Geeks logo

Daenerys Targaryen Saved My Life

VocalGOT

By Lacy HansonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Fire and blood.

The infamous trademark words of House Targaryen and the motto that has become my life's story. You see, like Daenerys Stormborn, I too was the child of a mad man. A narcissistic man who spent years abusing my mother and I. A man who did not want a daughter and sought every opportunity to let me know that.

From the very beginning of my earliest watch, somewhere around 2012, I identified with Dany in a way that I had not connected with any other character in fiction. She spent years at the hands of her abusive brother in exile all because of her name. Sins that were not hers were cast upon her. She grew up poor, passed from place to place, and never felt she belonged anywhere. She was sold into marriage and traded like a broodmare by her abusive brother. Assassins were sent to kill her. Yet, she rose above this. She hatched dragons out of faith in herself. She wanted to be a good and just ruler. To answer the world's injustice with justice. As a survivor, I saw myself in her. I saw my strengths and my own flaws. I saw her journey of isolation, longing for home and for some sense of belonging and it hit me like a flood as that was what I felt so deeply and had for so many years.

For the first time in my life, I cried because of a character. Not because of death or because of something that happened in the story. Because I saw someone like me. I had never seen someone portrayed so strong after all she had gone through. Dany's journey is one of importance as she struggled with separating herself from the identity of her father. As many children of abuse, I often struggle and wonder if I'll be like the man who abused me. If I'll turn into this person that I do not want to be. Watching Dany continue to walk her path and to conquer those demons gave me strength during what I consider some of my darkest times. For years, I struggled with anxiety attacks and crippling depressive episodes. I found strength in her powerful speeches to her people and during her most crucial moments. And on bad days, I would say if Daenerys Targaryen could survive, then so could I.

In short, Game of Thrones, more specifically Daenerys Targaryen, saved my life. And I will be forever grateful for the Queen we chose.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.