Geeks logo

The Last of Us

Episodes 5&6

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

So we took a longish hiatus from The Last of Us because I really need to be in the mood for this show. That said they’ve chilled out on the gross stuff and really laid into the emotion crap. And as such keeps having episodes that leave me yelling at my tv. This show refuses to stop beating my heart into a sludgy substance. It is so heartbreaking, the Walking Dead could never. I of course got attached to Henry and Sam rather quickly, more than that I got attached to Ellie and Sam. Their friendship was established fast and really it was just nice to see Ellie interact with someone closer to her own age.

Adding in these other characters like Bill and Frank and Henry and Sam that connect to Joel and Ellie but only exist for a single episode is incredible worldbuilding. Like yes your main characters are arguably the most important part of the show but if you isolate them you have no context for their stakes. Specifically with a plotline like this. Ellie is somehow the cure, we get that but unless we as the audience truly understand how the world their in is affected by this disease, why should we care about their journey?

Joel and Ellie both exclaiming that he is not her father is hilarious. Because with the way he protects her from the clicker attack he really acts like her father. He is the daddest dad that has ever dadded.

Henry and Sam’s end was very upsetting but the most upsetting part was Ellie so clearly traumatized. Bella Ramsey was so well cast, she is truly incredible.

Episode 6 opening with the most hilarious couple was a good break from the sadness we just endured last episode.

Okay Tommy abandoning his brother for comfort is super gross. Also being hella judgy on how Joel needed to survive while actively bragging about your reputation of leaving dead bodies in your wake is super weird and hypocritical. That said, I want Joel and Ellie to never leave this commune and we can just end the series here while everyone is safe and happy.

So one of my biggest pet peeves in apocalypse or dystopian stories is having that one character in the middle of the end of the world that acts like they are the only person that has ever experienced loss, or grief, or death. It's super annoying and some selfish ass diva behavior that Joel has a moment with in this episode. And of course he comes to his senses and decides to take Ellie, like he promised to. But still.

I keep telling my husband if he makes me watch Joel die with no warning I am going to flick him and here we are, Joel is bleeding out and I received no warning whatsoever. Where could this series go if Joel dies…I feel like we have too many episodes left for that.

I got far more attached to this show then I thought I was going to, but now I am fully bought in and I need my Ellie and Joel to be okay by the end of this or I am going to lose my mind. I have decided that this show is incredible and truly is peak storytelling. If the game is anything like the show I fully understand how it has gained the following it did and how this show has become so popular. I look forward to seeing how the season ends but I am also highly emotionally cautious because I am so tired of having my heart ripped out by this show.

reviewtvpop cultureentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.