History logo

Remember Them All

A personal perspective in memory of all who gave their lives for their countries

By Suzy Jacobson CherryPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
(c) Suzy Jacobson Cherry, 27 May 2024. Photo by visualsumo on Pixabay

Last Memorial Day, I posted a story called Don’t Thank a Veteran on Memorial Day. I originally posted it to Medium, then cross-posted here, because I wanted my non-Medium member readers to have a chance to check it out. On both Medium and Vocal, Don't Thank a Veteran enjoyed a modest readership. However, I also posted the story to Newsbreak, where it became my most-read story so far. In fact, it became rather controversial. I didn’t mean for it to become contentious. Maybe it was the title.

I wrapped it up with what I thought would pull it all together:

…go on with your fun. Just don’t thank a veteran.

At least, not because it’s Memorial Day.

I recall that as I read the comments I wondered how many people were responding to the title rather than the actual story. Some of those responses were so visceral.

Those comments from “haters” taught me to remove my emotions from my observation. I was forced to think about how to respond to the few I replied to. Mostly, I just read them and took heart in the many who understood; veterans, mostly.

Strangely enough, it seemed to be mostly folks who had never served in the military who called me names.

Even for our enemies in misery, there should be tears in our eyes. — Charan Singh, 5th Prime Minister of India

Today, I just wanted to take a moment to revisit what I thought was one of the best things I learned as I did my research last year. Following is an excerpt from my story:

Another early commemoration occurred in Columbus, Mississippi on April 25, 1866. A group of women were decorating the graves of Confederate soldiers who had died at the battle at Shiloh. There were graves of Union soldiers nearby, which had been neglected since they were the enemy. The women were saddened by the sight, and put flowers on those graves as well.

Like the women of Columbus, Mississippi in 1865, I look around the world and think of the dead soldiers of all the wars that have ever happened. I think of those who were “enemies,” dead and buried either at home or abroad, and I think they all need to be remembered. What better day to remember the sacrifices of all those who fought and died for what they believed to be right, or at the command of their leaders right or wrong than the day we honor our own?

On this Memorial Day, let us remember not only our own fallen heroes, but those around the world who gave everything for their country. Remember not only the men, but also the women, who have given so much.

Seldom they enter into song or story; Poets praise the soldier’s might and deeds of War, but few exalt the Sisters and the glory of women dead beneath a distant star. — Vera Brittain, British World War I Nurse

Thank a veteran any time you wish, but as a veteran I remind you that today is for those who died while fighting our wars and those who lived with the memories until they took them along when they crossed through the veil, one way or another.

"Buddy Poppy Tucked Into Books" Photo by the author, edited using MS Photo

A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself. — Joseph Campbell

You can read the original story here:

If you are curious about the comments on the Newsbreak article, you can check it out here:

EventsPerspectivesGeneral

About the Creator

Suzy Jacobson Cherry

Writer. Artist. Educator. Interspiritual Priestess. I write poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and thoughts on stuff I love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Suzy Jacobson CherryWritten by Suzy Jacobson Cherry

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.