Geeks logo

Let the Games Begin

May the odds be ever in your favor

By Kurt MasonPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have been stuck in a reading rut for quite some time. I have had a few books going here and there, but nothing that I could seem to stay focused on. As I was taking inventory of my classroom library, I set aside Suzanne Collins’ book, “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes,” the prequel to her Hunger Games series. I have not read any of the Hunger Games books since they were first released, but every year I use excerpts from the books and various clips from the films in a curriculum unit that I teach about heroic survivalism. I started to read that afternoon after I wrapped up work in my classroom, and I found myself coming out of the reading rut that I had been stuck in for so long.

Since it had been a while since I had read the original series, I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t be able to understand some of the nuances in the world of Panem as I was reading, but that wasn’t a problem at all. I found that I was easily able to slip back into the world of Panem, but this time it was from a Capitol perspective instead of a District one. It was an interesting perspective in regards to point of view because it allowed for a better insight into different characters and ways of life that we weren’t able to see before. I think that this perspective also highlights how deep the clutches of capitalism and “high society status” truly are.

Following a young Coriolanus Snow, the future President of Panem, “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” shows us the 10th Annual Hunger Games where it had just been announced that the best and brightest of the Capitol Academy (and those from the wealthiest or most notable families) would act as mentors for the tributes from the twelve districts. Mentors play an integral role in helping their tribute be victorious, and they also help bring a new twist to the game as viewership of the annual event dwindled.

Coriolanus, born into one of the wealthiest and most notable Capitol families, struggled to keep up appearances and hide the fact that his family went broke in the war. Maintaining an air of wealth can be tricky when you are living off of cans of beans and meager portions of broths made out of scavenged or bartered leftovers. Seeing success as a mentor as the catalyst for his rise back to wealth and power, Coriolanus was disappointed when he learned that he would be mentoring the female tribute from District 12, the most unfavorable of Districts, Lucy Gray Baird.

Much like Coriolanus himself, Lucy Gray proved that looks could be deceiving, and as this unlikely pair began to deepen their connection they were forced to endure triumph and tragedy unlike what either of them was prepared for. Their relationship struck a chord with the nation and inadvertently changed the face of the Hunger Games. Throughout their fight for survival, Coriolanus and Lucy Gray each had to face the harsh reality of their trauma and decide what future they wanted–Capitol or District.

What I loved about this book was the way it juxtaposed the rest of the Hunger Games series and gave us a look at what life was like in the Capitol. I don’t want to say that I sympathized with the Capitol–because they still did horrendous things–but I think that I walked away with a deeper understanding of some of their actions. I also enjoyed the cast of characters that were introduced throughout this book, and I think that each exemplified what it means to be human.

I will say, I was not thrilled with the ending. For me, the ending became unclear, and it took me in a completely different direction than what I was expecting (which isn’t always a bad thing). I felt as though the last twenty pages or so just seemed disconnected compared to the rest of the plot.

With that being said, if you are a Hunger Games fan, or simply looking for a book with action, adventure, romance, and a raw look at the horrors of human preservation, I would highly recommend picking Suzanne Collins’ book, “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes.”

4 out of 5 stars

reviewpop cultureliteraturehumanityentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Kurt Mason

Teacher • Writer • Reader

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.