Geeks logo

Judas & The Black Messiah Meet 'Top Boy'

American and London Dream... I still Can't Reach

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Far left Fred Hampton (Actor Daniel Kaluuya) & Far right William O'Neal (Actor LaKeith Stanfield)

Hello my name is Dr. Michael Movie Type of Guy Person Guy Harris.

I heard you all like movies. You see here movies are live action stories put before us. We kick back and allow the actors and actresses to duke it out as we decide who's side we're on. Yes the duking it out also happens sappy Hallmark movies, my momma and me be watching them from time to time.

But there is a movie, I just saw that was incredible. The movie is Judas and The Black Messiah. If you do not know the story, this might be a spoiler but I'm going to try my best not to do that. If I spoil it, I'm not sorry because it's a true story and you need to learn your history.

The time was in the sixties and the setting is Chicago. At the beginning of the movie you see William O'Neal portrayed by LaKeith Stanfield (Atlanta, Knives Out, Uncut Gems) was a teen who did some petty crimes. The crime scene I'm talking about he nearly gets killed. He wanted power so he impersonated a cop and was hot wiring cars and he got away till he saw the real sirens behind him. Then the scene changes and this normal SpongeBob lookin jive turkey cop is giving him the run down ya dig.

Buddy said, if you help me scratch my back and I'm gonna help you scratch so to speak. O'Neal was in a predicament now. He had a choice, be the inside man for the cops or be a real renegade and take his charges like a man and help his brotha man.

You know what he chose?

I'm not telling you, cause you need to see fo' yourself ya dig. But Fred Hampton, portrayed by Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out, Black Panther, Queen and Slim) was a great black man who set out to make a change in the community. A revolutionary and a grand one at that.

The acting was top notch and I was on the edge of my seat. Being mad at some characters' decisions throughout the movie. At the end of the movie, already knowing what was going to happen, my heart was unease. Still I cannot believe that this actually took place. Power is deadly and hatred is just as equal.

I'm giving this movie a 10/10. It started off on the roller coaster fast. There was not much of a rising action. Right away for me at least, it started at a climax type beginning with O'Neal. Then when the plot truly started, it went back to the traditional story line.

If you love this movie then a show I recommend is Top Boy on Netflix. It's a London show but not your typical type of London show. The leads are predominantly black and that was amazing seeing that representation. You should watch season 1 - 2 (Top Boy Summerhouse), but if you do not you're not missing out. It just will help you understand it more.

Unlike Fred Hampton, the characters in this show are trying to control their spots of the city. With the lead Dushane in Jamaica, an upcoming gang leader is trying to change up some things. His name is Jamie and buddy does not mess around, protecting his brothers and keeping tabs on what is going on around him is not an easy task.

Everybody is chasing their P's/Food (money) and trying to make it in this life. Gangs are not looked under positive lights but the system for many have failed them. With Jamie, his parents passed away and now he's the man of the house. Where is the the government that they vote in? Ya it's London, the projects just like over here in the "Land of the Free and Home of the The Brave". Yet that's something we share in common.

The government over here in the US created red lining. It was created years ago. For example if is someone from the North Side of Chicago wanted to get to Naperville they could with peace in mind. The high ways they created went over or through the towns they did not want others seeing. Those towns where Black, Hispanic, Asian people lived.

As you watch both of these remarkable cinematic masterpieces think about those who are less fortunate than you. Not everybody has the American or London Dream down pact. At times we dream it, but the ones in offices and sometimes our neighbors keep reality further and further away from arm's reach.

entertainment

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.