Geeks logo

'Emily in Paris' and the Sweet Escape

The crucial modern debate: entertaining comedy-drama or massive tv faux-pas?

By HannahPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Image: Netflix

***SPOILERS ALERT***

Before I knew anything about Darren Star’s new straight-to-Netflix comedy-drama, Emily in Paris, I was inundated with first-impressions coming to me live via Instagram stories:

'So, I’m hate-watching Emily in Paris”

“She doesn’t even speak French?!”

“She’s supposed to do WHAT for a career?”

And while I will admit it, the concept of a monolingual American moving to Paris to work in social media marketing while she has 43 Instagram followers to her name, did not exactly strike me as an idea for a cutting-edge new piece, there was also something oddly endearing about it. I had to watch

This can be referred to as the ‘gossip-girl effect’; the idea that a television show can be so utterly ridiculous, make absolutely no sense and contain very little that actually resembles character development, yet can be just captivating enough to be one of the most addictive series ever to have aired.

This is a common theme with Star’s television alone: 12 years ago we were graced with the madness of 90210, a remake of his earlier series Beverly Hills 90210, known now for its unrealistic storylines and outright unbelievable character developments, an 18-year-old high school graduate purchasing his very own bar, or a student committing a hit-and-run on her prom night are among some of the fan favourites. Regardless, the show became a staple of millennial viewing in the noughties.

This show immediately had a similar feel to me. I must admit that I rolled my eyes more than a few times during the opening scenes. I mean, a twenty-something American being allowed the opportunity to take her boss’s position in Paris without a word of the language, and she accepts right off the bat even though she is in a committed relationship in Chicago, come on! But in spite of this, I stuck it out until episode 2 and realised that the show had an air of self-awareness that I hadn’t expected.

When Emily arrives in Paris, this is when the show starts to pick up and show an overall tone: the Parisians really, really hate Emily. My fears that this was going to be a boring old success story about a too-enthusiastic American conquering the French capital were gone within the first episodes alone. The premise of the show was immediately more appealing to me.

Image: Netflix

To me, this became one of those shows that, despite all of the crazy potlines and odd one-liners (almost exclusively via Emily’s mouth), is almost entirely enjoyable from (near) beginning to the end. It really does, to repeat myself, have that ‘gossip-girl effect’. Here are some of the reasons why I just couldn’t turn it off:

It’s stunningly shot

I know, I know, it’s super basic (ringarde!) to marvel over film and tv shot right in the centre of Paris, but I couldn’t help it! It turns out I’m just as big of a sucker for cliches as Emily herself, and I loved getting lost in the picturesque streets with her.

I’m a sucker for a will-they-wont-they

Do I approve of Emily’s behaviour? Would I route for her if I knew her in real life? Absolutely not. Did Camille deserve better? OF COURSE. In fact, as a character, I preferred Camille by a mile, and she absolutely did not deserve what she got. Nevertheless, I could not turn my eyes away from the budding romance between Emily and Gabriel, despite my better judgement. Hate it all you want, but there is a reason why forbidden romances make a comeback in pretty much every tv show ever!

Image: Netflix

The cast does NOT hurt to look at

For me, one of the great pleasures of watching this show was simply looking at the cast members. Again, this is shallow and cliche, but I can’t help but be honest about the genuine reasons why this show was the perfect light relief! I mean, come on, Gabriel? Camille? Antoine? I challenge anyone to disagree with me here.

Image: Netflix

Secretly, I’d be Emily in a heartbeat

Part of me thinks that everyone secretly wants to be Emily, just a little bit. There is something so seductive about the idea of running off to Paris, leaving your boring boyfriend at home, and shacking up with a gorgeous French chef while doing some fairly easy but well paid social media marketing for Parisian luxury brands. Yes, her life is totally and completely unrealistic, but isn't sweet escapism just what we’re all in need of during these times?

Image: Netflix

All in all, I think escapism is the main appeal of this show. Even if it’s to hate-watch it while reporting responses on social media, it still gives us the break from reality that we long for during these strange times. Yes, it had its problems, but it was an enjoyable break nonetheless.

tv
1

About the Creator

Hannah

everything you can imagine is real

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.