Geeks logo

Dream Horse - A Movie Review

'Dream Horse' addresses the importance of obtaining a purpose.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Life is all about finding your passion. Once you find it, don’t let it go.

Dream Horse was released to theaters in 2020. Based on true events, a small town is brought together to breed a racehorse. Believing that Dream Alliance has no chances in competing in races, judges are proved wrong.

Dream Horse is a feel-good film. Horse movies have always been my favorite. I had the biggest smile on my face while watching this film. As we go through the usual norms in life, Dream Horse addresses the importance of obtaining a purpose.

The ultimate reason why I had Dream Horse on my watch list was because of Toni Collette. Collette does an astounding job. She achieved a convincing Irish accent. Jan is a leader. I like her determination. She drives home the message to keep on fighting for your passion.

Get ready to be spoiled with adorable scenes with the horse who played Dream Alliance. All the horses used for the film did a fantastic job in the race sequences. Special mention goes to the trainers of all the horses used on film. I felt like I knew them.

The love between an owner and a horse is vital. We all have a varying relationship with an animal. Collette’s connection to this horse is touching. An instant friendship forms.

It doesn’t matter what pet you have. Animals bring excitement to our lives. That, and admiration which is one of the best feelings.

The heartwarming relationship among the town was one of my favorite aspects of this film. Credits go to Owen Teale, Damian Lewis, Joanna Page, Nicholas Farrell, Sian Phillips, Karl Johnson, and many more. The cast did a remarkable job growing a genuine friendship. Seeing the interactions among the town made me appreciate my friendships all the more.

However, because of the huge ensemble, some characters get too much focus or not enough attention. This film is about Jan and her relationship with the horse. In my opinion, Howard’s (Lewis) angle with his family was unnecessary.

We already had a similar storyline with Jan and her husband. Eventually, the film garners too many subplots that it’s hard to keep track of the story.

I would have liked to have seen more with Jan’s parents. Jan’s parents are only here for a few scenes mainly to express their disapproval over what she is doing. They could have been involved more in the story. The storyline with the parents felt unresolved.

For this type of film, editors need to slice together with the race scenes in a realistic fashion. It’s essential that you feel the excitement. Based on the ensemble’s enthusiastic energy, I felt like I was attending a race.

If you have not been to Ireland, Dream Horse makes you want to go. The best locations were picked. Euros Lyn signified the tone of the film with the coloring of the area. His biggest accomplishment was seeing how the townsfolk relationships changed.

We have also seen several films of this genre. No matter what, we can learn a lot about how horse races work. I would like to attend a horse race someday.

But, Lyn drove this message home a little too much. Recognizing your passion is what life is all about. The film gets slow and repetitive. We already know the moral as soon as the film starts, trying to find its story. Despite this, don’t let anyone crush your dreams. Find your happiness.

Dream Horse was a lovely film. I’m sure that horse lovers will enjoy this film. Go find Dream Horse and enjoy it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.