Geeks logo

Meat Man Chapter 2

What are we doing again?

By Logan SchwankePublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

The mayor's office that same day. The walls are lined with many achievements from both Weldon City and the Mayor himself. A paper showing the Mayor shaking hands with an older gentleman as they are smiling and holding a check between the two of them is framed up on the wall. The headline reads “Dr. Jericho pledges to help Mayor Charlie clean up local parks.”

Wilford and Stella are standing behind two beautiful antique walnut chairs. Mayor Charlie is sitting a modest, new, ergonomic chair. He is seated behind a minimalist style desk. He only keeps what he needs on his desk. Mayor Charlie is starting to grow restless. He isn’t aware as to why Wilford is there and why he has dragged along a grad student with him. “What is that you want, Wilford?” He exclaims.

“Well, I think we are going to need to restructure my paycheck after what I am about to tell you. You see, Stella here has uncovered a plot by Centaur Labs to take over the minds of this wonderful city’s citizens.”

Stella blurts out, “I believe that Dr. Jericho is going to use the research he has done at Centaur Labs to turn the citizens into super-powered human weapons. I have seen the research that he has been heading and they are extremely close to advancing the advancement of the evolution in humanity. Could you imagine a city turned into superhumans overnight? The human race would face enslavement or possible extinction. We need to…”

“I am going to stop you right there.” Mayor Charlie has his hand raised. He is looking at Wilford with a look of disinterest. “Are you trying to get more money out of this city?”

“What? I am here because there is a threat. I just figured you would be more than happy if this is something that really is big and dangerous.” Wilford explained. The question caught him off guard. He would have thought that the mayor would have taken him more seriously than he was.

“Just because you saved my life once doesn’t mean that I can pull infinite strings for you.” Mayor Charlie responded while glaring at Wilford. “Let’s say that there is something like this happening at Centaur Labs and we send in Wilford here to save the day. Do you both think that this is going to be something that helicopters are watching? Do you think that it will be on the local news that Wilford saved the city from a middle-aged man? A man that this city believes to be one of the nicest and generous men on the planet. He has donated over $2 million dollars to this city alone to improve the living conditions of every citizen. The media will paint you two to be monsters. They won’t hesitate with it either.”

“Sir, if I may interject.” Stella steals a quick glance at Wilford. She sees that he still lost in his confusion. “I have seen the files and documents with my own eyes. He has a division that is dedicated to understanding the human mind and what it takes to hypnotize the human brain. We are talking about the fate of the world here. The project they are working on could destroy life as we know it, not advance it.”

The mayor is now visibly flustered and angry. Slamming his hands down as he is standing up and sending his chair flying behind him. “Enough! What you are speaking of is outrageous!” He starts pacing back and forth behind his desk before he stops and looks out his window over the city skyline. “You are talking about a man who wants to see humanity thrive. What could he gain by taking control of everyone?” Mayor Charlie now turns his head so that he is glaring at Wilford. “I can’t believe that you would allow some grad student to infect your mind with such lies. You have met the doctor yourself. You have seen what he does for our community and how he helps people.”

Wilford is looking down at the floor. He is working out everything in his head. He glances at Stella. He doesn’t know what to do in this situation. Every fiber is telling him to believe Stella. However, he is concerned that she might be wrong. Why would a man work so hard to make an entire city love him and devote himself to Weldon City in the way that he has only to take the city over and turn it into mindless zombies that do his bidding. Wilford swallows hard as he looks up at the mayor “You’re right.” Wilford looks over at Stella. “Why should I believe you? You are a grad student and he is the mayor. You must know how many tours of Centaur Labs he goes on.”

“Because I have seen it. I have seen the plans. Please, I love this city… trust me…” Stella starts to get a tear in her eye. She can feel the room shifting. She can feel Wilford trusting her less.

“Young lady, I don’t believe your boss will appreciate hearing that you are trying to destroy his reputation. You can either keep holding onto this fairy tale that he is doing something evil or you can let it go and go about your normal life.” The mayor is now addressing Stella directly. He has a stern look on his face. Stella is starting to grow more flustered as it seems no one is on her side or believes her. She is only doing what she believes is right and wants to help the city that she loves so much. “Do the right thing young lady and stop.”

“Let’s go, Stella.” Wilford grabs Stella by the wrist and turns to leave. He can tell that if they stay, they will only make things worse for both of them. He is lost. He believes that trusting Stella is the right thing to do, but a man that he trusts is telling him otherwise. “We need to go.”

Stella follows behind him on the verge of tears. She is conflicted. She knows what she saw and now she is being told by the mayor to forget about it. How could he not care more about the city to look more into it? He is supposed to be a man of the people. Why wasn’t he listening to her? Does her word not mean anything?

“Oh, and Wilford you better forget about this wild notion. Otherwise, I might be forced to make some budget cuts.” Mayor Charlie states as Wilford and Stella are opening the door.

Wilford stops at the door. He lets Stella through the door and turns towards the mayor. “Understood sir. I will go about my normal life.” Wilford walks through the doorway and closes the door behind him. He is slow to leave the door that just went through. Stella pauses in the hallway and turns back towards Wilford. Wilford looks at her with a tear in his eye and says “I am sorry. I want to believe you, but…”

“Save it. I am used to it. I just hoped that you would be different.”

“I am different.”

“How!?!” Stella barks back at Wilford. “When your own way of life is threatened you turn away and run. I thought you might be a real hero. Turns out you are just a gun for hire.”

“Let me do some digging. I am sure if what you say is true there must be something that Centaur is doing in the city at night. I just need more evidence.”

“Why isn’t my word enough evidence?” Stella walks off down the hall. Wilford can hear her starting to cry as she walks down the carpeted hall.

Meanwhile back in the mayor’s office. Mayor Charlie picks up the phone from his desk and dials. He presses the buttons violently. His anger is building as the phone rings on the other side.

“Mr. Mayor!”

“Cut the shit, you idiot. Do you know who I just had in my office?”

“No, I am not psychic.”

“I just had one of the grad students you employ. She knows about the plan. You need to get rid of her now. She had him with her.”

“Oh, did you happen to catch a name.”

“Stella.”

“I will make sure she doesn’t even get in the building tomorrow.”

“Good, cause I don’t think we are going to be able to convince Wilford that she is a criminal that we need dealt with. Don’t ever mess up like this again is that understood Dr. Jericho. Otherwise, the blood will be on your hands.”

“Understood sir. I will make sure we tighten up security.”

superheroes
1

About the Creator

Logan Schwanke

Hi there, I suppose you are wondering who I am. Well if you read long enough you might just find out. I want to move people's emotions and make them feel things they don't think they would in their normal day to day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.