Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Wesley Jermaine Thompson

One-on-one interview with the Florida based cosplayer

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Greetings, Vocal readers. I'm back with another cosplayer interview. I love interviewing different cosplayers and getting to know more about them. Between the summer of 2018 and now, I've interviewed over two dozen cosplayers. Cosplayers from other countries to here in the United States, every one of them were amazing. The next cosplayer that I got to interview recently is Wesley Jermaine Thompson, a Steam/Dieselpunk cosplayer from Florida. Before I get started, I want to remind everyone that if you like any of my articles, including the cosplayers I interviewed earlier this year, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small, because it helps me and other Vocal creators write better stories. Also, be sure to join Vocal+, a premium membership with new features and benefits. Thank you in advance for the support you have shown to me in 2019. As I've stated in my last article, I'll have more cosplayer interviews posted here on Vocal in the coming days, so please check them out, once they are posted. In the meantime, please enjoy my interview with Wesley.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What led you to do cosplay in the first place?

WJT: What led me to start cosplaying was steampunk, to be honest. As a kid, I didn't know what it was. Then after seeing movies like Wild Wild West, Van Helsing, and Steamboy, I found out what it was. Now I do steampunk versions of my favorite characters.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay and why you love it so much?

WJT: I've been doing cosplay for about three years now. I love it so much, because I can do whatever the hell I want with it. Sith Akatsuki? Sounds great. Tuxedo Mask as an assassin? Sure, why not? Steampunk Inuyasha? Done. You know? It's my cosplay and my take.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: So what would you say is your biggest accomplishment as a cosplayer?

WJT: Aside from the insane cosplay ideas, my greatest accomplishment is that I inspired a younger cosplayer to better himself in his own life.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: So do you have any cosplays that you're doing to close out 2019 and which ones are you planning for 2020?

WJT: If I'm satisfied with my coat, I'm gonna finish 2019 with Steampunk Inuyasha. For 2020, I'm gonna try my hand at foam and do Mega Deku (Mega Man X Deku).

Texxx-Man Cosplay: So which cons do you love to attend and which ones would you like to attend in 2020?

WJT: I love attending the smaller cons like Infinity Toy and Comic Con. It isn't a chore to find your friends. I want to attend Blerdcon so badly in 2020!

Texxx-Man Cosplay : So if you had one piece of advice to those who want to cosplay, what would it be?

WJT: One piece of advice that I'd give to up and comers is to just start already and have fun.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What are your favorite fandoms?

WJT: Gurren Lagann will always be my favorite fandom. The Assassins Creed fandom will be a close second.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What are three words that your friends describe you?

WJT: Fighter, reliable, and sociable.

I want to thank Wesley for taking the time to be interviewed by me. Be sure to follow his Instagram page (@airship_mayhem ), which can be found by clicking the link located at the end of this article. I'm on social media, so please be sure to follow me on the pages that are indicated in my bio.

https://www.instagram.com/airship_mayhem/?fbclid=IwAR16g7dwUHiKHisZN2fZM5UcuwKjPinJCHiDtb-hVba6mCTwut7GFVDEmnY

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.