Geeks logo

My Review of "American Ninja Warrior: Women's Championship 3"

The stakes have gone up for this year's competitors.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

American Ninja Warrior: Women's Championship 3 has recently aired on TV. I've been following this annual event for the past 3 years and it seems as though the competition is getting better and better. There also seems to be a changing of the guard in the women's competition. This makes it pretty exciting to see the regular competition.

If you haven't been following the Women's Championship portion of this show you've been missing out. It started during the pandemic where we had our first winner Megan Martin go head to head with Jesse Labreck. These two have been the top leaders of the sport for women for quite some time. Well I would include Jessie Graff as well.

This season's Women's Championship kind of showed us that these women are actually mortal and there's a new class coming in to replace them. Mind you these women have been ruling the sport for some time and they are in their 30s now. That's usually around the age when elite athletes retire from their profession. American Ninja Warrior is another animal of its own though. There are moments when people just shine out of nowhere or people just have really weird bad days.

In this season we see way more younger women take the stage and conquer. They're all mostly in their teens and early 20s. There's this theory I have with this sport that size doesn't matter and it's all about power to weight ratio. This season was further proof that this was the case.

I wouldn't say out of nowhere because Katie Bone had a really good season on the regular show last year. This season she really showed up. She showed everyone how it's done. Just when you think no one can do it she was able to accomplish it. To me, if Jessie Labreck can't do something then I think it's over for the rest of the women. She's like elite competing with the best of the best.

In this competition Jessie actually had a stumble and looked vulnerable in the second stage whereas Katie dug deep and really pulled it through when no one thought she was able to. You should have saw the expression on her face when she made the last Lachey to make it to the last grab. Prior to that obstacle her facial expression looked like she was done for. The sheer determination that she had to complete the obstacle was amazing.

Even more fantastic was that the crowd and her supporters were there to congratulate her when she eventually accomplished what was thought to be the impossible. It was so real and genuine and you don't often see that on TV. This makes it such a great sport.

When I saw what the last course was I knew Katie was going to win it easily. She's a rock climber for goodness sakes. It was a done deal. To see her just crawl up that obstacle like a monkey was amazing. Again she's one of the smallest competitors there was in the competition. She just proved that this sport isn't about size. You never know what's going to happen in each competition.

I was however very disappointed I wasn't able to see Megan in the competition and I was so sad that Jessie didn't make it that far. She's always someone I want to see closer to the end. Though it's becoming more and more apparent that she doesn't train for the sport as often anymore.

Overall, I had a great time with this one. I thought it was well organized and it shows why the course is getting harder and harder. These women are killing it and I can't wait to see who is going to challenge Katie for the crown next year. I have to give this one a 7.5 out of 10. I also can't wait to see how everyone does in the regular competition!

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    I watch this a lot ❤️😉💯and this is a Great Review❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.