Geeks logo

How Sailor Moon Impacted My Life

she saved me by the moonlight and daylight

By Samantha ParrishPublished 15 days ago 5 min read
Top Story - April 2024
16

For 30 years, this cosmic crybaby has warmed the hearts of many people inspired others, and still never fails to give people, courage, strength, and love. You could throw a dart at any movie, TV Show, or author that Sailor Moon has inspired.

Everyone has their own story about how this anime impacted them. And this is mine.

What Sailor Moon Did For Me

when I was five years old, I was acclimating to a new life after spending years in the hospital from the treatment for leukemia. After I was successfully cured from cancer. A new life began for me that I was not sure about. In my infancy, I was in the hospital, and all I had were my Barbie dolls, my Disney princesses, and many VHS tapes.

I was young enough to know that I felt lonely without knowing what it meant. The friends I had were gone. I did not have any friends in my neighborhood because I was in the hospital. I didn’t have the typical infancy that many kids would have because I was fighting for my life. As you can imagine when I started kindergarten, I had no idea what was going on. I didn’t know what to do every day I came home from school. I felt empty even though I did not know what that felt like yet.

In the afternoons I would wait for my mom at my grandparents while she finished her shift at work. My grandmother told me that I could watch TV. It's a no-brainer, I’m going to Cartoon Network something new to watch.

...and then a program came on that changed my life, TOONAMI.

I saw the title that said Sailor Moon and I knew I was hooked before I even got through the opening. It checked the box on everything that I loved with fantasy stories about girls with magical powers. That’s all it took for me.

It gave me something to look forward to every day. I got home from school. It wasn’t just the joy of getting to watch this middle schooler fight evil by the Moonlight and (sometimes) win love by daylight. It fueled my imagination. I had ideas for characters that had magical powers. There were times at recess I would run around and pretend I was a Sailor scout in my own world that was mine.

Sailor Moon came on right at the time for me to have a character that I could look up to, but also to relate to. I knew at five years old that she had her flaws. She gets emotional at the drop of a hat, but if she did something wrong she admits it. If she knows someone is in trouble, she doesn't hesitate to get there with--or without powers.

To see that kind of morale in a middle schooler-aged character is still admirable and I'm glad to have seen that quality in the shows I ingested.

She wasn’t perfect, but she was flawed to a perfect degree.

We didn’t have many characters back, then that we could relate to when you’re going into something new. For me that was going through school. Even though most of the plot of the story went one ear and out the other, there were still some elements to the show that did show the greatest lessons that a litle girl like me needed to hear and the 28 year old finally got.

that it’s OK to be scared during change.

Your emotions are valid.

With these healthy elements that I saw for me to understand as a child. It carried me through the thing I feared the most, and that was school. I have to admit that sometimes I’d imagine the characters were right beside me and I felt stronger and I felt like I could get through the day.

In my graduating days from school, I got the best graduation gift

It was a birthday/graduation combo gift. In all the years I cosplayed, I got to bring it to a full circle to dress up from my first anime love of my life.

The anime has been with me through the toughest moments of childhood. But then it was there for me in the toughest change of my life. The death of my grandmother.

I felt that void again that I could understand better than when I was five. But it understood it in a way that challenged me to know that I had to accept this change as much as it hurts me. I was encouraged by my family to get back into conventions.

A dear friend of mine helped me immensely with purchasing a costume of one of my favorite characters, Sailor Venus. Dressing up from that series helped in that first year I went through navigating life as an adult. I dressed up as that character so much that I was given the nickname of Venus and many people knew this was my favorite character to dress up at.

But not many knew why I dressed up as her. Not many knew I was going through a rough transition of my life and this character became a staple for helping me through that rough transition into adulthood.

But it wasn't just Sailor Venus and Sailor Mars that I dressed up as. There was...

Princess Serenity

psst. I made that dress using only a sheet!

Neo Queen Serenity

psssst...this was one of the most difficult costums I had to create

Princess Venus

still one of my favs :)

And then finally

I learned how to make this costume thanks to my friend Emily

Sailor Moon Herself

Sailor Moon had the balance of being a show that was young enough for children, but not too mature for children. I’ve always said in my episodes on my show The Screen Queen that kids are hungry for information to broaden their horizons and who better than the characters that they follow. Sailor Moon led by example that she didn’t have the answers for life, but she had a good attitude about life. And really one life is all doom and gloom. You have to have a good attitude to go into anything in your life. And that followed me for years.


pop cultureindustryhumanity
16

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Kostenlos TvLive10 days ago

    RTL Live Stream kostenlos ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, um die neuesten Nachrichten, Shows und Sportereignisse direkt auf Ihrem Bildschirm zu verfolgen. Mit diesem kostenlosen Dienst können Sie Ihre Lieblingssendungen bequem von überall aus genießen. Verpassen Sie keine spannenden Momente mehr - schalten Sie jetzt ein und erleben Sie RTL Live! https://tvlivekostenlos.de/rtl/

  • Kostenlos TvLive10 days ago

    RTL Live Stream kostenlos ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, um die neuesten Nachrichten, Shows und Sportereignisse direkt auf Ihrem Bildschirm zu verfolgen. Mit diesem kostenlosen Dienst können Sie Ihre Lieblingssendungen bequem von überall aus genießen. Verpassen Sie keine spannenden Momente mehr - schalten Sie jetzt ein und erleben Sie RTL Live! <a href="https://tvlivekostenlos.de/rtl/">rtl live stream kostenlos</a>

  • Ameer Bibi11 days ago

    I truly enjoy this story! 🌟 It's heartwarming to hear how Sailor Moon had a significant impact on the way you live. Sailor Moon has helped you feel less lonely as you grew up and guided you through difficult circumstances as an adult. 🌙 It's incredible to see how a show can inspire and motivate us in so many different ways. Keep shining bright, Sailor Moon fans! ✨.

  • Flamance @ lit11 days ago

    Good work

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    I LOVE the Princess Venus photo the most! What a wonderful story and so glad your found something to help you after a non-social childhood! 🫶 Congrats on the TS!

  • Kodah11 days ago

    Omg she was my childhood!! I grew up watching her, her feminine power was so important to me. Love this! 💌

  • D. D. Lee11 days ago

    Sailor Moon was one of the first animes I ever watched. I enjoyed as a kid. Thank you for sharing such a personal experience and congrats on T.S.

  • Carol Townend11 days ago

    My heart is entwined with yours! I'm in my 40s, and Sailor Moon also got me through emotional and turbulent times. It made me realize that I was allowed to feel what I felt and that I was lonely but still worthy of love. I love this story very much

  • Chloe Gilholy12 days ago

    I love Sailor Moon. My last cosplay was Sailor Mercury.

  • angela hepworth12 days ago

    This was such a beautiful story!! I love Sailor Moon and how it made us feel as girls. Your Neo Queen Serenity cosplay is absolutely gorg by the way.

  • angela hepworth12 days ago

    This was such a beautiful story!! I love Sailor Moon and how it made us feel as girls. Your Neo Queen Serenity cosplay is absolutely gorg by the way.

  • I loved Sailor Moon as a kid, too. I even binge watched it a couple of years back. Still the same fun it was back then. Oh, and you look awesome in those cosplays. :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.