Geeks logo

Fictional Tattoos

For my fictional characters.

By Kelsey ReichPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Fictional Tattoos
Photo by Uriel Soberanes on Unsplash

I’ve created numerous fictional characters in my writing. A number of them have tattoos that I will never get but maybe you’ll still enjoy them.

Pegasus

A mythological horse with wings. Not an uncommon symbol. It represents creativity and freedom. Ever since having my first horse, Sherman, I wanted to get a Pegasus tattoo on my left shoulder with the wings folding down a portion of my back but… I think my skin is far too sensitive to get such a large tattoo.

So, I have given it to my character Alex instead, who is featured in my stories Pizza Doesn’t Count and Pacific Giant Salamanders. I picture the horse looking like an appaloosa with a spotted rump, just like my horse.

Snake & Skull

I was listening to a song talking about a woman having eyes in the back of her head. It got me thinking of a tattoo idea. The end result I envision is a grayscale skull on the back of a persons skull, a brightly coloured and hyper realistic snake slithering it’s way up their spine, and through the eye sockets of the skull. This also seemed like a tattoo someone not-so-friendly would have. I gave it to Splinter, who you can read about in Humans Only.

Splinter is a non-binary human that works as a cage fighter. I can picture them wishing they had eyes in the back of their head, maybe even having reflexes quick enough to seem like they actually do. Snakes are symbols of rebirth, transformation, immortality and healing. Splinter transformed themselves. Many fans would consider Splinter immortal.

Phases of the Moon

Danny, a fictional character that has not yet been immortalized on Vocal Media, is a magic thief. He has a “magic meter” centered on his chest that looks like different phases of the moon based on how full his magic meter is. The character he falls in love with has the silhouette of a black cat, back arched like the classic Halloween shape. I’ll have to write about him in the future, however his past might be too dark for Vocal to consider publishing.

Bird Silhouettes

While I haven’t submitted any stories with characters that have bird tattoos, I have created and written a number of characters that have them in my writing based role plays. My scifi ecologist, Jane, has a sleeve of bird silhouettes fitted together like puzzle pieces up the length of her arm. Another character has bird silhouettes flying from the inside of one wrist, up the arm, across the chest and down to the other wrist. Much like an Eadweard Muybridge animal in motion.

I can picture my character Raven having a raven tattoo (read about her in The ARK and Fetal Heartbeats in 2821). Her and Jane are actually relatives in a far future alternate scifi universe.

Luna Moth

My character Diana in Talking to Moths doesn’t have any described tattoos but I like to think she would get a luna moth to memorialize the day she decided to come out as being gay.

Reptiles

Veya is still a girl in my series Three Reptile Bros, but I imagine when she grows older she would want a tattoo to either symbolize her three uncles or at least her uncle Strand. Maybe something that looks like peeling skin with a lizard texture?

Other Tats

Since my character Alex has tattoos I think she would persuade Dominic and Jeremy to get tattoos as well. I’m not sure what either one of them would get—maybe something to represent their relationship. Perhaps a Pacific Giant Salamander or the polyamory symbol (the heart and infinity symbol).

As for myself, I still have no tattoos but I would like to get a bird silhouette of a Great Blue Heron and one of Peppermint Butler from Adventure Time. Something smaller and more simple than a giant Pegasus. Peppermint Butler is my favourite character from my favourite cartoon. And Great Blue Herons have a way of popping up in my life in unexpected ways, I've always had a hard time decided on the bird species though.

__________________________________

If you enjoyed reading, please support my work with a heart and click the owl to read more! Let me know what you want to learn about next on FB, Twitter, or Insta @akelseyreich.

Are you interested in joining Vocal as a content writer? Click and sign up to get your first month subscription for only $1!

Everything is connected. Written by Kelsey Reich on June 24/2021 in Ontario, Canada.

art
3

About the Creator

Kelsey Reich

🏳️‍🌈 Life-long learner, artist, creative writer, and future ecologist currently living in Ontario.

Find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and buy me a coffee @akelseyreich!

Your support is appreciated!

Want to join Vocal+? Click here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.