Geeks logo

Meat Man

Chapter 1

By Logan SchwankePublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1
Wait... You want me to do what!?!

"The sun is rising over this beautiful city. I have always enjoyed this view. It is calm as everyone awakes and the city starts to stretch and get ready for the day. For me though, it is a break. A pause to the danger and fears that the night brings. I take up watch every night guarding this city so that I can have this moment one more time. No one knows of me or the powers I posses. Well besides the mayor that is. What are those powers you might ask... Well you will just ha-"

Wilford lost his footing and feel. He started to tumble from his perch a top the Millennium Building. Grabbing for his belt he wrestled and writhed to pull out a piece quail. He held in it his hand looking at it intensely as he noticed a piece of lint on the tip of it. Brushing the lint aside, Wilford bit into the quail and looked back towards the ground.

"I hate this part." He muttered to himself. Just then he jerked in the air and came to a screeching halt just 4 feet from the ground. "Ugh, if it could not do that it would be fantastic. Just a bit of control in the spawning would be nice." Wilford glanced a bit further down and noticed that there was a single spike pressing softly into his abdomen. With sigh of relief he slowly raised up from the spike and began to fly towards the east edge of town. "I really need to talk to the mayor about his decoration decisions."

This is a story about how one unique individual was able to rise up and save the world. In his own special style that is. Wilford arrived back at his apartment. He was greeted by the fierce barking of his two labs. They were pushing on the door so hard that Wilford struggled to push the door open. Once Wilford opened the door however he was met with a flurry of licks to the cheeks and paws to the gut. "How are my two girls doing! As long as I have you two, Vicky and Turkey, I won't need no other woman." Wilford walked further into the apartment to close the door and noticed it right in the middle of the couch. One of the two labs had left a little present for Wilford. His face was suddenly twisted in disgust and he turned his nose up at the smell hitting him at the same time.

"Really! I took you two out right before I left last night." Wilford exclaimed. Turkey continued to have a smile on her face as she gleamed at Wilford. Vicky sulked into the single bedroom in Wilford's run down apartment. Wilford went and got a paper towel from the kitchen then carefully tried picking up the turd from the couch. Trying to not smear it into the already half destroyed couch. Wilford then walked over to the window of his apartment and opened up the screen.

Unbeknownst to Wilford however there was a young lady on the fire escape. She was about 23 years old so only a few years younger than Wilford. She had long red hair that was curled tightly. Her face was covered in freckles and she looked to be about 5'6. She was sitting on the fire escape waiting for Wilford. For she knew who he was and wanted to meet him about a job she needed done. And suddenly the window next to her opened up and she saw a crumpled paper towel fly through it. As it flew something dropped from it and landed on her knee. She looked down in horror as a soft turd had splatted down on her jeans. She looked like she was about to hurl.

Wilford had seen the turd drop. He had thought it was just going to land on the slits and drop down. Then he heard the dry heaving from fire escape. He whipped back around and saw her standing on the fire escaped with a look of disgust and horror looking down at her jeans.

"Oh no! I am so sorry! I didn't know that you were out there. I had just woken up and noticed one of my dogs had an accident!" Wilford had exclaimed.

"Please just get me a wet towel to clean it... gwah! Hurry!"

"Oh yeah! Of course!" Wilford whipped around and started to run towards the kitchen. As he was running back with a towel Wilford tripped over Turkey and sent the towel flying. *Splat* right in the young lady's face.

"Thanks..." She muttered. She pulled the towel off of her face and proceeded to clean the turd from her jeans holding back gags the entire time. "You don't need this back do you?"

"No, it was a family heirloom. Wrong side of the family though." Wilford paused and looked at the young lady on fire escape. "She is rather cute." he thought to himself. "What are you doing on the fire escape young lady?"

"Well this isn't quite the way I envisioned meeting you. I have been following you for a while now and I have to say I am absolutely disgusted by the way you live. I mean I have witnessed you take down mob bosses with out breaking a sweat. How don't you have time or energy to clean or fix anything? But, that isn't why I am here." The young lady then started to climb in through the open window. She walked with a grace as if she knew where her feet were always going to land with out looking. Wilford was astounded and slightly afraid.

