Geeks logo

Help Wanted!

Be warned: this job can be dangerous...incredibly dangerous

By Kurt MasonPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

I happened to come across this book on one of the display tables as I was wandering the bookstore, and I picked it up on a whim. Well, to be honest, I picked it up because I was struck by the cover and the bright red page edges. With that being said, I was also excited by the humorous way that the book description was written on the back cover. I hoped–and had my fingers crossed–that this was going to be a good read. I wasn’t disappointed!

Hannah Nicole Maehrer’s book, “Assistant to the Villain,” tells the tale of Evangelina Sage and her accidental employment to the realm’s most notorious and dangerous evildoer, The Villain. Sweet and compassionate Evangelina Sage (known as Evie to her friends) finds herself seeking employment after leaving her unsultry former employer, the village blacksmith. When she bumps into The Villain–quite literally–she is offered a job as his assistant, a precarious position that could be the most lucrative opportunity of her life, or a quick and painful end to her existence.

As Evie settles into her new job, she realizes that The Villain is more than what is depicted on the “Wanted” posters throughout the kingdom–both in looks and personality. Evie is good at her job and quickly becomes indispensable as The Villain’s assistant. But all isn’t what it seems within the dark manor that houses The Villain’s extensive operations. When plans begin to go awry and schemes are foiled at every turn, The Villain soon enlists Evie’s help to uncover who is passing information to The Villain’s arch-enemy, The King.

As The Villain and Evie begin working more closely together, they realize that there is a spark between them that is blooming into something more than a work relationship. As they explore their own values and begin to look inside themselves, Evie and The Villain embark on an adventure that will test the limits of their relationship.

What I liked most about this book was the way that each character learned to become more like the other. There was a sweet sincerity in the way that Evie taught The Villain to loosen up and laugh, and there was an honesty behind the way that The Villain taught Evie to be more cautious and observant. This book is written from two different perspectives, so it was nice to see the world through Evie’s eyes and The Villain’s. I also enjoy the way that their budding romance is alway bubbling just under the surface. Overall, I loved the cuteness and lightness of the book, and I thought it was evenly balanced with the moments of action and adventure. I enjoyed the fantasy setting and the supporting characters were surprisingly likable.

One of the things that I didn’t like with this book was the way that time seemed to jump around. I felt as though I could never get a good sense of how much time had passed. Once I fell into the rhythm of reading, I was able to keep pace better, but I wish that the passage of time was more clearly explained.

With plenty of humor and heart, this book read like an enticing rom-com that kept me turning page after page. Anyone searching for witty banter, a bit of action, some fantasy elements, and a will they/won’t they budding romance can find everything they need within “Assistant to the Villain.” I found myself rooting for the characters and desperate to see how this story would wrap up. Suffice it to say, the fact that this ended with a cliffhanger left me hungry for what comes next.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

reviewpop cultureliteraturehumanityentertainmentcomedy
1

About the Creator

Kurt Mason

Teacher • Writer • Reader

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.