Geeks logo

Thriller & Horror Books by POC

All to get you in the fall and spooky zone

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Thriller & Horror Books by POC
Photo by Kevin Escate on Unsplash

3 horror, 3 thrillers, and I include my thoughts on them too (no spoilers)

Horror Books

1. Nothing But BLackened Teeth-Cassandra Khaw

Friends go to a beautiful haunted house as a wedding present. There's Japanese folklore and so many twists. A night of food, drinks and talking uncovers secrets within the relationships, but their secrets have nothing on the house's. There's a ghost bride with a black smile, who is quite lonely in the dark.

I haven't finished it yet, but it is pretty dessciprtive, so I'm sure the scarier parts will be written with so much detail I'll end up scared for days. YAY.

2. Nana: Brandon Massey

Monica Stephens never met her birth mother, but one day Grace, Monica’s long lost mother, arrives to meet Monica and be apart of her life. She cooks meals, takes care of the kids, and comforts Monica when the family dog is inexplicably killed. Monica falls ill to a mysterious sickness that makes her look& feel older every day. Luckily, her mother is there to take care of her…as she looks better every day. Monica’s husband, Troy, knows something is up, and decides to investigate

“But the truth is beyond their wildest imaginings. It seems Grace has done this before…" (back of the book)

This book was wild. Grace is creepy in more ways than one. She made me so uncomfortable bro. I don't remember much other than the feeling of wanting someone to bodyslam gram gram.

3. The Last Final Girl: Stephen Graham Jones

Teen slasher with satire and a murderer in a Michael Jackson mask.

Lindsey gathers a group of virgins, outcasts, and former final girls to take the place of the old slaughtered members of the homecoming court. But, it becomes more than what the group expected. They must fight to become The Last Final Girl. dun dun duuuun

This one is in my closet, but I've read some. All I can say is so far I've laughed.

Thrillers

1. When No One Is Watching: Alyssa Cole

Sydney Green has made it back to Brooklyn, but the Brooklyn she has always known is changing *cough* whitewashing *cough* Sydeney decides to take her frustration of the changes & her new break up to the streets, by creating an acccurate (unlike the others) walking tour. Her new assistant, Theo, helps her out but they get way over their heads as they uncover more than they thought they would. Their neighborhood is changing, but this could be more deadly than one would already think. Can they trust what they've learned? Can they trust each other? Can they learn and broadcast the information before they...disappear?

I haven't finished this one even though I was so excited to get my hands on it (mainly because the second her ex popped up...I couldn't handle it. Why would she deal with someone wh---). Anyway, I will finish it by the end of November (book buying ban).

2. My Sister, the Serial Killer: Oyinkan Braithwaite

Set in Lagos, Nigeria, this thriller has everything you'd imagine.Drama, love, and a serial killer. Pretty straightforward title I'd say.

Korede, the main character, helps her younger sister Ayoola dispose of a body. Ayoola is loved by every man that sets his eyes on her, and Korede knows that no one would suspect her sister for being a murderer, but Ayoola starts showing little remorse for what happened, causing Korede to believe Ayoola may do it again. Korede confides in a comatose patient, while keeping her eye on both Ayoola and Tade, a doctor she's in love with. When Tade sets eyes on Ayoola, it sounds warning bells through Korede's mind. She doesn't know what to do, what to say and how far her love for her sister goes.

I read this over a year ago, and enjoyed it. Pretty fast paced actually. I was done in no time and not just because I was enjoying the story. I had some notes, but overall...it was...thrilling.

3. Monday's Not Coming: Tiffany D. Jackson

tw: physical abuse, death, homophobia, bulling, kidnapping,

Claudia makes it back to her hometown in Washington D.C. to find her bestfriend, Monday, gone. She disappeared and Claudia wants to find out where she is. She asks everyone she knows, including Monday's family, where she is. But, she's being told different things and everyone is tired of her asking. She knows something is wrong. But what?

I finally finished this a few days ago. It was...a lot. Sad, but it had sweet moments, yet the overall subject made me sick. It's both important, and something to read if you can stomach the real world. I highly recommend it. It does go back and forth to different times in the past to connect everything, and one may get lost. I listened to it on Youtube and thought she read it really well. It wasn't perfect, but I truly appreciated it. I cared for the characters, I wanted to find out what happened, I loved the references to music & culture. So, give it a go if you can.

listliteraturereview
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.