I think all the time. I brainstorm all the time. My mind wanders and ideas come but I don't know if I have the brains or prowess to pull it off. The Professor reassured yes you will. Carver I want you to keep a secret. I am a minority too. I am Jewish. If I could do great things then so can you. I see potential in you. Here. And he handed me my paper and said Your assignment is to build this invention. It is an independent project and you will do it before the end of the semester. I want you to succeed. I was shocked and confused. And I hesitatingly agreed and went home to my wife. Belinda looked at me after sometime while I stared at her dinner. She thought I was sick or wanting to die. And I was disturbed. And Belinda got it out of me and then I stared at her. Carver that's wonderful sweetheart that's amazing we can have a child. We have become rich. We can do what we always wanted. I said The thing is I just talk I don't know how to think outside the box. I don't know how to brainstorm. Belinda said Carver you will. That is not the man I married you will so help me. And so I read the ideas from my paper to her, and Belinda smiled and said I did not know you had that much brains. Just do it Carver do it. After some days of thinking about it, I came up with an idea after idea, then weeks begin to sketch designs after designs eventually the semester was coming to end. That morning to present to my professor, I called in my wife. And I tried to explain in detail she just said just say what it is baby. And Belinda told me and gave me advice just say what it is in plain English. So i went to classes and went to the Professor's office after class to present my invention. And the Professor stood up and applauded and pat me on the shoulder after the presentation. My God you did it. You invented something. You achieved greatness. But how are you gonna get the patent said the Professor. Carver i can get the patent done because it is just formalities and writing. The Professor exclaimed used the university's address. Carver said I have to asked you something. Can I used your name for the product? The Professor said why. Carver said Because nobody's gonna believe a Black man invented it without help. The Professor said I will pay for the marketing you build the product. You already meet the standard try just try and send it in. And yes you can use my name. And they shook hands. The following semesters passed without word from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. And then Belinda was up to something, she made my favorite dinner and just before dessert showed me the letter from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. I was so happy i read it and got the patent. I drunk and made love to my wife. I also received a call that morning from the Professor that they loved the design and will market while producing the invention. The Professor arranged for the marketer to meet me and the marketer was racist and a con artist. And he then asked about my life and he promised twenty thousand dollars to used the Professor's name instead of mines. And I agreed even though I felt betrayed. I had two sides afterwards about it. I presented a happy face with my wife Belinda because she was pregnant with our first child but I started going down into darkness into depression. The Professor caught me drinking and he paid for my cab. And he said that damn marketer cheated us. I will pay for your schooling Carver and we will tell the truth at once. And the marketer was sued by us and the Court decided in our favor plus they granted me royalty on the invention to pay for damages. And the Professor congratulated me on the win and gifted me with a recommendation that I worked for Time University.

Discoveries
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.