Geeks logo

'Heartless' by Marissa Meyer

Queen Of Hearts

By Dagny DesireePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Welcome to the magical world of Wonderland, where here you learn the story of the Queen of Hearts! In the wonderful world of the Queen of Hearts, we know the story of Alice but did you know how the Queen of Hearts came about? I didn’t! Not until I read Heartless by Marissa Meyer. She writes “I hope you’ll forgive any inaccuracies, or even chalk them up to creative license if you’re feeling generous, and I sincerely hope that the spirit of Lewis Carroll will find more amusement than offense in my attempts to expand on his crazy, kooky, quirky world. It is Wonderland after all.” Lewis Carroll is the original writer of Alice In Wonderland. I honestly felt as if I was in Wonderland experiencing all the magic myself! Come live in the fictional world of Wonderland.

Heartless is a fictional book about the Queen of Hearts who tells a beautiful story about how she became so angry and hateful. “Off with his head” is a quote I'm sure we are all familiar with, and this book explains how that started. Poor Catherine, the Queen of Hearts loves to bake and wants nothing more than to open her own bakery but fate had other plans for her. “Cath” as she is called in the book “may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie somewhere else.” Cath falls in love with Jest and tries to change her destiny.

In my own opinion, I think that Marissa Meyer did a fantastic job writing the Queen's story! We all know about Alice but we didn’t know much about the Queen. I was very interested in learning the Queen's story. The love plot is beautiful and I think writing about a love story really fits why the Queen becomes so angry. Isn’t that why most people become angry and bitter anyway?, love makes us do strange things. She did not want to marry the king in the first place because she really wanted to be a baker. She didn’t really have a choice but I love how she did try to change her destiny. Just because someone thinks you should be someone you don’t want to be, doesn't mean you have to. I loved that she actually stood up for what she wanted. If her destiny had been different, and she ended up being a baker, I would have loved that story just as much. I also wish the best for everyone, whether it be a real person or a character in a book and would have liked to see Cath end up with Jest. It just didn’t work out that way, she wouldn’t be the Queen of Hearts if that happened. Heartless is a very gripping book, that kept me on the edge with the turn of every page. I never wanted to put the book down! I believe Lewis Carroll would have been proud.

“In Heartless, the nonsense that is Wonderland gets a reverential makeover, full of heart and its own idiosyncratic character.” — Gregory Maguire.

As written on the back of the book. Cath just wanted to be a baker, have her own shop, and be with Jest. It really was to bad that her story didn’t end up that way. But she got justice in the end, and that was very important. If you are a fan of the Alice in Wonderland story, then I very much think you will enjoy the story of the Queen of Hearts. This book was truly magical. It made me laugh and cry. Come fall in love with Jest and the magic yourself.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Dagny Desiree

A broken soul trying to mend herself back together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.