Geeks logo

Cursebreakers Saga: A Review

4/5 stars

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

WOW!! This is SUCH a good series!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this captivating spin on Beauty and the Beast.

I loved all the characters. Harper, for being a fighter, Rhen, for being conflicted, Grey, for just being Grey, and Lia Mara for her cleverness.

Then there is the Nocub ship which I love as well. It fits so much better for Noah to be a guy, and Brigid Kemmerer made Jacob gay without making it annoying as PC and Kristen Cast did with their gay character.

Just save yourself a good chunk of time and don't read the House of Night series. I should probably save this for another review, but seriously, it is the most annoying thing I've ever read.

If this is made into a movie adaptation, I probably won't watch it because whatever I watch my siblings watch, and I feel like they don't need to question their sexual orientation this early.

But seriously. I LOVED the Nocub ship, especially since they weren't cringy, like a lot of other gay ships I have read.

Anyway, the series is SO good. Book one is about a prince trapped in a curse, hence the name A Curse so Dark and Lonely.

He is trapped in an eternal autumn while he tries to get the women his personal guard Grey brings him to fall in love with him. At the end of each autumn, he turns into a beast that ravages all in its path.

Grey brings a young woman named Harper bold enough to attack him when she saw him abducting a woman (to take to Rhen, of course). Prince Rhen is instantly intrigued by her fighting nature.

He quickly falls for her, but she is impervious to his attempts to woo her.

The question is, will he succeed in time to break the curse?

And, ugh, I can't continue delineating each novel because that would SPOIL IT.

Trust me you guys, this is an excellent series.

So, I'm going to warn you- things get a little steamy in the third book. Most things happen offscreen, implied, you know what I mean, but they get to touching each other in places they shouldn't.

Yeah... don't let your kids read this.

But I know, I've said this like four hundred times already in only 396 words, but THIS IS SUCH A GOOD SERIES!!

Now, if you are looking for a chill classic, then this is not the book to read. There is a lot of fighting, and it is kind of skimpy in detail, but I could probably read this several times over.

There's a big twist. That's all I'm saying about the twist. It exists. That is all you will hear about it.

But I know you all want to hear about the ships... here they are.

Rharper. This is the best name I could come up with for the Rhen and Harper ship. They masquerade being in a courtship, but does it actually come true?

Have to see...

Greya Mara- Lia Mara and Grey. Ummm, love the characters, hate the fact that they do naughty stuff every night.

But at least they have a romantic commitment to each other. Better than just a one-night stand, in my opinion.

So, I honestly have to say I hate the Greya Mara ship.

The Nocub ship is awesome- 10/10. They don't talk about their relationship a lot and aren't annoying about the fact that they are gay, AHHHH I love Jacob and Noah!!

If you are going to include gay/bi characters in your novel, please don't make them annoying or I will not read it.

And again, I have to say that Kemmerer did this masterfully. She included gay side characters without making them obnoxious.

So, overall, I am going to give this 4/5 stars, minus a star because of the naughty scenes and the skimpy details. This made it kind of hard to see the characters, but still loved the novel!!

...

Thank you for taking the time to read this review. Let me know if you want to read it, and if you have already, what was your opinion of the novel?

reviewliteratureentertainment
1

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Have you read her Defy the Night series? I really enjoyed it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.