Geeks logo

The House of Night Book One: A Review

0/5 Stars

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
2

*CONTENT WARNING*

If you like the House of Night series, do not read this review. It is going to get a ton of crap from me. I hated this book.

So... be warned.

...

Marked is the worst book I've read so far this summer.

By far.

I mean, I didn't know what I was expecting. It's a Twilight knockoff. Of course, it was going to be terrible.

But I didn't know exactly how bad it would be.

It was annoying, crude, and profane.

It swore a whole ton, and just little "oh my g*d"s and "what the h*ll?"s. There were a few "sh*ts" a few "f*cks," you know. It swore so much it lost all the graveness it could have had.

There's a tip for y'all authors- if your book swears too much, it will make your writing seem immature and annoying.

There was also a lot of talk about "hoes, b*tches, sluts, strippers." It was really crude and obnoxious, and just because someone wears a certain shirt that may be kind of revealing, it doesn't make them a slut or a stripper

And then the protagonist. Oh, don't get me started on her.

I can't even remember her name. She was that annoying.

She was really disrespectful to her parents, bossy to her friends, and other than being a hypocritical snob, she has zero other characteristics.

Like, she goes on and on about how other girls are sluts and hoes. And she doesn't have enough moral high ground to do even that.

She is all "special" and everyone wonders how her crescent moon tattoo is already filled in. Everyone is in total awe of her because she is just that mysterious and just that cool.

Ugh. Give me a break.

She was such a Mary Sue. All "smart, pretty, and oh so wonderfully perfect."

Another tip for authors- when you write a character, make sure to give her flaws.

And then the plot isn't even that great!!

It's so gossipy, like a Twilight knockoff that happens in high school. It's so pointless and dumb.

I understand that Twilight was trending a bit ago, so now there are tons of paranormal romances featuring vampires.

But... why?

On to my next point...

Okay, so if you're touchy on LGBTQ topics, skip the bolded text. If you read it just so you can start a fight, then that's on you. Your comment will be reported.

So, there's a gay character.

Do I care?

No. Couldn't care less.

But I do care about something... about him.

So, this is only mentioned, it happens prebook.

Basically, this kid was rooming with a gay kid, and as soon as he found out he was gay, he went and asked for another room.

And then he got in trouble.

And the protagonist supports this. She says something along the lines of, "Ugh, I can't stand homophobes."

Was it necessarily homophobia?

It could have been. But what I think is more likely is that he was concerned for his safety.

Which I get. If I found out I was boarding with a lesbian, I would probably find someone else to board with. Not to be rude. But to make sure that I feel safe and comfortable.

I mean, I think it would be okay, but then that's where you live. With a homosexual.

My thoughts on this are... it's taboo for a boy to room with a girl, but it isn't for a homosexual person to room with someone of their same sex.

And honestly, your safety and feeling comfortable is more important than making sure their feelings aren't hurt. You don't need to be a people pleaser, and if they aren't creepy, they should be totally okay with it.

So, that was not a bright spot for me. Asking for a different roomie when you end up rooming with a homosexual is not necessarily homophobia. It can be, but it is not always.

And again, it is your fault if you go down in the comments and rage about this. You read it, and I don't want to hear any comments that are hateful.

I have said nothing homophobic, and I will stand by that.

Okay, got that little rant over with.

The love interest- this guy annoys me too.

All his sentences are so cliche and cringy. I can't even speak of it.

And to make it more cliche, he used to date her nemesis. Therefore, her enemy is super mad about it and hates her even more.

...

The first book was so terrible that I cannot force myself to read the next.

So, I am going to give this book 0/5 stars.

If you like Mary Sue characters, a gossipy, obnoxious, pointless plot, cringe-worthy romance, and vampires spelled the wrong way, then this is the book for you!!

Go ahead to Amazon. Go buy it.

Then tell me how bad it was.

If you do want to add to my review, then please read the series and add your reviews and post them in the comments.

BE WARNED: This does not mean I am going to turn my comments section into spam ground.

If you post unsolicited content, then you will be reported for spam.

Thank you!!

...

If you want to find something worthwhile to read, I have already and will be posting book reviews all throughout the summer!! Please subscribe if you want to see more!!

Also, please check out my fiction series down below:

As soon as I finish this series, I will be releasing another series, so stay tuned!!

entertainmentreviewliterature
2

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Youngin ~ So glad you Boinked out the *F word, very Classy of you! Yes, "Annoying" so much blatant use of the word - can't they do better than that? But, I'm old fashioned -   *Cezanne, please take a moment to view Mariann's tribute to our Doc Sherwood, he is so fond of you! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.