Geeks logo

More Life with Fantasia

My time with the festival - Part II

By Kendall Defoe Published 8 months ago 4 min read
6
It goes on...

Note: a bit of a delay on finishing this one (mea culpa)

Week Two passed at Fantasia, and I feel like I must continue talking about it.

I had been volunteering at the Montréal Fantasia Film Festival for over a week now, and it has been quite revealing. But it seems to be the end for me.

According to the last message I received from the main coordinator, I am no longer required as a helping hand for the rest of the festival.

Should I shed a tear? Should I feel...neglected?

Not at all...

I have plenty to say about the second week in.

*

The last day on the job as a volunteer was one of the more interesting moments at the festival. We had two films to co-ordinate and collect tickets and badge information for: Insomniacs after School and Doomed America: The Films of the Ormond Family.

In all honesty, I regret missing the first film and actually taking the time to watch the second one. The rule was...if the film is sold-out, we will not be able to sit in and enjoy the screening ourselves. We have to make sure that the numbers are correct - I had one moment where I had to count the seating twice with the extra chairs that I helped place in the theatre - and then await the presence of a figure that I have admired for many years: Rick Trembles!

Many of you outside of the very closed world of Montréal comic/film lovers may not have heard of him. I used to love his comic strip that appeared in certain free weeklies where he would break down an entire film with just a few sharply-drawn images. What struck me about his appearance was his appearance: ski goggles, dark jeans and black t-shirt with a company's name on it written in white (name of a publisher for a larger coffee table book he was there to promote). And I did get the autograph.

And then I watched Doomed America.

I will leave it to you: I stayed for the first part of the screening, where the audience broke up laughing at the pitiful film stock, terrible acting, lousy script and the final line, ''Will you come?'' And I had to leave. The family behind these films was very successful in various small communities around the Midwest and southern United States, and I developed a very bad taste in my mouth as I thought about this and heard that laughter echoing in my head.

*

Final notes:

-After Doomed America came Booger. No worries, folks. This is a film about a cat, not a nasal condition. Booger is the last possession of a woman in New York who loses her friend, job, apartment and (almost) her boyfriend in a very short period of time. Met director, lead actress, and retained one of the greatest promotional items I have ever received: a barf bag. An item that officially autographed by the two mentioned and had the words “Official Booger Barf Bag” written in magic marker. I will treasure it forever.

-Following weeks: no job offers. Not much of a problem when you are a volunteer, and have access to free movies following your service to the festival. I was about to see Barbara Crampton and Heather Graham in Suitable Flesh, a film about a therapist falling for a patient who transfer his wicked charm to Ms. Graham and ruins her pastel-coloured life. Not one of the best of the festival, but an interesting experiment. This was followed by Pandemonium, a French film about recently deceased people having to live with the consequences of their terrible lives. Again, not a great film – this one meanders where SF actually overheats itself – but an interesting experiment. The best film turned out to be the last one I saw: Skin Deep. This is a German film about people who want to actually switch their psychological identities and bodies with each other. An interesting science fiction trope that becomes very emotional and strangely believable as the stories of two couples intermingles. Excellent plot and performances all around (can’t wait until Hollywood remakes this as a sequel to Face Off or Freaky Friday for adults).

-The final week: This was a good way to conclude things. I did not have to take part in the breaking down of the displays and sets (again, already covered), but I did join in the final thank you we received from the audience and staff of Fantasia for all our work. It was during a screening of Oldboy and the temptation to stay and finally see that classic was strong. No dice. I had to help out one last time.

Would I do it again? Well, it will depend on how broke or flush I am in the summer of 2024. It looks like I have a few more teaching contracts coming up and work is now steady for the next few months. Does anyone really know what the future will bring? Can we all predict whether or not the festival will even be around next year? I won’t call it.

But I will be available. ;)

Seuss knew!

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

pop culturemovieindustryentertainmentconventionscelebrities
6

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Sounds like a great experience.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great story! Can’t wait for part 3. I blame Canada for everything though! Blame Canada!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    That sounds like quite the experience 🤔. Skin Deep seems like one I would like!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.