"Who are you and why are you here? If you are here to kill me then sorry to disappoint you, but I can get really beefy in a fight." Wilford announced.

"My name is Stella and I am not here to kill you. I have seen when you have gotten beefy before and I don't want to be on the wrong end of that. I am here because I need your help. I am a grad student working for Centaur Labs. I have been working at trying to crack the code on what is next for humanity's evolutionary step. What it will look like and how a society will respond to it."

"Do you want a sample of my blood or something or what?" Wilford was looking at her with a strong intense glare now. It almost looked like he was ready to pounce at Stella. "That is going to be an issue. I really do enjoy the life I am living right now. I can do as I please and get a check from the mayor every month as a thank you for saving his life once."

" No, I don't want to take your blood. I know you like staying secluded and out of the limelight. I am here because of something happening at the lab. I uncovered plans to boost the process of human evolution ahead and use it as a weapon. The owner-"

"Jericho." Wilford has now turned towards the kitchen and is pulling orange juice of the fridge. He can tell that this conversation has turned. He just needs to say the right things and he will be able to move on about his day of relaxing and sleeping.

"Yes, Dr. Jericho. I think he wants to take control of the city." Stella said while moving towards the counter that separated the kitchen from the dining/living room. "He has plans to take control of city hall and all the residents of Weldon City. He is going to use a signal beacon to erase and brainwash everyone's mind."

"I thought you said that he was working to forward human evolution. How is going to do that by turning them into mindless animals?" Wilford was starting to get annoyed. She was cute, but Wilford was starting to think she was equally as crazy.

"About that. He is going to use them as weapons. He wants to enhance their bodies to turn them into weapons only loyal to him. He could easily take over the world if something like that happens. I am sure you know what it means to be biologically stronger than other people." Stella was starting to let her desperation control what she was saying. She hesitated when she heard what she had said. It shouldn't have been an insult, but it was. Wilford was different. Only one of his kind. She was sure that it was hard for him to deal with something like that.

"Yeah, I do. It isn't all sunshine and roses though. I have to control and watch what I eat. If I go to restaurant to have a burger, I need to be careful as I leave so I don't blow the door off the hinges. And I can't enjoy turkey anymore after what happened that one time... I can't control it in a lot of ways. That is why I like things being the way they are. I can do minor things to help out the police at night and no one expects more of me because they don't know that I exist. The cops take all the credit..." Wilford looked down at the glass of orange juice. It was like he was trying to look through it. His mouth was twisted and his eyes had dimmed. Like he wanted to be left alone.

"You are the only person that can help me." Stella exclaimed. "I have already been to the police about this and they just told me to buzz off. Then I remembered a story in the paper about a young man that had survived a natural gas explosion that had killed his-"

"Stop right there!" Wilford was holding back a tear in his eye. "Don't ever speak of that! Do you understand me! You don't know anything about that story and shouldn't speak of it."

"Look, all I am asking for is your help. You know things that other people think are just myths. You know that what I am explaining to you is in some shred of reality possible. Please! Help save this city from something it won't see coming."

"Ok... So, what is in it for me?" Wilford looked at Stella with a stern glance.

"Well, I was hoping you would kinda do it for free. I am a grad student after all and don't own much more than a blanket and a rust bucket of a car. I was hoping your hero attitude of standing up to danger and threats of evil would be enough." Stella was nervous. This was the make or break point. After this she didn't know where to go besides leaving Weldon City to run away. This was in her mind humanity's only hope of having a future with free will.

"Alright, I will call the mayor and explain it to him. And if this is a real thing I am sure he wouldn't mind restructuring our current agreement. I could have sworn five thousand dollars a month would have gone farther than this. So, where do we begin?"

superheroes
1

About the Creator

Logan Schwanke

Hi there, I suppose you are wondering who I am. Well if you read long enough you might just find out. I want to move people's emotions and make them feel things they don't think they would in their normal day to day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.