Geeks logo

Binge watching retro shows during the pandemic

Older sitcoms can take your mind off of your current situation and help you relax.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3
Three sitcoms to binge watch

When I was a child, I used to hear older people talk about the good old days. I now find I am doing the same. During the sheltering in place I have been binge watching three sitcoms from the past that bring back fond memories. They are Family Matters from the 1990s and Sanford and Son, and Good Times from the 1970’s. These programs can be found on various cable stations and they are on most ever day of the week. You can watch episode after episode throughout the evening and night. The TVOne network currently features all three sitcoms, often showcasing them over an entire weekend. Each of these programs has memorable characters who can make you laugh till you cry. Watching these decades old TV shows takes me back to a time when life was different. It shows me just how much things have changed.

You may have by passed these shows when you were channel surfing because you perceive them to be out dated. Perhaps you think you have seen every episode and would be bored, I suggest that you might want to take another look. Medical science says a merry heart works just like medicine but being sad can lead to depression. There is a lot of sadness and fear in real time right now that can certainly break your spirit. Finding something to laugh at might help you beat depression and feel better. I know I am more hopeful after looking at these talented actors deliver their lines.

Family Matters

The cast of Family Matters

Family Matters ran on ABC from September 22, 1989 to May 9, 1997. It was moved to CBS from September 19, 1997 to July 17, 1998 for it's final season. Fans were disappointed and felt they were cheated because the show went off the air prior to the wedding of a favorite couple. This sitcom features the Winslow family and their goofy neighbor, Steve Urkle. There are four generations living under one roof. The entire family gets together often in one room and they all get along. You can really feel the love between them. By binge watching recently I could see the young characters grow from teens to young adults and deal with the issues of the day right before my eyes.

I was able to enjoy this program with my two oldest children when it first aired. My oldest son loves it as much as I do. We alert each other about specific episodes so we can tape then. We say all the lines we remember along with the characters which is really fun. Recently I taped 46 episodes and watched them each multiple times before deleting. I highly recommend Family Matters if you want simply entertainment without a lot of sexual references or profanity. This is a show you can watch with your entire family.

I’m not sure if the title refers to matters that family’s deal with or is saying that family should matter. When you watch it you will see that both are true. There is a reason that some of the cast may look familiar. Telma Hopkins who plays aunt Rachel used to sing with Tony Orlando and Dawn. She was also in the sitcoms Gimme a break and Half and Half. Bryton James who portrayed Little Richie is now Devon Hamilton on The Young and the Restless. Jo Marie Payton was on the sitcom Perfect Strangers and did the voice of Sugar Mama on the Disney cartoon The Proud Family.

Good Times

Original Good Times cast

Good Times ran on CBS from 1974-1979 and was the saga of the Evans family who lived in an apartment complex in the Chicago ghetto. This was on television when I was a teen so I could relate to the three Evans children. I love this show because the family faced many struggles but remained together. The parents James and Florida were strict but that also reflects the times. Many things they said to their children might be considered as abusive today. The Evans family had several neighbors who dropped by and the people in their apartment complex were all very considerate of each other. I love binge watching Good Times because it takes me back to the era that I grew up in. I appreciate this show now more than ever.

When Good Times first aired I laughed at the jokes and assumed the plots were simply made for television. I had no idea until later life that people actually experienced everything the Evans family went through. These characters really new how to put a spin on hard times that should encourage someone today. In between the laughs there is also drama but it’s a wonderful mix. I watched the entire series once within a month because of how often the episodes came on television. During the sheltering in place is a great time to enjoy this classic sitcom.

Sanford and Son

Lamont and Fred Sanford

Sanford and Son ran on NBC from January 14, 1972, to March 25, 1977. Redd Foxx and Demond Wilson portrayed Fred Sanford a junk dealer and his son Lamont. When I read the book Second Banana by Demond Wilson, I found out something that was true of all three of these sitcoms. They were all filmed in front of studio audiences and whenever the audience laughed, the actors would stop speaking and do something else until there was silence again, Sometimes the characters would just glare at each other or look at other items in the room. The chemistry between Fred and Lamont is sheer comic genius and will keep you in stitches. I've binge watched this show several times because in my opinion there is not a lot of quality programming on anymore.

I especially enjoy the episodes where Lawanda Paige shows up as Aunt Esther. She has a witty comeback for her brother in law Fred and keeps him in line. This show had a lot of diversity over the years. Although the main characters are African American, they have had neighbors who were white, Hispanic, and Asian. If you enjoy slap stick and one line zingers then this sitcom is a good one to binge watch during the sheltering in place. Like the other two it will have you laughing to tears and I believe you will fall in love with the characters. If you think you have seen every episode of any one of these programs or even all three you might surprise yourself. I have watched several episodes of all three that I somehow missed. I have also heard dialog that I did not catch the first few times I watched certain shows. Choose one, two, or all three of these classic sitcoms to enjoy during this difficult time. They will be fun escapism and I don't think you will regret it. Be sure to check your local listings for dates and times because network schedules often change abruptly.

|

comedy
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.