Geeks logo

My Review of "Hot Fuzz"

You'd never think a comedy about a murder mystery in a quaint town would work so well.

By Brian AnonymousPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Hot fuzz is a movie that came out back in 2007. I was a fan of Shaun of the Dead so I was totally on board when I originally heard of this movie. It had all the same players involved and to be honest it's got the same tone. If you liked Shaun of the Dead you're going to love this one even though they're totally different genres.

The movie starts off with the introduction of the police officer named Nicolas Angel. He's a rough gruff no nonsense police officer. Everything is done by the book with this guy and it's kind of driven everyone nuts in London. That's why they decided to ship him off to a small town called Sandford.

This is a totally different setting for Angel as it hasn't recorded a single murder in 20 years. It's a quaint little town that seems nothing out of the ordinary. The problem with Angel is that he can't switch off his police officer mind.

He immediately sees crime happening all over Sandford the minute he gets into town. He starts cleaning house and realizes they're really lax with their policing in this place.

Soon he gets partnered up with Danny and start to realize there's something going on in this town. Things start getting crazier and crazier as the movie goes on.

If you've seen Shaun of the Dead you'll recognize the style of movie this movie is going to be like. The tone is very similar. There is a ton of misdirection throughout this movie. It laughs with us and at us with all of their twists and turns. I love how they were able to do this consistently throughout the movie.

You can really tell this was a well planned movie. There is proper foreshadowing for things to come. I love how they even tell you what's going to happen and when it happens you're slapping your head saying wow that was well done.

Although it's a bit of a murder mystery movie it is all comedy. The absurdity and chaos that comes out of this little town will have you bursting in laughter. You'll also be amazed at the originality and creativity that went into the planning of this movie. There's even a fight that emulates a giant Kaiju fight later on in the movie. It's utterly absurd and I loved every minute of it.

Each of the actors does a great job in selling us each of their characters. The returning cast are cast in drastically different roles than they were in the previous movie with the exception of Danny. He's similar to his Ed character in the previous movie. Very different variation of Ed but he's not that far off.

Though this movie is 15 years old I have to say that it stands the test of time. It is every bit as funny as I remembered it when it first came out. I knew some of the punchlines that were coming and I was still enamored by everything. You can definitely watch this one over and over again. I wasn't too worried about this one getting outdated because it was a bit progressive back in the day. They were aware of the changes that were coming in for the future and they kind of futureproofed themselves. You'll know when you see it.

Overall, I had a really good time watching this movie again. It had me laughing like crazy yet again. This is a movie that I think all generations can really get into. That's why I think this movie deserves an 8 out of 10. It is definitely a classic for me. After watching it again I think I can safely recommend this to anyone.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.