Geeks logo

Netflix Shows and Movies You Must Watch

And Ones You Shouldn't Waste Your Time On

By Sam BPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

This summer I have had plenty of time to watch a multitude of shows and movies. From lighthearted to serious and everything in between, here's a list of things you should or should not watch on Netflix.

'Room'

This movie that started out as a book is one that I highly recommend if you're looking for a suspense-filled tearjerker. The movie is about a woman who was kidnapped by a man when she was just 17. Her captor then raped her which resulted in her having a son, who she lives with a tiny space they call "room". At first, I didn't know exactly what to expect or prepare myself for, but I didn't go in thinking I would cry. However, I did. The acting is great even from seven-year-old Jacob Tremblay who plays Jack. Brie Larson who plays Jack's mother (Joy) does an amazing job which really absorbs you into the movie and makes you wanna watch until the very end.

'13 Reasons Why'

On a more negative note, I do not recommend watching 13 Reasons Why. At first glance, the first few episodes quickly suck you in, but if you're anything like me, I was not impressed. I find that all the drama is overdone and gets old. I don't find the acting to be all that good and think that the plot is sub-par. I'm all for teen drama shows but this is one I just can't get into. I'm not gonna preach about how it supports violent themes and shows sensitive topics, but everyone should watch at your own risk because it can get pretty horrible and over the top. Now, this is just my opinion, some people may be into to exactly what this show has to offer, but personally, I would not recommend.

'Dexter'

This is a show that I highly recommend, especially if you're into crime and serial killers. Dexter is about a charismatic blood spatter analyst at Miami Metro Homicide who has a secret life. In his spare time, he is a serial killer who only murders other serial killers. Dexter has a set of rules that prevent him from getting caught by his colleagues but results in some near incarcerations. The show has a pretty interesting plot that I haven't seen before, and also offers some comedic relief throughout. It's very fun to see how Dexter and the characters around him develop. At times, the acting can be a bit shaky but overall the acting is good and I'm always so interested while watching.

'American Horror Story'

Another show that I love is American Horror Story. The fun thing about this show is that every season is a different story. At first, I was apprehensive because I had never watched a scary show, but if you're into creepy stuff that still has a good plot, this is the show for you. The acting is great and it's hard to stop watching.

'The Kissing Booth'

This may not be the best movie on Netflix, but it sure did keep me entertained. Usually, I wouldn't be into this kind of movie but if you're in a specific mood this movie is great. There really isn't much to say about this movie other than it's a teen romance movie that does capture your attention. It's not for everyone but if you're looking for a good movie that helps pass time while still having a good plot The Kissing Booth might be the movie for you.

'New in Town'

Sometimes you may be in the mood for a good laugh, but it can be hard to find the right comedian on Netflix, at least for me. So if you're in the laughing mood, I highly recommend this special by John Mulaney. From start to finish, I found his humor to be hilarious and I suggest that everyone give it a shot. He also has another special that's a bit older but still very good, this one is called New in Town and will guarantee a laugh as well.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.