Geeks logo

Fighting with My Family - A Movie Review

'Fighting with my Family' embodies a refreshing retake on professional wrestling.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2

You must be able to story tell in wrestling.

Fighting with My Family wrestled its way into theaters in 2019. Based on Saraya ‘Paige’ Knight’s debut in World Wrestling Entertainment, she immediately feels overwhelmed wondering if she has what it takes to compete.

I was unsure of this movie in the beginning, turned off by the obnoxious presentation of wrestling. Turns out, I was wrong. Not only is Fighting with My Family an inspirational movie about never giving up, but the film also embodies a refreshing take on professional wrestling.

Florence Pugh is unrecognizable as Paige. Pugh was tremendous, playing a character I have never seen her play. Passionate about wrestling, Paige realizes that she is way over her head with the challenging training sessions and fitting into the persona. Be confident in what you want.

Believe it or not, I used to have a serious distaste for Vince Vaughn. Giving him another chance, Vaughn is a more talented actor than I thought. Vaughn is the highlight as Coach Hutch. Telling it like it is to his students to make a bigger impact on them, Coach Hutch puts a positive mark on coaches and their impact.

The whole movie is cast well, particularly the Knight family. The real-life family approved of their portrayals. Nick Frost, Lena Headey, and Jack Lowden did a great job with their characters and making believable relationships. They are a loud and eccentric family, but that’s what makes them stand out.

Jealous that only his sister was picked to train in the championship, Zac (Lowden) is faced with his own demons. Just because you’re not acknowledged doesn’t mean you should give up your dream.

I didn’t expect the subplot with Paige and her other components. Only here for the fame, Paige is reluctant to socialize with the other girls who are way out of her league. Turns out, you can never judge a book by its cover. I liked the bond they established, helping one another along the way.

Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson steals the show as himself. My favorite scene will always be when Johnson calls the Knight family only to believe that it’s a joke.

Speaking of comedy, Fighting with My Family blends comedy and emotion seamlessly. This film incorporates genuinely funny moments and witty dialogue.

Stephen Merchant gives the wrestling world its deserved attention. As someone who had little interest in wrestling prior to watching this movie, I found myself captivated by its story and changed my perspective. I thought wrestling was a grizzly, atrocious, and violent sport. While I am right about the violence, wrestling is all an act.

Wrestling is all about storytelling - just like the theater. As explained, wrestling is a show where you don’t actually fight, but instead, rehearse movements to make it look real and protect your partner. I liked how two background characters who were uncomfortable with the sport in the beginning start cheering during the showdown at the end.

Fighting with My Family does a good job of connecting with audiences. Paige’s story allows the audience to connect with the characters on a deeper level. One can learn several helpful tactics from this film. Be the first you when it comes to living your dream. That is the best advice. Don’t ever try to be like somebody else

Do not overlook Fighting with My Family based on its content. It transformed my perception of wrestling and left me with a newfound respect for the athletes who dedicate their lives to this demanding sport. Take a look at the movie on Amazon Prime.

moviereviewpop cultureentertainmentcomedycelebrities
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.