Geeks logo

So I Have Been Watching One Chicago...

Here are my opinions.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 6 months ago 7 min read
1
One Chicago Fan Favorite Moments

I had seen clips of the shows through endless scrolls on TikTok for months. They often appeared on lists of alternate shows to watch if you were into an action packed fire, med, or pd drama.

So when the majority of video entertainment was put on hold due to the 2023 SAG-AFTRA strike, I figured it was time to take on what I now call the Chicago Binge.

Being the kind of person who prefers to watch things in order, be it in the order released or in timeline (order of events), I scoured the internet to find something that would help me get on the right track. Epic Dope has a great article (one I've linked in a previous article) that I follow to a 'T'. Thanks to some sick spreadsheeting skills, I created a sheet to help me track of the order and when there was a true crossover. (Characters crossover to other shows quite a bit though.)

If anyone else is interested, I can try to figure out a way to link the spreadsheet somewhere in the article.

Here are the shows that are part of the One Chicago Universe.

Chicago Fire - a main show focusing on the fire department

Chicago P.D. - a main show focusing on the police department

Chicago Med - a main show focusing on the medical staff at Gaffney Chicago Medical Center (mostly the E.D staff, but also pulls from other departments)

Chicago Justice - a short lived 13 episode show that focused on the legal department

Law & Order SVU - not a part of the One Chicago Universe, but tends to crossover every so often, especially with Chicago P.D.; warning: this show focus on rape and sexual harassment cases.

FBI - similar to Law & Order SVU in the sense that they cross over every so often also (I have not watched any of this show yet, so I can not go into specifics.)

And now for the opinions. I will note that I have not caught up to the most recent episodes, so my opinions will be based on where I am at.

1. Chicago Justice should have had more than one season. According to NBC Chairman Robert Blatt, Chicago Justice was the hardest show to sustain and was too similar to Law & Order, thus leading to its cancellation. Based on the fact I have only watched Law & Order SVU when it crosses over with other shows, I don't think they are extremely similar. But what do I know? I do feel that despite a similarity Chicago Justice should have at least be given another season, especially since it would be a great show to pair up with Chicago P.D.

After a little research and watching more of Chicago P.D, it should be noted at least three of the main cast members were spared and transferred to other shows. Jon Seda's Antonio Dawson came back to Chicago P.D, while Philip Winchester's Peter Stone joined the Law & Order SVU cast as the ADA of the the sex crimes bureau in New York. Monica Barbaro's Anna Valdez has made a few appearances on Chicago P.D. since Chicago Justice's end.

2. Chicago Med is better than Grey's Anatomy. (Gasp!) I think the main reason for this is because Chicago Med is edgier than Grey's Anatomy. And plus, the focus is mostly on the emergency department, which is one of my favorite things about Grey's Anatomy. Seeing a case come in and watching the doctors from different departments work together to save or help someone is pretty awe-inspiring. Plus, I feel this show does a better job of dealing with the mental health aspect than Grey's Anatomy.

3. Chicago P.D is the best of the three shows. Again, I think a lot of this has to do with my love for edgy, action packed shows. The others are great, but P.D. will definitely be a show I would eagerly watch over and over again. Part of that reason is because...

4. ...Hank Voight is one of my favorite characters. (I have a few.) This applies to all of One Chicago and Chicago P.D. First introduced as an antagonistic Gang Unit officer in Chicago Fire, Hank Voight is now the Sergeant of the Intelligence Section.

His story arc is one of my favorites; a villain to anti-hero (he reminds of a modern-day older Bruce Wayne). But throughout his story, you see that even when he uses very illegal methods of going about things, it comes from someone who cares about his city, family, friends, and unit. Now I don't condone most of those actions (although sometimes when it involves really, really bad people...), it is pretty admirable he's willing to go the extra mile to help everyone.

5. Chicago Fire's punching bag is Kelly Severide.

Quick explanation: When a character is considered a punching bag, this means the character seems to have all the bad and tough things happen to them. For example, Shawn Hunter is usually considered Boy Meets World's punching bag character.

Kelly Severide is another one of my favorite characters, but he can't seem to catch a break. Every time he seems to be doing good, something else has to happen to him. He has lost so many people in during the show, a lot of them on the job, which can not be helping his abandonment issues (we can thank dear old Benny for that one). He has also dealt with drug addiction, multiple injuries, and many other heartbreaking moments.

6. Sharon Goodwin & Daniel Charles and Kim Burgess & Kevin Atwater are friendship goals.

Both of these pairs are the ultimate proof that men and women can be platonic friends. For each pair, they have each other backs at work and in their personal lives.

7. If these shows are any indication to the type of life in the city, I don't want to live in Chicago.

Yeah, yeah, I know they are shows, so some of the events are only to keep the shows going. But this small voice in my head says that the shows have to be based on some fact, so I'm good with living right where I am.

Plus, you know, it gets cold there and I do not like the cold.

8. I'm not a big fan of Will Halstead.

I feel he is arrogant and appears wishy-washy when it comes to his stance on a variety of topics. Plus, his relationship with Natalie seemed more toxic than anything, especially their engagement. And what he did to his ex, stringing her along when he clearly still had feeling for Natalie, was unfair and pretty cruel. (That said, other characters have done the same thing, and it makes me like them a bit less until they get their act together. I'm looking at you Ethan Choi.) Then to add the fact he proposed to Natalie when she was clearly upset with him; I am often confused of why Natalie excepted it.

Honestly, I feel he is just a toxic character in general and I won't be upset if he leaves anytime soon.

9. Crossing boundaries seems to be a requirement for many of these characters.

I swear, in every episode these characters cross professional and personal boundaries like they are nothing. I get it, that's part of what makes it a drama, but still. We all know if they did a quarter of what they do on the show in terms of crossing boundaries, they would have gotten in a lot more of trouble than they already do.

10. I love how much of a family One Chicago is.

Not only are the many characters tied together by blood or romance, but by the familial bond that comes with their respective jobs and the trauma they share. Their loyalty to one another knows no bounds; they are willing to risk their careers, freedom, and lives at a moment's notice.

pop culturetvlistentertainmentCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 6 months ago

    I love all the Chicago shows and Law & Order SVU. They are all favorites. Thank you for sharing this. I enjoyed reading it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.