Geeks logo

Best Cosplayer Interviews of 2019

They know how to put the ‘play’ in cosplay

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read

Greetings, Vocal readers. 2020 will be here before you know it, so before 2019 comes to an end, here’s a look back at some cosplayers I was fortunate to interview this year. I’ll have more interviews coming in the New Year, but before I go any further, I want to let everyone know that if you liked any of my articles I’ve written this year, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It’ll help me and other Vocal readers to write better stories. So without further ado, here are some amazing cosplayers that I’ve interviewed this year, in no particular order.

Wesley Jermaine Thompson

Almost 2 weeks ago, I got to interview Wesley, a Steampunk/Dieselpunk cosplayer from Florida. He has been cosplaying for about three years. When I asked him what piece of advice he would give to those that might be interested in doing cosplay, he replied with the following:

“One piece of advice that I'd give to up and comers is to just start already and have fun.”

To read more of my interview with Wesley, you can click on the link below.

https://vocal.media/geeks/cosplayer-spotlight-wesley-jermaine-thompson

Jason Chevres

Another cosplayer on my list is also from Florida. For 10 years, Jason has been changing the lives of people, especially talking about anti-bullying. Side note: he has won my inaugural Ugly Christmas Sweater contest a year ago and received a cash prize and an NES Classic. In case you didn’t know, I do giveaways on my social media pages. I’ve asked Jason what cons he would attend at some point. MegaCon in Orlando and SDCC are the cons he would like to go to. To read the full article about Jason, go to link below and check it out yourself.

https://vocal.media/geeks/cosplay-spotlight-jason-chevres

Gary Prudhoe

Next on my list is a UK based cosplayer named Gary. Fun fact: he’s the second cosplayer from the UK to be featured on Vocal. Last year, I’ve interviewed Mash Up Cosplay UK, known for his creative cosplay mashups, hence his name. Back to Gary: when I first started following him on social media, the only cosplay I’ve known him for was his many Spider-Man suits. Hopefully we’ll see more Spidey action in 2020. To learn more about Gary, go to link to the article below.

https://vocal.media/geeks/cosplayer-spotlight-gary-prudhoe

Walter 'Kidkryptonite' Johnson

I had to save this for last, because this cosplayer had my undivided attention in 2019. Walter has made my list of best cosplayers I’ve interviewed this year. The most common cosplay I’ve seen from him by far was Freddie Mercury. During my interview with him, he stated that he’s received positive feedback on him being Freddie. If you happen to run into someone being Freddie Mercury at a con and Don’t Stop Me Now starts playing, chances are that’s Walter. To check out the full article about him, be sure to click the link down below.

https://vocal.media/geeks/cosplayer-spotlight-walter-kidkryptonite-johnson

There will be more cosplayer interviews coming in 2020, but also interviews with other people who are not cosplayers that love geek culture. In the meantime, you can follow me on social media. Info about my pages will be found in my bio. Thanks to those who took the time to send me one-off tips this year. Please continue to send them to encourage me to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So, be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

list

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mark Wesley PritchardWritten by Mark Wesley Pritchard

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.