Geeks logo

Why I Adore: Marion Cotillard

A Filmmaker's Guide to Appreciation (Pt. 6)

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In this chapter of ‘the filmmaker’s guide’ we’re going to look at people that I absolutely adore and why I adore them. They can be anyone who is famous for being in film such as: actors and actresses, directors and producers, composers etc. We’re going to be looking at my childhood heroes, people I have discovered recently and people that I have yet to look entirely into. We’ll take a bit of a look at how I discovered them, what I think of them and why I think this way about them. Hopefully, we can gain a common ground, you can discover some new people or, via the email address in my bio, you can email me with any new people I don’t know about that you think I would like based on what you’ve seen. These are supposed to be positive articles and made to brighten your day and mine. So, let’s take a wild ride into my childhood, my teen years and what I absolutely adore about the film industry because it is alive and kicking (and if it isn’t, hell I might be out of a job…). Let’s go!

Marion Cotillard

I first saw Marion Cotillard in the french biopic of Edith Piaf, "La Vie en Rose" and I can say I was absolutely awestruck at her talent and beauty, her class and style and most importantly, her skill to create a character that was so like the real thing that for a few seconds you could actually forget that she wasn't actually really Edith Piaf. After this, I saw her in regular films of Hollywood such as: "Inception", "The Dark Knight Rises", "Public Enemies", "Allied" and many more. She is a superpower and has such incredible amounts of talent for such a wide range of roles that she can practically just carry the movie on her own. Her talent is more than enough to supply the film with great viewing value.

Little do people know that Marion Cotillard is actually one of my all-time favourite actresses because she is just amazing in everything I've ever seen her in. She's never been second rate and every piece of work she does, she gives 110% to because she knows that she is the one really holding the movie together at the seams. From thrillers to romances, biopics to war drama, Marion Cotillard has done it all and yet, still has so much to explore in her career. She is an incredible human being, a businesswoman, a smart and lovely personality and so much more. We have truly been blessed with her talents and I am glad that I live in the same time as such a role model to us all.

Marion Cotillard has always been an inspiration of mine for I too, create art like she does (but mine is nowhere near as good). Whilst I was growing up and doing theatre and other stage ventures such as the junior orchestra, Marion Cotillard would always be a source of self-confidence I would draw from and honestly, it worked for me. As someone who suffered profusely from agoraphobia, anxieties and often severe panic attacks that left me in hospital, Marion Cotillard provided a source of 'you can' for me, she had confidence and style, she had class and beauty in a world that was constantly telling us that it wasn't right to have class and beauty and style and respect. She meant so much more to me than just an actress and she still means that much to me today.

In the future, I hope that Marion Cotillard moves into the realm of directing and producing because I honestly think that she would make for a brilliant director of adaptations of gothic literature (we all know it). I also hope she gets to play characters of gothic literature on screen such as Elizabeth Lavanza, Sybil Vane or Mina Harker. She seems like she would do so well in these classic roles because seriously, have you seen her as Lady Macbeth opposite Michael Fassbender? She stole the entire show.

Yes, I will definitely always adore Marion Cotillard and support her ventures as she continues to give her all to each and every piece of work she does.

Join me next time for "Why I Adore: Cate Blanchett..."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.