Geeks logo

My Review of "Solo: A Star Wars Story"

This movie isn't as bad as everyone claims it to be.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Solo: A Star Wars Story came out back in 2018. I was one of the supporters of this movie when it first came out. Then there was a huge backlash from a ton of people concerning this movie. Watching it again I question why people hate this movie so much. This movie didn't deserve the hate and honestly I was hoping to see where it would go.

The movie starts off I guess after the events of episode III of the Skywalker series. We have young Han Solo trying to make ends meet by doing odd jobs. He's a real street urchin trying to get him and his girlfriend out of their impoverished village. Boy is this village bleak too. I can't imagine trying to get out of this type of scenario. I guess that's the way with a lot of the villages and cities in Star Wars in general.

Han finally hatches a plan for the two to escape. He hopes his last ditch plan will get them away from the planet, purchase a space ship and live the rest of their lives as outlaws. Everything seemed to be falling into place too.

That is until the very last parts of his plan. His girlfriend gets captured by the authorities and he's forced to flee for his life. From there he attempts to escape by joining the villainous Empire.

As we know from previous movies, Han Solo doesn't really work well in teams. Well he tries to be a lone wolf whenever he can. Obviously he's going to have a problem with authority. He somehow meets up with a bandit named Beckett and join forces to steal more things.

All the while Han is trying to get back to his home planet so he can reunite with his old girlfriend. You start wondering where this is going but it eventually falls into a story that's mentioned throughout the main Skywalker trilogy. I found it pretty clever how they were able to weave this one off story into a side story that they merely mentioned in the original trilogy.

A lot of the first half goes into the origin of the Han Solo character. I think that there was a lot of expectations for this first half of the movie. Admittedly it is a bit slow in this first half but it really picks up in the second half of the movie.

There's a lot to like about this movie. All of the characters were pretty well done. I can see some people have some issues with the overly woke robot in the middle of the movie. I didn't really have a problem with it though. It added to the story eventually and if the Star Wars robots were self aware I'm sure they would act this way. I'm not sure why she's so obedient though despite being so aware of her situation. Then the whole argument would be why all the robots aren't still in revolt. Okay, okay I get why the haters hate this part of the movie.

Star Wars movies have never been consistent and balanced in the direction they're going. You'll have a lot of goofy situations and then serious situations out of nowhere. This movie is no different. The main crux of the movie is pretty solid though. It's a pretty well made movie and there are scenes that will get you a bit amped up. Sometimes it feels like all Star Wars properties are always going to be polarized because there's so many interpretations of the direction of the franchise.

Overall, what's most important was that it was entertaining. I still had a great time with this movie and I would say I had just as much fun as I did the first time I saw it. That's not to say everyone is going to like this movie. If you're a stickler for all things logical and consistent then I'm not sure why you're watching Star Wars in the first place. I have to give this movie a 7 out of 10. It was great to revisit this one but I'm really disappointed that they aren't doing a follow up for this movie. There are some unanswered questions that I'd really love to see resolved.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.