History logo

From torment to light

Mental health is often overlooked or considered an embarrassing topic that shouldn't be talked about. However, recognizing psychological problems and seeking to address them is an essential step towards recovery. Here, I share my personal experience with mental illness, hoping my story will inspire others who suffer silently.

By tgv devPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
How did the problem start?

My psychological problems gradually began to appear. I used to think that what I was going through was just passing life stress. I felt a loss of passion for the activities I used to love, and my days became filled with anxiety and depression. I woke up every morning feeling like I was carrying a heavy burden on my shoulders, as if the world was pressing on me from every side.

Symptoms and suffering

My suffering was not only psychological, but also physical. I felt pain in my chest and difficulty breathing, and I was sapping my energy in desperate attempts to ignore my negative thoughts. Dark thoughts were controlling my mind, sending it into an endless spiral of despair and frustration.

Symptoms of mental illness

Constant anxiety: a constant feeling of tension and anxiety for no apparent reason.

Depression: A feeling of deep sadness and despair that lasts for long periods.

Insomnia: Difficulty falling asleep or staying asleep.

Physical symptoms: such as headache, muscle pain, and digestive disorders.

Social isolation: withdrawing from social activities and avoiding contact with others.

Find help

It wasn't easy to admit I needed help. I was afraid of judgment and negative looks from others. But after a long period of suffering, I realized that I could not continue on this path. I decided to look for a therapist and talk to him openly about my problems.

Steps to find help

Acknowledging the problem: The first step is to admit that you need help.

Find a therapist: Find a licensed and qualified psychotherapist.

Participation in therapeutic sessions: Commitment to attending therapy sessions and sharing your feelings and thoughts honestly.

Join support groups: Support groups can be helpful in sharing experiences and learning from others who are going through similar problems.

Treatment and support

I started my therapeutic journey by speaking with a specialized psychotherapist. Through the sessions, I learned how to manage anxiety and depression in more effective ways. I discovered new techniques like meditation and deep breathing, which helped me relax and clear my mind. I also found the support of family and friends incredibly powerful, as they provided me with the love and understanding I needed.

Treatment methods

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT): Helps change negative patterns of thinking and behavior.

Talk therapy: helps in understanding feelings and experiences and providing psychological support.

Pharmacological treatment: In some cases, the doctor may recommend the use of medications to relieve psychological symptoms.

Self-techniques: such as meditation, breathing exercises, and yoga.

Progress and healing

Over time, I gradually started to feel better. I can now face my psychological challenges with greater confidence and positivity. I began to regain my passion for life and interest in the activities I used to enjoy. I learned that healing is not a linear process but rather an ongoing journey that requires patience and determination.

Signs of progress

Improved mood: feeling happier and more psychologically comfortable.

Increase energy: restore activity and vitality.

Improved sleep: Get good, restful sleep.

Social interaction: Return to participating in social activities and communicating with others.

Conclusion

Mental illness is not a defect, but rather a part of the human experience. If you suffer from psychological problems, you are not alone. Seeking help and support is the first step towards recovery. Always remember that mental health is no less important than physical health, and that you deserve the care and love you need to be the best version of yourself.

Let my story be your motivation to start your own healing journey, and speak courageously about what you are going through. Because the light is there at the end of the tunnel, and all you need is the courage to take the first step towards it.

LessonsGeneral

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TDWritten by tgv dev

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.