Geeks logo

The End of the Long Dash

The National Research Time Signal Says...Goodbye

By Kendall Defoe Published 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
The End of the Long Dash
Photo by Katie Harp on Unsplash

Now, I am very upset.

From Wikipedia:

The National Research Council Time Signal was Canada's longest running radio program, begun November 5, 1939 until its final broadcast on 9 October, 2023. Broadcast daily shortly before 13:00 Eastern Time across the CBC Radio One network, it lasted between 15 and 60 seconds, ending exactly at 13:00...The segment was discontinued in part due to concerns about accuracy as the CBC's feed is distributed over the internet and satellite as well as conventional radio.

Now, I know that most of you reading this might wonder why I am writing about this, but I became very used to waiting for the broadcast to approach one in the afternoon, hearing those four 'pips' over the air, and having the opportunity to sync up my watches or clocks if the batteries were low or a power surge passed through the home and I had to reset the time.

A reset... That is what it feels like. No one who grew up hearing that sound over many years can truly understand why they might like it. It feels like the relationship one might have with a church bell or the alarm of a local schoolyard. I am living without most of the amenities of our time related to television and film (only a pair of laptops and a turntable to accompany the radio), so I feel particularly annoyed by this. I would come home between classes and have lunch as the noise came in and I felt that I had passed a particular temporal line in the sand.

Am I taking this too personally? Oh, yes, very much so. After more than eighty years of this, I thought that the modern taxpayer-supported broadcaster would get the point and keep certain things that no one had complained about. And I realize now that I am not alone.

As I type this, CBC Radio One is in the middle of their Radio Noon broadcast, asking the public how they feel about this latest loss. And the anger is palpable. One woman complained that she used to play it for her dog and it was a part of her regular routine to get ready for her afternoon. One man who lived overseas said that he would go to bed late in order to hear that signal (he would head off to bed at 1 AM, no matter what he had planned for the next day).

From the Guardian: Like missing the series finale. (A big surprise for me, but I appreciated this one).

Some of these comments make me wonder if our national broadcaster is still listening to the ones paying their salary. We have all heard it. We all know more about its history than we ever did before (apparently Lorne 'Ben Cartwright' Greene was one of the original announcers of the signal; the laboratory in charge of the signal is based in Ottawa; there are two numbers - in French and English - where you can still get accurate information on the time of day, etc.), and there are other things happening on broadcasts that are far more important.

This I know... And I also know that we all like to have the sense that things will continue when we rely on them:

The National Research Council official time signal. The beginning of the long dash indicates exactly one o’clock, Eastern (Standard/Daylight Saving) Time.

Our longest running radio broadcast, folks.

It will be missed...

By Rod Flores on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

quotespop cultureindustryentertainment

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    The church bells next to the nursing home where I worked a couple of summers used to go off right at 4:30 p.m. letting me know it was time to start cleaning up & putting things away. The first church my wife served was right next to the railroad tracks. A train came through every night at 2 a.m. like clockwork. One Saturday night/Sunday morning, the train didn't show. All anyone could talk about at church that morning was how everyone of us woke up to the silence.

  • I'm autistic so things like this would upset me. I don't deal well with changes. It just causes me so much anxiety. Like Mark has mentioned below, routine is my security blanket. So yea, I get why you're upset

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Routines are just that and they can act like a security blanket. Tough to give up.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    It may be of comfort to tune into BBC radio 4, who still employ four pips at the head of the news on the turn of most hours. 90 years and going strong.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I understand because there is certain things I'm used to too, and even if I don't necessarily “enjoy” then, I don't want them to go away. Certain things become a “tradition”, whether you like them or not, and you get used to them and don't want them to go. I'm %100 the same way!

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.