Geeks logo

'Top Ten' Transmigration Webtoons

Part III: Romance Webtoons

By HeetaPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
https://www.rawpixel.com/image/2428426/free-illustration-vector-fruit-grid-seamless

Disclaimer: For me, there is a clear distinction between transmigration and reincarnation. In both themes, the main lead gets a second chance. But in transmigration, the soul takes over someone else's life, while in reincarnation they take over their own old life (going back in time) or get their own new life, no other soul is involved. Images do not belong to me.

  • Part I: Top Ten Reincarnation Romances here
  • Part II: Top Ten Modern Romances here
  • You are on part III ^^

1. My Failing Divorce

Status: 45+ chapters, hiatus

Rate: 9.5/10

The art style did take some getting used to. It's pretty but quite unique from what I am generally used to from a Korean manhwa. The story and the couple are amazing. I just think one big aspect of the story (outside of the romance) that affects the couple just doesn't make sense to. Hence, the rating. Can't wait for it to be back up again.

2. Not-Sew-Wicked-Stepmother

Status: 95+ chapters, ongoing

Rate: 9/10

Initially, when this came out, I wasn't into it because it felt very love-bomb-ish for the FL to treat her step-daughter the way she does after transmigration. But I was in a reading slump, picked up again and devoured it. And I think the large number of chapters kind of helped me understand the FL a bit better and find her more enjoyable as a character.

3. The Villainess Wants A Divorce

Status: 123 chapters, complete

Rate: 10/10

There is enough angst, drama, romance, and political intrigue for me. What's there not to love about the plot? Plus a kick-ass FL with her sense of humour and a strong dependable smitten ML? Sig me up! I also happen to like the name, Cesare, so there may be that too!

4. The First Night With the Duke

Origin of Country: South Korea

Status: 102 chapters, complete

Rate: 10/10

I think this might be a hit or miss for many people because the Fl's personality might not be everyone's cup of tea. Well, she's a stubborn idiotic extrovert whom the ML finds adorable and beautiful. I found her to be hilarious! She made me laugh. Ripley is amazing, Zeronis is hawt and well sly and devoted. I also like how Ripley's parents were such realistic parents. Not obsessively in love or in hate, normal people. And the maid, chef's kiss!

5. Happy Ever Afterwards

Status: 89 chapters, complete

Rate: 8/10

So bear with me as I copy and paste a bit of my review here from the top one! I think this might be a hit or miss for many people because the Fl's personality might not be everyone's cup of tea. Well, she's a stubborn idiotic extrovert whom the ML finds annoying and unbearable. It did not work for me when I first read it. But it did grow on me this time around. The art is simply put adorable. And I loved how despite the trauma the ML was actually not a um you know butthole. He was actually a good man. He's a good egg, and quite capable of handling the FL's well um eccentricities.

5. The Heroine Is A Man

Status: 44 chapters, hiatus

Rate: N/A

Full disclosure, I started reading and hit pause because the waiting was giving me anxiety. I am going to wait until it gets to the endpoint.

6. An Observation Log of My Fiancee Who Calls Herself a Villainess

Status: 6 volumes, complete

Rate: 9/10

This is such a nostalgic one for me and such good shoujo manga. Plus the authors do the Fls silliness so well. As an international reader, I just wish the manga industry would also start coloring their art as a whole. But still, a good story is a good story.

7. For My Derelict Favorite

Status: 61 chapters, ongoing

Rate: 9.5/10

I love this completely. Loved the Fls characters. She's funny to me. I even understand her desire to change aspects of the story to her liking, as I often wish to do for my favorite books. But the characterization of the prince and princess seems a bit forced or wishy-washy or not well thought out. I am not sure how to explain it.

8. How to Win My Husband Over

Status: 91 chapters, ongoing 10/10

Rate: 10/10

I love this story! It just has the right element of all of my favorite genres angst, drama, romance, intrigue, etc. Plus the FL is adorable but sly but a damsel, a combination I don't see often. And the FL is the silent inexperienced in romance type who's trying so hard to be there for his wife. What's there not to love?

9. I Became the Villain's Mother

Status: 93 chapters, hiatus

Rate: 8.5/10

I loved this all the way until the last season if I remember correctly. It just seems that the FL hasn't had any character growth which makes her seem immature, which is not a good look for a FL. Long story short, I am assuming she is close to my age and thus it makes me want to relate to her, and all of a sudden I am finding that I can't when I could before. Hopefully, the new season will pick up again. Still, I did enjoy more than 80% of the story, thus the mention.

10. Villain's Savior

Status: 87, complete

Rate: 9/10

This felt really different in most of the transmigration webtoons, I've read so far. It was angsty, but not enough to make me want to hurl it at the wall. It wasn't light, but not entirely dark either. Perhaps, grey and murky? The art was pretty, but also unique and almost gothic? I don't know, how to explain. But there were so many elements about this that I enjoyed. I do think some areas could've been explored or explained a bit more better. I just like a normally practical FL, so that made this a win for me.

reviewlistcomics
Like

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.