Geeks logo

My Review of "The Marvels"

This movie is a great kids movie. I don't know if adults will get into it as much.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

The Marvels is one of the few MCU movies to come out in 2023. They're coming out very infrequently nowadays. I wonder what the hold up is as I remember the previous years we used to have a ton of these movies in the theatres. Admittedly, I watched this movie quite late in the game. I didn't really have much interest in watching this one. Though I knew I had to watch it to keep up with what's going on.

This movie starts off just at the very end of the Ms. Marvel TV series streaming on Disney Plus. Right away I realized that there's a lot of backstory that viewers will have to understand in order to keep up with the beginning portion of the movie. They do an adequate enough job in quickly summarizing the origin story of the three heroes involved.

Here we have Ms. Marvel who is the youngest and newest edition of the Marvel universe. Then we have Captain Marvel who is the grizzled veteran of the group. Finally we have Monica Rambeau who seems to be there because she's got similar connecting powers to the other two.

Due to some mysterious rift in space and time Monica and Captain Marvel had caused some sort of transference between the three of them. Whenever they simultaneously use their powers they will switch places with one another. It's a fun little concept that helps build their connection with one another.

In this movie the big bad villain is Dar-Benn. She's trying to save her species from extinction by terraforming a planet. Apparently in the past Captain Marvel had killed some all powerful being that was keeping their planet alive. Ever since then they've had to look for a planet to terraform and survive under. The problem with terraforming a planet is that you have to move the existing occupants away so that you can take over the planet. This has caused a big civil war with their species and the Skrulls.

Captain Marvel continues to get in the path of their peace because of some sort of distrust that never really gets explained. As a result the two species continue on with their war and things exacerbate into a potential genocide.

Sounds like a pretty complicated plot and it is. There's a lot to take in and a lot of backstory but they don't really get into all of that. The whole movie focuses on the wily, zany antics of the three superheroes and the beings surrounding them. If you can shut off your brain and think like a kid you can have a good time with this movie.

Most of my fun was spent with Ms. Marvel and her family. I loved the fact that they were fish out of water on the adventure. They're just an ordinary family along this intergalactic space adventure. There's absolutely no reason for them to be there yet they're there fighting off aliens with brooms and bags. It's so ridiculous that I found it quite entertaining.

They added so much to this movie that it loses itself at times. For some odd reason they added scenes where it becomes a musical. The jokes are so outlandishly childish that I couldn't help but laugh at some of them. At times I felt that this was intentionally made like this to poke fun at itself. I would equate this to being a Minions version of the MCU. I know tons of people will not like it but I can see the younger demographic really digging it.

Overall, I was able to watch through it with a few laughs. There were a lot of bumpy scenes where I questioned the judgement of the filmmakers but at least these dumb ideas were consistent. I saw where things were going and just went with it. I wouldn't say it's the worse thing I've ever watched because I was able to sit through the whole thing. I have to give this movie a 5.5 out of 10. Not as terrible as everyone says it is but I would never recommend this to anyone.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.