Geeks logo

The Book is Better than the Movie 1

All You Need is Kill vs. Edge of Tomorrow

By Katie L. Oswald (BookDragon)Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Ok, so first things first. I am an avid reader and am almost always going to rate the book higher than the movie. That being said, there are exceptions to that rule and there are some movies out there that are just as good as the book. Just to be clear I get that a movie is different than the book and one could see them as separate entities… but in my mind they are linked so, without further ado here is my first- the book is better than the movie rant.

Verdict?

The book is much better than the movie. Don't get me wrong, the movie wasn't the worst movie I have ever seen... but it does not hold a candle to the book. Let me tell you why...

All You Need is Kill is a book by Hiroshi Sakurazaka, you can find it at Barnes and Noble but you should be looking for Edge of Tomorrow because the movie name is the one that is used now for some weird reason. Personally, I think the original title is better and more interesting, but that might just be me. Ok. So, the book is about a Japanese low-level soldier, Keiji, that is part of the army that has been made to fight Mimics. Mimics are these crazy aliens that are stronger than men and more dangerous and are trying to wipe out the human race. This is why these awesome robotic suits were created to help mankind survive. Just put your suit on and suddenly your a super soldier! Tell that to Keiji who dies in his very first disastrous battle... Or does he? He wakes up after the battle, but what's this?- the battle hasn't even happened yet.

With me so far? We've got this soldier and he finds himself sucked into a ground-hog day situation where he is reliving the same two days over and over. With this time loop he manages to become an incredible soldier, he meets Rita who is this awesome American soldier and realizes she is aware of the time loops too. Bottom line, the two of them have to figure out how to save the Human race... there is more to it of course, I'm trying not to spoil too much. Just in case you've only seen the movie (I'm sorry).

The movie, which is called Edge of Tomorrow (instead of All you Need is Kill) is a 2014 film starring Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt. First of all, let's talk about white washing. This is a book written by someone from Japan about events that happened in Japan. Tom Cruise as the main character was the first strike for me. Don't get me wrong I have nothing against Tom Cruise, but the main character is Japanese! Why is the main character white? There are Americans in the story, that should be enough... but nope. Plus, all of his team are American's (or at least not Japanese), there is no authenticity. It bugs me.

Also, the plot of the movie... I mean I am not even sure what to say about it. It made very little sense. It was like they said- ok we will take the time loop and the mimics and then we will just do some cool action shots, throw in Tom Cruise and we are golden! Yea! Everybody fist-bump. So much of what happens makes no sense, and why go so far from the book which was really good? I have no clue. For example, that whole crazy long road trip sequence with Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt is just a giant time suck. The plot got really convoluted and I had to wonder why, the source material was great.

Bottom line, guys if you found that movie even a little intriguing- you should read the book. The book is amazing, and I have heard the manga is really good also. The movie was ok... if I hadn't read the book, I would have given it one of those- eh it was ok. It wasn't the worst movie I have ever seen and the action scenes were decent, but considering the source material that movie is a tragedy.

Hit up my Twitter (KLO_BookDragon) if you have a book/movie that you'd like me talk about. :)

Twitter: KLO_BookDragon

literature
Like

About the Creator

Katie L. Oswald (BookDragon)

I am not a book worm, I am a book dragon. I love comics, books, photography and all things creative. I have always been drawn to the stories of life and have been writing for as long as I can remember. Twitter: @BookDragonklo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.