Geeks logo

My Pokémon Confessions

Don’t shoot me with your water gun

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

Weather you’ve played Pokémon since generation one, or you’ve picked it up in later generations, we were all beginners at one point. We’ve all made mistakes and done things that most people in the Pokémon community would think is either weird or not acceptable. I’ve seen lots of confession of posts, and whilst I’m still trying to get my shiny Gossifleur, I thought I could write a another Pokémon article. Sometimes the community forget that Pokémon is a game, not a job or a marriage.

By Green Chameleon on Unsplash

1) I wrote weird and explicit fan fiction!

During my last years of school and my college years, I wrote loads of fanfiction. My most popular fics were the shippy and kinky ones. Plenty of dark stuff, but lots of humour too. I was experimental in my fics and loved crossing thins over. Even though they’re not the best, I don’t feel bad about writing them. I don’t regret them and don’t think they will damage my writing career, because I was fulfulling a lot of requests at the time to help stimulate ideas for my own works.

I’ve had fountains of praise, death threats and advise over my fanfics over the years. I even won some awards from the. If I didn’t write those fics, then I wouldn’t have learned anything. Some of them appreciated my guts, my twists to cliches. Have the girl rescue the boy for once. Showing readers what life is like as a Blissey in a pokémon centre. I’m still surprised how some of my fics can have under a hundred reads whilst some have almost a million. My fan fiction penname is ChloboShoka, and I use that name for a lot of my social media.

2) I never completed the Pokédex until Diamond!

Even then, it was with the help of Action Replay. When I was younger, I had little access to trading. It wasnt until generation 3, I was able to. A lot of the rare Pokémon were only available through glitches or events in stores. Without the internet, it’s hard to know about these things. I only ever attended one of these events, and that was for Shaymin.

Nintendo doesn’t endorse the use of third party devices or genetically modified Pokémon. Pokémon communities like Serebii and Smogon also banned trades and Battles with hacked Pokémon. They had dedicated threads where you could find if your Pokémon was either legal or hacked.

Action replay saved a lot of time for me. I know abusing it runs risk that it can damage the game and the console, but it never did me any harm. With the help of online trades and events, it’s now easier to complete the dex, as long as you have a working and stable WiFi.

It’s now a lot easier to train and obtain desired Pokémon which makes hacking Pokémon games redundant now.

3) Most of my shinies were obtained through GTS and Wondertrade!

Going through about hacked Pokémon in my last confession, I’m convinced most of my shinies are hacked. I own at least 300 shinies across all my games. I’m only convinced that a fraction of them are legit because those are the ones I obtained by myself.

How did I manage to get so many through GTS and Wondertrade? A lot of it came down to luck. Around the time the Unova games came out, there was a fake DNS server where you could upload Pokémon to see if they were legit and would bypass filters. You could also download other pokémon as well. The site is no longer available now. Some of the Pokémon I downloaded from there are trapped in Gen 5 forever, but there were some that managed to make it through because they had legal stats.

This makes me love my legit shinies even more. It’s more special when you obtain them yourself. Surprise shinies are also great. No luck with Gossifleur, but whilst hunting for her, I managed to obtain eight other shinies by surprise.

I don’t want to evolve my shiny wooloo.

4) If I prefer middle-stage pokémon over it’s final form, and it’s on my team, I won’t evolve it.

There are several pokémon I like more than its final form. Middle forms need more love. The combination of toughness and cuteness was cool. Pokémon like Flaaffy, Torracat, Dragonair and Togetic. With evolite, some preforms can be bulkier than their final forms, but it’s a case by case scenario. It works wonders with Porygon2 and Chansey.

I remember being stuck with Haunter in yellow because I couldn’t trade back then, and by the time I was able to trade, I got so used to him I kept him as he was. I eventually got a gen in another game.

I also have some shinies that I have chosen not to evolve.

5) The only time I got into the competitive scene was generation 6.

It just didn’t interest me until the Kalos and Hoenn remakes had mini games that made training easier and fun. I never forget making someone flee the match simply because I had Clefable and Blissey on my team. I didn’t quite understand why either because he had a Metagross on his team. I also had an ace attorney themed team that did so much damage. Since gen 6, my interest in battling competitively died. I still love the games though. I’m more into collecting and being attached to my favourites.

6) I grew out of the anime

I loved the anime as a child, and I still watch some episodes occasionally, but I don’t have the love and enthusiasm for it like I used to. I’m glad it’s on Netflix for nostalgia fixes, but I think there are far better anime out there, but I’m glad this opened the gate to a lot of them for me. The anime is aimed at kids, and they don’t have anything that is targeted towards the grown up fans. I look back at the show with happy memories.

gaming

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.