Geeks logo

In Kazbat's Den

A Place I Love In Newcastle

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
11
Kazbat's Den

Introduction

Kaz and Oscar

I have told many of my friends across the water about this place run by my great friend Karen and her dog Oscar who you can meet in this story.

Here is a video of Kazbat's Den on Facebook, I can't share it directly here.

While this is a sort of advertising piece for anyone who comes to Newcastle, I just want to share the joy that I feel every time I go through that door into the Den.

The music I have chosen is "The Witch" by The Rattles, becausee well, why not? Especially when you see signs like this is in The Den.

Really? Can You??

Into Kazbat's Den

Over the years I have bought and chucked many belts. I have only bought two leather studded belts from Karen, over five years ago and they are still in service today.

The Belt Not Being Worn

The thing is Kaz's stuff is quality.

I could spend hours just looking at the things in the shop and Kaz always has good music playing. Kazbat's Den is eclectically esoteric with pictures of Bob Marley sharing space with The Nightmare Before Christmas and Ouija boards, cushions, and bags.

Bob Watching
One Love With A Ouija Pillow

Just looking at the shots above you could spend an age perusing these amazing products. This is not your average shop and as the shop front says, "The Only Alternative".

I just love the doorway, and this is just the opening to this wonderful cool place.

Jack Skellington Says Kazbat's Den Is Open
Goth Girl Says Come And Play

Kazbat does piercing but, I am too much of a coward for any type of body modification, I am the same with tattoos.

I promised Kaz I would write this piece a long time ago, took photos and videos then lost them and forgot about it, but this time I took some more photos (a lot), because this shop is almost like a Tardis because while it does not have a huge floor space it has a massive selection of esoteric items, and the problem is you decide on one thing and then see something else that you would like to have, sometimes you choose the second item and sometimes you choose both.

Skelly

In the window is a skeleton with a Broken Doll T Shirt, The Broken Doll is gone but its spirit is maintained in Trillians and The Black Bull Gateshead.

Killer Clowns

And the place would be as much fun without at least one scary clown (no that isn't me).

Jack Skellington's Umbrella

Before you even start looking in the Den itself there are so many interesting things on the shop's periphery like this wonderful Jack Skellington umbrella.

How Many Pendants?

There are so many interesting pendants, "Tree of Life", "Dream Catchers" Beads, Butterflies, Yin/Yang and so much more, that is why I had to take so many pictures to share as much of this magical place with you.

Bags Of Magic

The chances are that you will be tempted to buy a lot more things than you came in for, and maybe one of these bags would be an absolutely perfect place to store your treasures.

Owls, Skulls And Magic

The glass display contains some amazing figures and a skull. I do like that clock as well. The cat, the gargoyle, the owls, and the magic bowls, a real cabinet of magic.

Magic Candles

There are lots of magic spell candles to burn to bring about good things in your life. I am not sure if they do what they say but I am sure that burning them will make your room much more pleasant to be in.

Cats And Candles

I do love the cat and witches hat incense burner here, plus the stands for the magic spell candles (look at the expression on that cat's face)

I hope you have enjoyed me showing you through this magical treasure of a shop which you can visit on Facebook here.

pop culturevintagereviewproduct reviewlisthumanitycosplayconventionscelebritiesart
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I can spend many hours here! So many fascinating things!

  • Still looks like a wonderful place to wander & wonder.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Thank you, Mike, for providing me with a tour of one of your favorite stores!!! The pictures are fabulous!!! Loving it!!!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Very thorough review of your friend's store. Well done.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    I really enjoy your pieces about places you visit!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    I love unique places like this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.