Geeks logo

My Favourite Alola Pokemon

From each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Alola brought the end of HMs outside of battle and a temporary goodbye to Pokémon gyms in exchange for trials and totem Pokémon. No new Megan’s were introduced but we still got to use them which was nice. Regional variants became a thing which gave some Kanto Pokémon a new lease of life. Some are awesome like the ones mentioned on this list whilst some are strange like Alola’s eggsecutor who is now a dragon apparently.

Grass - Lurantis

She reminds me of a cherry blossom from Japan with her colours. In Animal Crossing, you can catch mantis to keep or sell. Everytime I see the orchid mantis in Animal Crossing, I always think of this Pokemon.

Fire - Salazzle

A part of me thinks Salazzle should have been fire/dark, but fire/poison makes it stand out. She borrows a concept only females allowed to evolve into it from Vespiquen. It's a reliable sweeper.

Water - Primarina

Primarina is just a beautiful Pokemon inside and out. I love her design and she's a combination of two of my favourite types.

Normal - Drampa

He reminds me of Falkore from The Never Ending Story.

Electric - Alolan-Raichu

I always thought Raichu was a cool Pokemon and I love the alola form. I love how her tail is a surfing board and the additional psychic type is fitting as it's a gen one Pokemon, and how the type was overpowered back in the Gameboy era.

Pyschic - Cosmog

Get in the bag, Nebby!

Fighting - Bewear

Some say he's creepy, because of it's similarity to the pedobear meme. I love him for the colour scheme of black and pink. His pre-evoluton is so adorable.

R0ck - Rockpuff

I think Rockpuff is a cute little doggie. I really love the canine Pokemon like this one. I love his eyes.

Ground - Mudscale

Not sure what to say about this one. I think he looks cool. Reminds me of the donkeys that give kids rides on the beach.

Flying - Dartrix

Every time I see this Pokemon, I always think of Cilan from Unova because of how similar their attire is and how Cilan is a grass-type trainer.

Bug - Cutiefly

Cutiefly rhymes with Beautifly, another Pokémon I happen to like. I don’t know if that was intentional or not, but it’s a nice touch. I think she’s adorable as well.

Poison - Toxapex

I used her a few times in gen 7 and in my first in-game team in Pokemon Sheild and I thought she was awesome. Her poison type gave good coverage against fairies as I do use a lot of them on my team.

Dark - Incineroar

The fandom love their fire starters. The community’s love for Red’s mascot, Charizard proves it. Blaziken is another fan favourite, and then we have Incineroar who became a playable character in Smash.

Ghost - Mimikyu

Mimikyu won the hearts of many fans, me included. There’s a cute Japanese song about Mimikyu that made me love him even more. It had a big role in the sun and moon anime, and it’s ability, disguise made it a major threat in wifi battles.

Ice - Alolan-Ninetails

Ninetails is already a beautiful and great Pokemon in her own right. She always had a great move pool that could pull a few surprises in one of her tails. The ice and fairy types suit the new form.

Steel - Alolan-Sandlash

I don’t think Sandlash is as popular as Ninetails, but I love Sandslash’s new winter design. I think the ice and steel type suits him with the metal claws and the icicle spikes.

Dragon - Jangmo-o

My favourite thing about this Pokémon is how the yellow scales on his head look like a heart. I’ve not used its other forms yet, but I might do one day. I like how he has a unique typing and it’s design is cool.

Fairy - Comfey

Her name sounds like a fabric washener brand, but she looks like a flower crown you would wear at a festival. It really fits the Hawaii theme. She's one of the pokemon that I've always wanted to use in-game, but never got round to. She's really sweet looking. It's a shame she hasn't got an evolution. She looks like she could have a connection to the Florges line.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.