Geeks logo

The Fall Guy

I've watched this absolutely ridiculous film three times. It's a riot. Go see it! (No spoilers.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 days ago Updated 6 days ago 4 min read

Swimming costumes, spicy margaritas, and bad decisions.

If you know me, you know I don't like romcoms. I'm not a very big fan of romance at all, really. I'm not a fan of Ryan Gosling, either. (Or at least, I wasn't... that has now changed.) No offence to the guy, I'm sure he's smashing. I just thought (probably unfairly, to be honest) "he's that guy who does romcoms". (He stole the show in Barbie, though.)

So why, exactly, do I keep sloping back to the cinema to watch this one again? And again? Why do I go home with my face splitting in two every time?

The premise

The film is is an action comedy about a stunt man, Colt Seavers (Gosling). Doing stunts. And also solving a mystery, and trying to win back the woman he loves, Jody Moreno (Emily Blunt) in the process. As you can imagine, there's a hefty dollop of romance in there, which I wouldn't normally go for. I think it works for this film, though.

The Unknown Stuntman

How many of you are gonna show your age now? This was a series back in the 80's, and the film is based on it. It uses the same character (Colt Seavers).

The stunt man does all the hard stuff... gets beat up, set on fire, thrown out of windows, thrown around, dropped, etc. etc. etc... and in the end, some other guy kisses the girl and gets all the credit.

Who's in it?

You may remember Gosling from such films as "Barbie" (he played Ken; SUBLIME), and La La Land (no idea who his character was in that one, I didn't see it.)

Emily Blunt was in Edge of Tomorrow with Tom Cruise, and she was also in A Quiet Place. I'll cheerfully watch anything she's in, because she's ace.

What to expect

Go into it knowing this: the film is completely ridiculous. It's over the top, silly, far-fetched, wildly corny and unrealistic.

But it knows it. And it doesn't care. It leans right into that skid and it works.

It's slick.

It takes all these tropes, (the car chases, the ridiculous fights that should end with broken bones rather than more running about, the big obligatory Hollywood kiss...) Stuff that should be tired and unworkable, but this film makes them work. It does them well, with tongue firmly in cheek.

The balance between action, comedy, and romance is... chef's kiss.

It's got a bit of everything. It's a whodunit. It's got romance. Twists. Action. References to other big movies. It's got Emily Blunt (she's a national treasure and an absolute delight). Car chases. Stunts, obviously. A cool dog. It's funny. It's a scrappy underdog taking on the big obnoxious names in Hollywood. It highlights the mostly unsung work put in by stunt men and women. It's a parody of itself. It's unapologetic, Mostly... it's just fun. Lots and lots of fun.

This film reminds me of The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent. (If you haven't seen that already, please rectify at the earliest opportunity. It's really, really good.)

This one reminds me of Unbearable Weight because it's a movie about itself. It pokes fun at itself. If you've seen TUWOMT, you'll know exactly what I mean. If you haven't, stop what you are doing, and go and watch it. It is, IMO, Nic Cage's masterpiece.

The Music

Whether the songs are your cup of tea or not, you have to admit they were well-chosen. I love that the really crap, obnoxious music is what "Tom Ryder" (super action movie star) listens to.

The Highlights

I don't want to tell you too much about what happens. I am positive you can predict some of it, but other bits might take you by surprise, and I don't want to ruin that.

I do love the bit where Seavers and Jean-Claude are fighting bad guys in the skip, and Jody is down the street at a bar, belting out a cheesy karaoke tune. I love it when he steers a boat with his bottom. It should have been a "oh come on!" moment, but I couldn't stop chuckling. When she makes him redo a stunt because she's mad at him, that is great too. Very relatable.

You can probably spot lots of nods and winks to other famous movies. I love that sort of thing.

Stay for the credits to see some behind the scenes bits and bobs, and hear the theme tune from the 80's series (core memory unlocked!)

Go see it if:

  • you love action movies, with fights, car chases, stunts, etc.
  • you like Gosling and/or Blunt
  • you are a sensible person who enjoyed The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent
  • you just want a fun film that will make you smile
  • you like movies like Deadpool 2 and Bullet Train (same director!)

