Geeks logo

My Name is Loh Kiwan Review: No Words to Praise

My Name is Loh Kiwan Review

By Ayush VermaPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
1
My Name is Loh Kiwan Review

After all, I don't know where to start; literally, the picture made me cry. So look, if you don't know, then let me tell you that a new Korean picture of Song Joong-ki has arrived on the Netflix platform, whose name is My Name is Loh Kiwan. I have seen it, and now I will share my experience with you as to how I personally liked this picture and especially which audience it targets.

So, let's begin with the most basic detail. Have you taken a good look at the movie poster? If you have, you might have noticed a line on it. It says, "Do we deserve happiness?" This line is like the backbone of the movie—it's where the story and the whole world of the movie begin and also where it wraps up.

Let me make it easier. First of all, let's talk. You will have to spend two and a half hours watching this picture. It comes with Hindi dubbing, and I found the Hindi dubbing impressive. But be careful not to watch it with your family because, along with adult scenes, you also hear abusive language.

My Name is Loh Kiwan Story

So, before commenting on how this movie is made, let us understand the story. Its story follows the character of North Korean defector Lo Kiwan, whose mother wanted him to go to a place where he could establish his identity. And in between, something happens with his mother, after which Lo Kiwan sets out to Belgium to fulfill his mother's last wish, but nothing happens even one percent as he had imagined.

He wants to get the refugee tag, for which he has to face a lot of struggles. Now I will not comment on all those struggles. When you see this picture, all those things will shake you. In between these, he meets the character of Ma Ri. To know the things that both of them face together in Belgium and what the outcome of the love story that is established between them is, you have to watch this picture.

My Name is Loh Kiwan Review

If I had to simply define the content of this picture for you, I would just say, "This is a very beautiful film." Yes, if you are in the mood for crime, want to watch a heartbreaking love story, or want to watch a picture full of trauma that will make you cry, then guys, you do not need to think too much. Just watch this picture and cry as much as you want because the presentation of the picture is very solid, and it is going to make you cry in every scene.

Song Joong-Ki, as Lo Kiwan, wreaked havoc. The guy has given a tremendous performance in the way he faces the situations in Belgium, meaning that when you experience all this, there will be a direct attack on your heart.

See, this movie is not for everyone, but only those who like watching heartbreaking love stories or melodramas. If you go to watch this picture from the point of view of action, chilli masala, or thriller, then it will disappoint you. This movie is a sad story about everyday life. It goes slowly and might make you feel really emotional. If you like that kind of thing, you'll enjoy it.

So understand your taste, etc.; there is no action, etc. in this.

The rest of the film shows Lo Kiwan's struggle well in the first half, but in the second half, it also explores the point of view of the love story. And you will enjoy seeing the way Ma Ri's situation is shown along with him.

This film offers a bit of suspense, plus some shocking moments too. I personally found the climax or pre-climax of this movie very good.

This picture will not disappoint you in the technical department; whatever production value or BGM you get to hear is quite good.

Disappointments

Where can this picture disappoint you? If I talk about it, then, as I told you in the beginning, this film is not for everyone, especially those who like massy content. You guys should stay away from this picture because it is a slow-burn drama. If you watch it from the point of view of the fast phase or from the point of view of action, etc., then this film will make you sleep comfortably.

The second thing that I noticed was a problem: when the movie was focusing on the struggle of Song Joong-ki, I was able to enjoy it more, but when things were showcased regarding Ma Ri, I personally did not feel it that much. .

And personally, this picture was getting drag for me at times due to its subplots, and yes, one more thing is that its length was felt personally.

But leaving all these things aside, I will only tell you that if you are a die-hard fan of Song Joong-ki, if you are in the mood to cry, or if you want to watch such a heartbreaking storyline where you will see the struggle of the actors, if you get to see trauma-related things, etc., then definitely try this movie.

Conclusion

I have enjoyed this film a lot; if you give time to watch it, it will give you fun. I especially liked the work of Song Joong-ki; the story was interesting, I found it engaging, and I felt connected with it.

It could be more enjoyable if the characters' pasts were explored more, but even with that, I'd still give this movie an 8 out of 10 for all the things I noticed.

So if you have also seen this film, comments are open, and you can keep your views.

Thanks for reading.

pop culturereviewmovie
1

About the Creator

Ayush Verma

Nothing is impossible; the world itself says, "I' am possible!" - Audrey Hepburn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.