Geeks logo

Favourite Galar Pokemon

From each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I have been a fan of Pokemon since its inception. I don’t think any generation has been hated as much is this one. The main reason for this is cutting out most of the national dex. In my opinion, the story is lacklustre. There was so much unfulfilled potential that Nintendo fans feel betrayed and behind on the times. As awesome as Charizard is, if Charizard is going to be available so should Blastoise and Venusaur. The other starters also need love as well.

I will be honest and say that out all the starters I think the Galar starters are my least favourite however they are still cute. Unlike my previous lists, there is not a single starter on here, nor is there any from its family. The Pokémon fandom always has high expectations, so it’s hard to fulfill it all. Sword and Shield do have some gems and it has been a game that has kept me entertained through lockdown.

Galar is the Pokémon version of Britain, and in some ways I can see it’s true with random weather conditions, monuments inspired by the likes of Stone Henge, and Wyndon town. We’ve got Weezings in tophats, knightly Pokémon in shining armour and over a 100 curries you can cook at camp.

Grass - Gossifleur

I like her a lot more than her stronger form, Eldegoss. I love her design because she looks so cute with the red hair and the big yellow flower. The French name for flower in her name makes me think that she would fit well in the Kalos region as a relation to the Florges line. She is a lot like a fusion of Roselia and Florges.

Fire - Coalossal

Not normally the type of Pokémon that I go for. It’s typing combo makes it vunerable to water, but there’s something about his derpy face that makes me smile. I have two shiny Coalossals, (both were a coincidence). I nicknamed one Cracktoise because he reminds me of a fusion between Golem and Blastoise. I also like how his shiny form is the same colour as Heracross, it’s a nice change from the lime green or lighter pigment.

Water - Dracovish

Water/Dragon is an excellent type combination. Dragon cancels out a lot of water’s weaknesses like electric and grass leaving it only vunerable to fairies and other dragons. This fusion Pokémon enjoys good stats and an excellent move pool.

Normal - Wooloo

Nothing says British countryside like roaming sheep. It’s so fitting that a shiny wooloo is black. It took me over 525 encounters to catch a shiny, and I feel it was worth the effect. The shiny rates have risen considerably since the old generations, but it’s still a challenge in my opinion. It’s all down to luck.

Electric - Arctozolt

I think he’s adorable with his little face and hands with his big body and the icicle. The yellow and blue really work together and he has an uncommon type which really interests me.

Psychic - Hattrem

The Haterne line are perhaps the most unique of the new Pokemon. I like Hattrem because I think she’s super cute and looks cheeky and playful. Hattrem is one of the middle evolutions I like more than the final form.

Fighting - Sirfetch’d

Arise, Sirfetch’d! Seems far fetched to have an evolution for this Pokémon after so long. I like the white and how the leek is a sword.

Rock - Stonjourner

I think he has a cute face and he reminds me of Stone Henge, an amazing monument. One of my favourite places to visit in the UK.

Ground - Sandaconda

I kinda like how G-Max Sandaconda looks like a beyblade.

Flying - corviknight

Corviknight follows a tradition of great avian sweepers like Pidgeot, Talonflame and Staraptor. It’s fierceness and steel wings gives it a beautiful aura that ravens often give.

Ice/Bug - Frosmoth

Frosmoth is my fav ice and also my fav bug type, so going to put the entries in one paragraph. Snom is a fan-favourite for it's cuteness, but I really like the winter moth a lot more. I love the glacier patterns on it’s wings. After my shiny goomy hunt, I want to get a shiny Frosmoth next, because I love the green tinge on it's wings.

Poison - Toxtricity

Toxel evolves into either an Amped or Low Key Toxtricity. The forms depend on what nature. The stats and movepool appears to be the same from researching on Bulbapedia. I think the colour schemes of blue and yellow lightning work well with the purple. I like both forms equally. As a lover of rock music, I love how Toxtricity is inspired by punk rockers, considering all the legendary punk bands that came from the UK.

Dark - Obstagoon

Following on from musically inspired Pokemon is Linoone’s regional evolution. The inspiration from Gene Simmons and his stage persona with Kiss is undeniable. I've heard Gene Simmons likes it too.

Ghost - Cursola

I always thought Corsola was a cute Pokemon. I'm surprised it’s got an evolution and a new regional form. The story behind Cursola is also sad and it represents climate change and damage to coral reefs. Despite the sad story, I love Cursola even though it looks sad all the time. It makes it worth seeing Cursola smile.

Steel - Cufant

He's simply a cute elephant with majestic colours. Cufant feels more like a Pokémon you would get from India. But there are a lot of Indian people in the UK, and Indian cuisine is popular here, so I guess it makes sense its in a British-based region of the world.

Dragon - Dragapult

The region’s local pseudo that even shares Giratina’s type. It was voted the most popular pokemon out of Gen VIII, reaching 11 at a poll carried out by the Pokemon Company in 2020. His average defences are redeemed with excellent speed and offensive stats. He can be even faster than Gengar if trained in max speed.

Fairy - Alcremie

The concept of Alcremie isn’t really unique. There has been plenty of pokémon based on foods, but not many that comes with over 70 forms. I like how she evolves into different flavours and topping depending on which direction you twirl, the time and what sweet she’s holding as a Milcery. Milcery reminds me a baby digimon. Her gigamax form is a combination of all these forms like a tiered wedding cake. I think she's cute and my favourite form is the Matcha Cream with the clovers.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.