Geeks logo

Shondaland

Choose one, anyone!

By Candace GomezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Shondaland

If you have seen anything Shonda has done, watch another one she has done and then another. I write this in complete confidence that Bridgerton will be amazing. I have not watched this yet but plan to promptly after putting my lap top away for the night, choose my tv eats and hit play!

Greys Anatomy was the beginning of my shondamance. That is a close relationship with all things Shonda.

I binged the first 9 seasons of greys while pregnant with my daughter.

Season 2 Episode 3 Christina suffers a miscarriage. I was not yet 12 weeks, I didn’t feel “safe” yet.

Season 7, Episode 18 . Callie was involved in an automobile accident at 23 weeks pregnant. I was 23 weeks pregnant at the time .

Season 9 Finale Meredith gives birth. After having so much trouble, the hype was parallel to my pregnancy. I would be giving birth shortly after!

For obvious reasons this had a huge impact on me falling in love with the show. I had more than enough ties to certain characters and bonds just due to the mere fact I was experiencing what they were.

I still now, many houses later, a state over and sometimes with a 7 year old cuddling up to me watch my favorite drama series of all time.

Sometime after binging Greys, someone pointed out to me that Private Practice was a spin off from my virginity thief. I didn’t need to be told twice to find time to binge my second Shondaland production.

Private Practice

Another medical drama, but different enough. Laid back in the medical lingo, and patient emergencies. Really well-developed Characters. Cooper being one of my favorites. Addison, though! Yay on Shonda to dedevil a character. You don’t like her on Greys, she Mcdreamys wife! Here comes, flare and personality and great acting to make you really fall in love.

The crossovers in each of these shows was the equivalent to getting to the fruit at the bottom of a yogurt. Huge anticipation, and soooo sweet and fulfilling once you get to it!

Scandal

I’m so glad that I came across these shows in a time where you can binge and watch as long as you want. I couldn’t handle having to wait every week for the next episode to air. Especially now that I knew Shonda was where it was at! After Private Practice and while Greys was being taped (since I was caught up and had to wait) as mentioned I needed to binge more Shonda. I searched out Shonda shows and came across, what? Not a medical drama, a THRILLER, oooooohhhhheee. I was excited, as psychological thriller is my go to when it comes to movies, at the same time not sure about a different genre for Shonda. Eh, it only took a millisecond to decide Shonda wouldn’t disappoint.

Huck, I have a deep love for him. So misunderstood. I wanted the best for him, Id like to say more , just don’t want to ruin it for anyone who might not have seen this series yet.

Quinn is a bad ass.

Here is what I am now discovering as I have had three amazing relationships thus far.

Shonda Rimes develops amazing characters, finds amazing actors to fill their heavy and convoluted roles.

Im sure all of us can find great cliffhangers, the same twists and turns in plotlines and great character development. I just happen to find that Shonda never disappoints. She is consistent and if you are a drama lover and a binger head straight to Shondaland.

HTGAWM

Why was this ever an acronym? Too long. I remember seeing an advertisement for this show before it was even out. At this point in my marriage to Shonda shows I knew right away it was her. I didn’t need to see the blue roller coaster, or the black one or a glow in the dark one. I already knew she was behind this, it looked to be along the same lines of Scandal.

Unfortunately for me I was about to go through my own Scandal which not funny at all ended up in a death, we think maybe murder but that’s not proven or even the point!

Suffice to say I was unable to catch up on How to get away with murder until just recently. I picked up the pieces right where I left off and she was just as good as always. Here comes that fruit again, Olivia helps Analise. Two bad asses on one screen. Surprised my television didn’t explode!

If you have watched any of these shows, then I am certain you’d like anything else that Shonda has produced, or been apart of.

I’m going to get a lot of haters for this, and possibly lose all hope in anyone listening to me, but scared writing don’t make good writing. I’m going to go as far as to say Quentin Tarantino movies, I don’t get, I don’t understand, like or want to watch them. He is consistent and I don’t think he should change. Someone who likes one movie of his I bet likes them all! This is the same concept I’m reaching for here! You like one Shonda you’ll like em’ all!

Time to put the lap top away, Wasabi BBQ Almonds or Oreos and milk for my first episode?

tv
Like

About the Creator

Candace Gomez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.