Geeks logo

BEST Quarantine Books!

When you're not binge-watching Netflix, check these out!

By AmaraPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
*I do not own this image*

Now I know we are well into this whole pandemic, but for America at least, we are nowhere near done. Most of us still have to self isolate for at least most of the week. Personally I'm kind of sick of being a lazy butt and only rotting my brain in front of the television. So I thought I would remind some of you of another great version of entertainment...books. That's what the elderly call them at least. But in all seriousness, I have read all of these books and I can't say enough good things about them. This diverse list includes books we may have forgotten about after high school, and books that some people might consider hidden gems. Keep scrolling to see the list of fabulous books for quarantine.

1) Five Feet Apart, by Rachel Lippincott, with Mikki Daughtry, with Tobias Iaconis

After the success of the incredible film, with the gorgeous Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson, this book is definitely a go-to. When the two protagonists, Will and Stella fall for each other in the hospital, they struggle with being forced to keep five feet apart because of their cystic fibrosis. This is a great book to curl up with on a rainy day with tissues and hot chocolate.

2) Blood Defense, by Marcia Clark

After the O.J. Simpson trial, DA Marcia Clark retired and started writing brilliant mystery novels from the perspectives of lawyers. In this series, Defense Attorney and television personality Samantha Brinkman searches for help as she is unsure of her client's innocence. This is the first book of the series and it is rumored that it will be adapted into a television series, written by Marcia Clark herself.

3) To Kill A Mocking Bird, by Harper Lee

Of course, most of us read this in middle or high school, but let's be real, it's a great read. As an adult and after learning so much about racism, it hits differently. I re-read this one when I was trying to educate myself when the Black Lives Matter protests started up again. As a white woman, I would highly suggest picking this up again.

4) Looking For Alaska, by John Green

John Green's first book, and might I say...wow. Tears, tears, tears. Growing up can be hard. I personally found the plot of this series interesting, because it truly was different from anything I've ever read. Young Miles changes schools and must learn to adapt. His whole life changes when he meets the beautiful Alaska. Although, everything doesn't end up as magically as it may seem. This was also recently adapted into an original Hulu series. It was brilliantly directed and enjoyed by many different people of all ages.

5) The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien

The prequel to Lord of the Rings. I will admit I read this before I read the series. Why? Beats me. To me, prequels are always a good time. They're just so much fun! The beloved Bilbo leaves the comfort of Bag End to proceed with an exciting journey. Although the adventure isn't as light-hearted as he thought it was going to be. Many Lord of the Rings fans will say it isn't the same as the original series, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

6) Stalking Jack the Ripper, by Kerri Maniscalco, James Patterson (Foreword By)

The first book of the series. This young adult mystery book tells the story of Aubery Rose Wadsworth and how she navigates the world of serial killers from the late 19th century. I personally don't read a TON of mystery novels, but there are always a select few that are just brilliant. I also, of course, a soft spot for young adult novels so this is a 10/10 recommendation.

7) The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, by Suzanne Collins

The new prequel to The Hunger Games. I honestly didn't become a big Hunger Games fan until later in life, (Couldn't tell you why. I guess I'm just weird.) so when I heard there was going to be a prequel I was hella excited. The story revolves around a young Coriolanus Snow and how he developed his dictatorial beliefs. It's always really interesting to see the bad guy as the main protagonist.

8) Just Mercy, by Bryan Stevenson

After watching the movie with the amazing Michael B. Jordan, I had to get my hands on this. The movie was phenomenal, but the book has even more components from the real story. Bryan Stevenson decides to move to Alabama to help convicted prisoners be released from death row without them having to pay a penny, and his whole life changes when he meets Johnny D, the innocent man that has been in prison for six years for a crime he did not commit.

9) The Giver of Stars, by Jojo Moyes

From the author of Me Before You, this historical fiction book tells the story of five female librarians, delivering books to the residents of Kentucky during the Great Depression. This is one of her best reviewed books that I would highly recommend if you enjoy historical fiction.

10) Untamed, by Glennon Doyle

Many of the reviews for this book used the exact words, "It will liberate women." Doyle reveals in her memoir how she found her voice and herself. She tells the story of how a mother does not slowly die for her children, but shows them how to live life to the fullest. Doyle shows us how to be brave for ourselves and for others.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Amara

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.