Geeks logo

Why Did 'Twilight' Become So Popular?

Seriously, it's a poorly written book and a decent movie at best.

By Nancy DPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

When I was doing the Chapters assessment I asked one of the workers to help me find some of the books in the course. When I brought up Twilight, she seemed very unenthusiastic about it. Twilight has seemed to gain a lot of love and hate towards it. However, the fact that some people strongly believe Twilight is bad book leads me to believe maybe a book doesn’t have to be good to be an extremely popular one.

I believe what makes Twilight so popular is its chosen target audience, teenagers. The book follows Bella who is a student in high school. Most of the main characters are also students in high school. The book also appears to be written at a level meant to target younger audiences. Furthermore, what do young teenage girls love, boys! Two boys to be exact. On top of it all there is a supernatural fantasy cherry on top to make the book the best.

This book has some similarities to Tarzan. Both Tarzan and Twilight have the fantasy and romantic aspect to them. In Tarzan Jane gets saved from her new manly hero several times. These acts of saving include Tarzan swinging on vines like an ape. In Twilight Bella gets saved by Edward several times in a supernatural superhuman strength. One time Edward saves her by standing between her and a moving car. Edward was able to this because of his supernatural speed and strength.

There are some feminism aspects that Twilight follows a female lead. The fantasy of having two guys wanting a girl is also a strong indicator of feminism because it shows female fantasies. Since Bella briefly goes between the two (even if only as a friend to Jacob), it shows that Bella is not strictly tied down to her loyalty to Edward. I personally think this is a good thing because literature has shown needing to be overly loyal to one single person since medieval times.

Hello. Nice to meet you! How are you? Hmm... this feels like a really one-sided conversation... why don't you follow me on social media so I can get to know you too!

About the Author

I started blogging about two years ago and my collection of blogs and articles is getting pretty impressive. I’ve taken online classes for writing and even some classes about the art of blogging itself. It would be really awesome if you join the adventure and maybe even help me think of what to write about next. If you would like to submit some feedback or ideas, you can always tweet me on Twitter.

Like the story? Share it!

Thank you for reading my article. Would it be okay if I ask another favour though? Would it be okay if you share this on your Facebook page or Twitter? If you can't share, there is a tiny little donate box at the bottom too. No pressure though, just thought I would mention it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.