To sum up

Absolutely great fun, highly recommend. It's been ages since I enjoyed a film this much.

Oh, and...

I will now watch anything Gosling does. He could shit in a policeman's hat and give it to his grieving widow, and I would pay good money for the privilege of seeing it.



+

Thank you for reading!

Have you seen it? What did you think? Leave me a comment!

PS. Is it just me or does he kind of look a bit like William Zabka with his hair like that?

+

comedyreviewmovie

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 days ago

    I saw your cover pic and was like "Ugh, Ryan Gosling!" Then I started reading and you said you're not a fan of him either, until this movie. That intrigued me. But I'm not a fan of action movies nor have I watched any movies from the same director. Lol, now I'm so conflicted

  • Caroline Craven5 days ago

    Haha! Totally that old and remember the original series! Was one of my 80s faves! Along with knight rider and the original baywatch! Off to push my zimmer frame into the kitchen. Great review btw. Def want to see it.

  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    Well, I had not planned on watching it, BUT you have now convinced me, L.C.!

  • Yes! I am going to watch it! Thanks so much for this review, I was so much in need of a good movie these days.

  • Lana V Lynx5 days ago

    Omg, LC! I also saw it three times, the last one in a theater with fully reclining seats and a bucket of popcorn. I absolutely loved it for all the reasons you mentioned and also Hannah Waddingham playing the mean producer. Never saw her playing an evil character before and she was great, also over the top in her ridiculousness. Ryan Gosling has serious comedic chops, and him and Mikey Day dressed up as Beavis & Bitthead to promote The Fall Guy was absolute gold. Every time Gosling hosts SNL it’s guaranteed to be a hoot; I love his Close Encounter sketches with Kate McKinnon. Sorry I’m rambling, but my favorite scene in the movie was when Joy was fighting off Colt dressed up as an alien in her trailer. I laughed out loud at that one every time. Great movie!

  • John Cox6 days ago

    I will definitely check this one out, LC. But to be honest I had planned too, anyway. I love both Gosling and Blunt and am tickled pink that they have finally done a film together. If you are interested in more of Ryan’s work I can throw a recommendation or two your way. Start with the Good Guys, based on this review, I think it’s right up your alley.

  • The Dani Writer6 days ago

    Whoa! When you write a recommendation, you write a recommendation! They should pay you. I haven't seen a movie in ages but you've piqued my interest. Great persuasive writing!

  • Iris Harris6 days ago

    I love that film. Had me laughing in my seat. Great review.

  • Carol Townend6 days ago

    I really want to see this! I have seen the older films, but not this one. From your story L.C. it sounds like a smasher, and the clips are brilliant. Thank you for writing this review.

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Have wanted to see this for the longest time. The Unbearable Weight is one of my favourite films starring Nic Cage and I love Nic Cage is awesome IMHO. Good tips for Ryan Gosling non-typical romance films - Drive is fucking awesome - dark, depressing, and got an awesome soundtrack and romance-y but in a horrible broken people way. He's done a few brooding ones like that.But they guy has massive comedy chops tbh, I like it when he's just cutting loose. Like Jake Gylennhall spelling? in Spiderman: Far From Home. Well done on a super review...now know I need to see it and also for shoutouts for one of my favourite nic cage films. Also...detecting a tiny emily blunt crush? Her shoulders and back muscles in EOT were impressive lol. Also, she's adorable...anway...i'll stop now. Also...that Nic Cage film has Pedro Pascal and Nic Cage trying to out-Nic Cage each other...which will never stop being funny and the Paddington 2 bits....and Sharon Horgan being his ex is funny too.

  • Lamar Wiggins6 days ago

    'He could shit in a policeman's hat and give it to his grieving widow, and I would pay good money for the privilege of seeing it.' 😅 I guess you are a fan now...lol. I have not seen this movie, but your review get's me excited to do so. And yes, I do remember the show this was based on. (don't remember any episodes though) It's what I thought about when I first saw this article pop up on the Home Page.

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.